CloudSat - Looking at clouds in 3D

Illustration of CloudSat

Credit: NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Conceptual Image Lab

Illustration of CloudSat

Credit: NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Conceptual Image Lab

Illustration of CloudSat

Credit: NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Conceptual Image Lab

Canadians have a natural fascination with cold weather, especially with our unpredictable winter season filled with everything from wet snow to icy rain. In order to improve weather and climate forecasts, scientists need to have a better understanding of the physics behind winter clouds that are a mix of ice and water droplets.

Since 2006, CloudSat has been gathering data and improving our knowledge of clouds and their effect on climate and weather. CloudSat was developed by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in partnership with the Canadian Space Agency (CSA).

Why clouds?

Clouds influence the amount of solar energy retained in the atmosphere and the amount reflected back into space. Even small changes in cloud cover can alter climate in a major way. Some scientists think clouds may affect our climate even more than greenhouse gases and other factors linked to climate change.

The mission

Traditional satellites are generally limited to observing the upper layers of clouds and are unable to see inside them. Before CloudSat, little data was available on cloud thickness, and this type of information helps determine the quantity of water, snow, or ice contained in the clouds.

CloudSat supports the first comprehensive three-dimensional study of clouds. It gathers data on their structure, occurrence and volume, and helps improve our understanding of how they influence the weather. It uses a radar hyperfrequency device to probe the cloud cover and determine its thickness, its altitude at base and peak, and the quantity of water and ice contained.

CloudSat data (in synergy with CALIPSO data on aerosols) also helps scientists analyze the influence of atmospheric aerosols on the way light is absorbed and reflected by the cloud layers. Using this information, scientists are filling in the gaps in their knowledge of how radiation energy from the Sun and the Earth is distributed between the Earth's surface and the atmosphere.

The mission also refines and validates data gathered by other atmospheric and cloud research satellites.

A constellation of satellites

A distinct feature of CloudSat is its role in a constellation of scientific research satellites. This constellation, known as the A-Train, also includes CALIPSO, which was launched at the same time as CloudSat aboard a Delta rocket, as well as Aqua, Aura, OCO-2 and GCOM-W1 ("Shizuku").

CALIPSO is a joint United States / France mission. It collects data on the role played by transparent, thin clouds and aerosols in the transfer of solar energy to the atmosphere.

The Aqua satellite has numerous instruments on board to collect data on the Earth's atmosphere. Aura is studying air quality, the ozone layer, and climate change.

Canada is in the thick of it

Since Canada has expertise in space radar, NASA invited the CSA to participate in the CloudSat mission in 1998.

Ontario companies CPI and COM DEV International Ltd. (now Honeywell Canada) answered the CSA's call for tenders for this mission. These two space industry leaders developed a key element of the cloud profiling radar, the extended interaction klystrons (EIKs), as well as a central component of an electronic receiver: the radio frequency electronics subsystem (RFES). A klystron is a specialized electronic tube that generates radar waves used by CloudSat to probe the vertical structure of clouds.

The CSA has also provided support to Canadian scientific investigations related to the mission. David Hudak, Ron Stewart, and Howard Barker of the Meteorological Service of Canada are helping the U.S. team. Jean-Pierre Blanchet, of the Université du Québec à Montréal, is also a member of the CloudSat mission research team. Together, they bring their expertise to the mission in a variety of disciplines ranging from general atmospheric science to the improvement of computer algorithms and data validation.

The American Principal Investigator for the CloudSat mission is Graeme Stephens of Colorado State University. Construction of the satellite platform was the responsibility of Ball Aerospace.

For more information, please visit:

CloudSat - Voir les nuages en 3D

Illustration of CloudSat

Source : NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Conceptual Image Lab.

Illustration of CloudSat

Source : NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Conceptual Image Lab.

Illustration of CloudSat

Source : NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Conceptual Image Lab.

Les Canadiens ont toujours été fascinés par le froid, surtout en raison des hivers imprévisibles qui caractérisent notre pays et qui sont marqués par des conditions variées allant de la neige fondante à la pluie verglaçante. Afin d'améliorer les prévisions météorologiques et climatiques, les scientifiques doivent mieux comprendre la physique sous-jacente aux nuages d'hiver, lesquels sont constitués d'un mélange de cristaux de glace et de gouttelettes d'eau.

Depuis 2006, le satellite CloudSat recueille des données et améliore notre compréhension des nuages et de leur incidence sur le climat et la météo. Ce satellite a été élaboré par la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) en partenariat avec l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC).

Pourquoi les nuages?

Les nuages influent sur la quantité d'énergie solaire retenue dans l'atmosphère ou réfléchie dans l'espace. Un infime changement dans la couverture nuageuse peut fortement modifier le climat. Selon certains scientifiques, les nuages auraient même une incidence plus grande que les gaz à effet de serre et les autres facteurs liés aux changements climatiques.

La mission

Les satellites traditionnels sont généralement limités à l'observation des couches supérieures des nuages et ils sont incapables de voir au cœur de ces derniers. Avant CloudSat, peu de données étaient disponibles sur l'épaisseur des nuages. Et ce sont ces données qui permettent de déterminer la quantité d'eau, de neige ou de glace contenue dans les nuages.

CloudSat effectue la toute première étude globale et tridimensionnelle des nuages. Il recueille des données sur leur structure, leur fréquence ainsi que leur volume et il contribue à améliorer notre compréhension de leur influence sur la météo. Pour ce faire, CloudSat utilise un dispositif radar hyperfréquence qui sonde la couverture nuageuse et il compile des renseignements sur l'épaisseur de celle-ci, sur les altitudes à la base et au sommet des nuages de même que sur la quantité d'eau et de glace qu'ils contiennent.

Les données produites par CloudSat (en synergie avec les données CALIPSO sur les aérosols) permettent également aux scientifiques d'analyser l'incidence des aérosols atmosphériques sur la façon dont la lumière est absorbée et réfléchie par les couches de nuages. À l'aide de ces données, les scientifiques peuvent ainsi étoffer leurs connaissances sur la répartition de l'énergie rayonnante (le rayonnement émis par le Soleil et la Terre) entre la surface de la Terre et l'atmosphère. Enfin, CloudSat permet d'améliorer et de valider les données recueillies par d'autres satellites d'étude de l'atmosphère et des nuages.

Une constellation de satellites

CloudSat se distingue par le fait qu'il opère à l'intérieur d'une constellation de satellites de recherche scientifique. Cette constellation, appelée A-Train, comprend les satellites Aqua, Aura, OCO-2 et GCOM-W1 (« Shizuku »), ainsi que le satellite CALIPSO, qui a été lancé en même temps que CloudSat à bord d'une fusée Delta.

CALIPSO est une mission conjointe des États-Unis et de la France. L'engin spatial amasse des informations sur l'influence des nuages minces et transparents et des aérosols sur le transfert de l'énergie solaire dans l'atmosphère.

Le satellite Aqua transporte à son bord de nombreux instruments qui lui permettent de recueillir des données sur l'atmosphère terrestre. Pour sa part, Aura étudie la qualité de l'air, la couche d'ozone et le changement climatique.

Le Canada au cœur de l'action

Puisque le Canada possède un savoir-faire en radars spatiaux, la NASA (anglais seulement) a invité l'ASC à participer à la mission CloudSat en 1998.

Les entreprises ontariennes CPI et COM DEV International Ltd. (aujourd'hui devenue Honeywell Canada) ont répondu à l'appel d'offres lancé par l'ASC pour cette mission. Ces deux chefs de file de l'industrie spatiale ont mis au point un élément-clé du radar profileur de nuages, soit les klystrons à interaction élargie (EIK) ainsi que l'élément central du récepteur électronique (RFES). Un klystron est un tube électronique spécialisé radar qui émet les ondes radar dont CloudSat se sert pour sonder la structure verticale des nuages.

L'ASC fournit également un appui aux recherches scientifiques canadiennes liées à la mission. L'équipe américaine bénéficie de l'apport de David Hudak, de Ron Stewart et d'Howard Barker, du Service météorologique du Canada. Jean-Pierre Blanchet, de l'Université du Québec à Montréal, fait aussi partie de l'équipe de recherche de la mission CloudSat. Ensemble, ils apportent leurs connaissances dans une variété de disciplines allant de la science fondamentale à l'amélioration des algorithmes informatiques et à la validation des données.

Du côté des États-Unis, le chercheur principal responsable de la mission de CloudSat est Graeme Stephens de la Colorado State University (anglais seulement). L'entreprise Ball Aerospace a été chargée de la construction de la plateforme du satellite.

Pour en savoir plus :