NEOSSat: Canada's Sentinel in the Sky

Launch: February 25, 2013
Status: Calibration and testing phase

Animation depicting NEOSSat's mission. (Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

The Near-Earth Object Surveillance Satellite (NEOSSat), launched February 25, 2013, is the latest in a proud family of world-leading Canadian satellites. The world's first space telescope dedicated to detecting and tracking asteroids and satellites. It circles the globe every 100 minutes, scanning space near the Sun to pinpoint asteroids that may someday pass close to Earth. NEOSSat is also sweeping the skies in search of satellites and space debris as part of Canada's commitment to keeping orbital space safe for everyone. NEOSSat applies the kind of industry-leading technology for which Canada has become known and has already demonstrated in our very successful Microvariability and Oscillations of Stars (MOST) satellite.

An Eye on Asteroids

The suitcase-sized NEOSSat orbits approximately 800 kilometers high above the Earth, searching for near-Earth asteroids that are difficult to spot using ground-based telescopes. Due to its lofty location, it is not limited by the day-night cycle, and can operate 24/7. The hundreds of images that NEOSSat will generate per day will be downloaded and analyzed by the University of Calgary's NEOSSat science operations centre. Through NEOSSat, Canada will contribute to the international effort to catalogue the near-Earth population of asteroids producing information that will be crucial to targeting new destinations for future space exploration missions.

Space Debris Surveillance

In its other capacity, NEOSSat monitors orbiting space objects to help minimize collisions between them. NEOSSat will keep track of the positions of both satellites and "space junk" as part of the High Earth Orbit Surveillance System project by Defence Research and Development Canada (DRDC). NEOSSat is the first microsatellite used for this purpose. One of the major advantages of using NEOSSat in this capacity is that, unlike ground-based telescopes, it is able to track satellites and space debris in a wide variety of locations and not be limited by geographic location, the day-night cycle, or weather. The information produced by NEOSSat will bolster Canada's contribution to international efforts to maintain the safety of Canadian and international space assets.

NEOSSat testing at the Canadian Space Agency's (CSA) David Florida Laboratory test facility

List of images

Partners

NEOSSat is jointly funded by the CSA and DRDC. The satellite is built by Microsat Systems Canada Inc., with support from Spectral Applied Research and COM DEV International Ltd (formerly Routes AstroEngineering). The two Principle Investigators are Dr. Brad Wallace from DRDC and Dr. Alan Hildebrand from the University of Calgary. Dr. Hildebrand leads the Near Earth Space Surveillance project with scientific collaborators from the University of British Columbia, the Planetary Science Institute, the University of Arizona, the University of Western Ontario, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC). Dr. Wallace leads the High Earth Orbit Space Surveillance project and the science team whose mission is to track satellites and debris in High Earth Orbit.

NEOSSat : La sentinelle du Canada de l'espace

Lancement : 25 février 2013
État : Phases de calibration et de tests

Animation illustrant la mission de NEOSSat. (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)

Le Satellite de surveillance des objets circumterrestres (NEOSSat), qui a été lancé le 25 février 2013, est le plus récent ajout à la famille de satellites canadiens reconnus mondialement. NEOSSat, qui est le premier satellite spatial consacré à la détection et à la poursuite des astéroïdes et des satellites, fait le tour de la Terre toutes les 100 minutes en examinant l'espace à proximité du Soleil pour détecter des astéroïdes qui pourraient, un jour, s'approcher de notre planète. Il balaie aussi l'espace à la recherche de satellites et de débris spatiaux, le Canada s'étant engagé à assurer la sécurité de l'espace orbital pour tous les utilisateurs. NEOSSat met en œuvre des technologies de pointe qui ont fait la réputation du Canada à l'échelle mondiale et qui ont déjà été éprouvées dans le cadre de la très fructueuse mission du satellite MOST (Microvariabilité et oscillations stellaires).

Un œil sur les astéroïdes

De la taille d'une mallette, le télescope NEOSSat évolue à environ 800 km d'altitude à la recherche d'astéroïdes circumterrestres difficiles à détecter à l'aide des télescopes installés au sol. En raison de son orbite privilégiée, NEOSSat n'est pas limité par le cycle diurne-nocturne, ce qui signifie qu'il peut fonctionner 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Les centaines d'images que NEOSSat produira chaque jour seront téléchargées et analysées par le Centre des opérations scientifiques NEOSSat de l'Université de Calgary. Grâce à NEOSSat, le Canada participera à l'effort que déploient les autres agences spatiales de la planète pour cataloguer la population d'astéroïdes circumterrestres. Ce faisant, il produira des données qui permettront d'établir les cibles des futures missions d'exploration spatiale.

Surveillance des débris spatiaux

Dans le deuxième volet de sa mission, NEOSSat surveille les objets en orbite afin d'aider à minimiser les collisions entre ces objets. NEOSSat fait le suivi de la position des satellites et des « déchets de l'espace » dans le cadre du projet HEOSS (High Earth Orbit Surveillance System) de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC). NEOSSat est le premier microsatellite utilisé à cette fin. Contrairement aux télescopes au sol, NEOSSat présente l'avantage considérable de pouvoir suivre les satellites et les débris spatiaux dans un grand nombre d'endroits, sans être limité par son emplacement géographique, le cycle diurne-nocturne ou les conditions météorologiques. L'information produite par NEOSSat rehaussera la contribution du Canada aux efforts internationaux visant à maintenir la sécurité des biens spatiaux.

Essais de NEOSSat au Laboratoire David Florida de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC)

Liste des images

Partenaires

NEOSSat est financé conjointement par l'ASC et RDDC. Le satellite est construit par Microsat Systems Canada Inc. (anglais seulement), avec le soutien de Spectral Applied Research et de COM DEV International Ltd (anciennement Routes AstroEngineering). Les deux chercheurs principaux sont M. Brad Wallace de RDDC et M. Alan Hildebrand de l'Université de Calgary (anglais seulement). M. Hildebrand dirige le projet de surveillance de l'espace circumterrestre avec l'aide de collaborateurs scientifiques de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, du Planetary Science Institute, de l'Université de l'Arizona, de l'Université Western Ontario, de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) et de la Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC). M. Wallace dirige le projet de surveillance en orbite haute terrestre, ainsi que l'équipe scientifique chargée de suivre les satellites et les débris en orbite haute terrestre.