International Space Station

ISS

How big is the ISS?

(Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

- NASA says it's as big as a football field, but in Canada we speak hockey!

To learn more

Along with the United States, Russia, Europe and Japan, Canada is a partner in the International Space Station (ISS), an orbiting research laboratory. Since the first module of the Station was launched in 1998, the Station has circled the globe 16 times per day at 28,000 km/h at an altitude of about 370 km, covering a distance equivalent to the Moon and back daily. The Station is about as long as a Canadian football field, and has as much living space as a five-bedroom house.

Canada's contribution to the ISS is the Mobile Servicing System (MSS)—a sophisticated robotics suite that assembled the Station in space, module by module. Developed for the Canadian Space Agency by MDA of Brampton, Ontario, the MSS is comprised of:

  • Canadarm2, a 17-metre long robotic arm
  • Dextre, the Station's two-armed robotic "handyman" and
  • The Mobile Base is a moveable work platform and storage facility.

Canada's investment gives Canadian scientists access to the ISS to conduct research for the benefit of Canadians.

Wonder how the International Space Station was built?

Since the launch of Zarya, the first module of the International Space Station (ISS), on November 20, 1998, five space agencies have worked together daily to build and operate the orbiting science lab—one of the most complex scientific and technological endeavours ever undertaken. This video features Canada’s contribution to the ISS, and why it is so important to Canadians.

La Station spatiale internationale

ISS

Les dimensions de l'ISS

(Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)

Le  – La NASA compare l'ISS à un terrain de football, mais au Canada nous parlons hockey!

Pour en savoir davantage

Avec les états-Unis, la Russie, l'Europe et le Japon, le Canada est partenaire de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS), un laboratoire de recherche orbital. Depuis le lancement de son premier module en 1998, la station fait le tour de la Terre 16 fois par jour à environ 370 km d'altitude à une vitesse de 28 000 km/h. Elle parcourt quotidiennement une distance correspondant à un aller-retour entre la Terre et la Lune. L'ISS a la taille d'un terrain de football canadien et une surface habitable équivalente à celle d'une maison de cinq chambres.

La contribution canadienne à l'ISS, soit le Système d'entretien mobile (MSS), est un ensemble complexe d'éléments robotiques qui a servi à l'assemblage de la station, un module à la fois. Développé pour l'Agence spatiale canadienne par MDA de Brampton, en Ontario, le MSS est composé de trois éléments robotiques :

  • le Canadarm2, un bras robotique de 17 mètres de longueur,
  • Dextre est le « robot bricoleur » chargé des travaux d'entretien de routine,
  • la Base mobile est à la fois une plateforme et un poste d'entreposage.

L'investissement du Canada dans l'ISS donne accès à la station aux scientifiques canadiens pour y mener des recherches au profit des Canadiens.

Savez-vous comment la Station spatiale internationale a été construite ?

Depuis le 20 novembre 1998, date du lancement de Zarya, le premier module de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS), cinq agences spatiales ont travaillé conjointement et quotidiennement à la construction et à l'utilisation du laboratoire orbital – l'une des initiatives scientifiques et techniques les plus complexes jamais entreprises. Cette vidéo met en vedette la contribution du Canada à l'ISS et son importance pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes.