A tiny satellite probes the mysteries of the universe

Banniere MOST

Launch: June 30, 2003
Status: Active

Creating next-generation micro-satellites

The MOST project is a cooperative scientific partnership to create the world's smallest astronomical space telescope, capable of measuring the ages of stars in our galaxy and perhaps even unlocking mysteries of the universe itself.

Sponsored by the CSA's Space Science Branch, the various MOST project teams designed, built and monitor the microsatellite that orbits 800 kilometres above the Earth, so scientists can collect stellar data 24 hours a day.

The tiny satellite weighs only 60 kilograms and carries a high-precision telescope no wider than a pie plate. The device will measure the oscillation in light intensity of stars in order to determine their composition as well as age. Younger stars are comprised more of hydrogen than helium. Sound waves pass through hydrogen faster because it is lighter than helium. The sound waves set up pulsations in the star's surface, producing changes in the light intensity of the star. The satellite's telescope measures oscillations in intensity of the star, thus estimating its age.

The MOST satellite is unique not only because of its small size, but because it can conduct stellar measurements from space. Traditionally, scientists have relied upon expensive, Earth-based telescopes to provide research data. These instruments have been hampered by both the Earth's distorting atmosphere and its rotation—allowing for only a partial viewing of a star due to the day-night cycle. In space, the MOST telescope has an direct and constant view of a star for up to seven weeks at a time and can downlink data to ground stations at the University of British Columbia and the University of Toronto. The telescope is mounted on a platform about the size of a suitcase. The ability to use such a small satellite for a space telescope is made possible by Dynacon's light gyroscope technology that corrects the wobbling motion of the satellite and accurately controls where the satellite is pointing.

Logo MOST

Toronto-based Dynacon Enterprises Limited was selected as the lead contractor in the MOST project. Other key partners include: the University of British Columbia, the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS), as well as the Centre for Research in Earth and Space Technology (CRESTech) of Toronto, the Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation (AMSAT), which includes both Canadian and U.S. chapters, AeroAstro, Inc. of Ashburn, Virginia, Spectral Applied Research, Routes AstroEngineering, the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC), and a team of consulting scientists from across Canada and the U.S., led by the principal investigator, Prof. Jaymie Matthews, of the Department of Physics and Astronomy of the University of British Columbia.

Canada is already a noted leader in the study of stellar pulsation and rapid variability. The MOST project builds on this expertise, helping to answer and expand upon fundamental questions about the nature of the universe that have intrigued scientists and non-scientists alike since the beginning of time.

MOST - Un satellite miniature pour percer les mystères de l'Univers

Banniere MOST

Lancement : 30 juin 2003
État : actif

Construction de microsatellites de prochaine génération

Le projet MOST de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) fait l'objet d'un partenariat scientifique visant à construire un satellite spatial, le plus petit au monde, qui pourra déterminer l'âge d'étoiles de notre galaxie et peut-être même percer certains des mystères de l'Univers.

Sous l'égide de la Direction générale des sciences spatiales de l'ASC, les équipes du projet MOST s'occuperont de la conception, de la construction et de la surveillance du microsatellite, qui sera en orbite à 800 kilomètres d'altitude et qui permettra aux scientifiques de recueillir des données stellaires 24 heures par jour.

Le minuscule engin, qui pèsera seulement 60 kilogrammes, transportera un télescope de grande précision ayant le diamètre d'une assiette. Cet instrument mesurera l'oscillation de l'intensité de la lumière produite par les étoiles afin de déterminer leur composition et leur âge. Les jeunes étoiles contiennent plus d'hydrogène que d'hélium. Or, les ondes sonores traversent l'hydrogène plus rapidement que l'hélium, qui est plus lourd. Ces ondes créent des pulsations à la surface des étoiles et modifient ainsi l'intensité de la lumière émise. Le télescope embarqué peut mesurer les oscillations de cette intensité, ce qui permet d'estimer l'âge des étoiles.

Le satellite MOST se distingue non seulement par sa petite taille, mais aussi par le fait qu'il permet d'effectuer des mesures stellaires à partir de l'espace. Jusqu'à présent, les scientifiques utilisaient de coûteux télescopes terrestres pour mener leurs recherches. Comme ces instruments subissaient les effets de la distorsion de l'atmosphère et de la rotation du globe, le cycle jour-nuit n'autorisait que l'observation partielle des étoiles. Le télescope installé à bord du satellite MOST pourra voir une étoile donnée en tout temps pendant une période allant jusqu'à sept semaines, et l'on pourra télécharger les données aux stations terriennes situées à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et à l'Université de Toronto. L'instrument sera monté sur une plateforme ayant à peu près les dimensions d'une valise. Si l'on peut utiliser un si petit satellite pour porter un télescope spatial, c'est grâce à la nouvelle technologie des gyroscopes légers de Dynacon qui corrige le mouvement oscillatoire de l'engin et contrôle avec précision sa ligne de visée.

Logo MOST

La société Dynacon Enterprises Limited, de Toronto, est l'entrepreneur principal travaillant à l'exécution du projet MOST. Parmi les autres partenaires clés, on compte l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, l'University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS), le Centre for Research in Earth and Space Technology (CRESTech) de Toronto, la Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation (AMSAT), regroupant des sections canadiennes et américaines, AeroAstro Inc. d'Ashburn, en Virginie, Spectral Applied Research, Routes AstroEngineering, la Société royale d'astronomie du Canada et une équipe de scientifiques-conseils venant de différentes régions du Canada et des États-Unis. Tous sont sous la direction du chercheur principal, M. Jaymie Matthews, du Département de physique et d'astronomie de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le Canada est déjà reconnu comme un chef de file dans l'étude des pulsations et de la microvariabilité de l'intensité lumineuse des étoiles. Le projet MOST, qui s'appuie sur ce savoir-faire, contribuera à accroître les connaissances sur l'Univers et à trouver des réponses à des questions fondamentales sur sa nature que les scientifiques et le commun des mortels se posent depuis les débuts de l'humanité.