CASSIOPE: Observing Space Weather with a Hybrid Satellite

Logo of CASSIOPE (preliminary design))
Illustration of Cascade and CASSIOPE

In addition, Cascade will provide CASSIOPE with information storage and large downlink capacity for ePOP data destined for Canadian and international researchers. The daily transmission volume could be up to about 15 gigabytes of data.

Photo of Aurora borealis result from solar storms

Aurora borealis result from solar storms. The ePOP probe will study the impact on communications networks. (Credit: © Jouni Joussila)

With the launch of the hybrid small satellite CASSIOPE, Canada is making a significant contribution to unraveling the mysteries of space weather. To accomplish this feat, the satellite uses a dedicated scientific payload ePOP (enhanced polar outflow probe), which observes the ionosphere.

In addition, two technological advancements are supported by the mission:

  • A new Smallsat spacecraft Bus
  • A communications technology demonstrator, Cascade

First Video of CASSIOPE

The clip begins with the reflection of the Sun on Canadian waters as the camera moves over the northern tip of Baffin Island. Then the satellite flies over Greenland heading towards Scandinavia, and down into Russia over the Kola Peninsula. While near Greenland, we view the limb of the Earth and see the clouds, water, ice, land masses, all lit up by the full moon. We clearly see the airglow; which is the thin layer above the atmosphere. The phenomenon of airglow looks similar to Aurora Borealis except, it is not limited to the Polar Regions and cannot easily be seen from the ground with a naked eye. Finally, at end of the clip, we can see a companion satellite (small dot above the airglow), sharing the same orbit as CASSIOPE.

ePOP

The ePOP probe observes the Earth's ionosphere, where space meets the upper atmosphere; ePOP comprises a suite of eight scientific instruments, including plasma imagers, radio wave receivers, magnetometers and cameras. These are collecting data about the effects of solar storms and, more specifically, their harmful impact on radio communications, satellite navigation and other space and ground-based technologies.

Cascade

The communications technology demonstrator payload, entitled Cascade, serves as the second mission payload. Cascade is providing a 'proof of concept' design for a high volume store-and-forward data communications operational concept.

Like a courier in the sky, Cascade's operational concept is to pick up very large digital data files and deliver them to almost any destination in the world.

Small and versatile

CASSIOPE's hexagonal Smallsat bus platform measures only 180 cm long and 125 cm high.

It is more cost effective to construct and launch several small satellites with different goals than combining all the functionality on one big satellite. In addition to reducing the risk, this means that the satellites achieve their scientific or commercial objectives at a more reasonable cost.

The new platform produced for the CASSIOPE mission is also versatile: it is possible to adapt and use it for various missions involving science, technology, Earth observation, geologic exploration and information delivery.

Professor Andrew Yau of the University of Calgary directs the ePOP project and a team comprised of researchers and engineers from seven Canadian universities. The Communications Research Centre, located in Ottawa, as well as the Institute of Space and Astronautical Science of Japan and the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory are also partners in the project.

Moreover, CASSIOPE benefits from a solid partnership between the private and public sectors. Spearheaded by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA), industry involvement has included Magellan and ComDEV. Vancouver's MDA serves as the mission prime contractor and is leading mission operations with the University of Calgary for a period of 18 months.

This animation illustrates the functioning of the Cascade payload on CASSIOPE (the design shown is preliminary). It will receive data from Earth-based antennas and transfer them to reception stations. The concept could evolve with an operational fleet of satellites carrying a Cascade payload.

RealPlayer video format (412 KB) or AVI video format (38 MB)

CASSIOPE : Observer la météo spatiale au moyen d'un satellite hybride

CASSIOPE (design préliminaire)
Illustration de Cascade et CASSIOPE

De plus, Cascade donnera à CASSIOPE une grande capacité de stockage et de transmission au sol des données ePOP destinées aux chercheurs canadiens et internationaux. Le volume de transmission quotidien pourrait atteindre les 15 giga-octets de données.

Photo d'aurores boréales

Les aurores boréales sont le résultat visible des tempêtes solaires. Les observations faites par la sonde ePOP aideront les scientifiques à étudier l'impact des aurores sur les réseaux de communication. (Source : © Jouni Joussila)

Avec le lancement du petit satellite hybride CASSIOPE, le Canada fait une importante contribution aux efforts visant à percer les mystères de la météo spatiale. Pour y arriver, le satellite utilise la charge utile scientifique dédiée ePOP (enhanced Polar Outflow Probe), qui observe l'ionosphère.

De plus, deux avancées technologiques sont mises en œuvre dans le cadre de la mission :

  • la nouvelle plateforme d'engin spatial Smallsat
  • le démonstrateur de technologie de communications Cascade

La première vidéo de CASSIOPE

La séquence commence par la lumière du Soleil qui se reflète sur les eaux canadiennes, alors que la caméra balaye la pointe nord de l'île de Baffin. Puis, le satellite survole le Groenland, la Scandinavie et, enfin, la péninsule de Kola en Russie. Près du Groenland, nous pouvons voir le limbe de la Terre, ainsi que des nuages, de l'eau, des glaces et des masses terrestres, le tout illuminé par la pleine lune. On y voit clairement la lumière du ciel, la fine couche qui se trouve au-dessus de l'atmosphère. Le phénomène de la lumière du ciel est quelque peu semblable aux aurores boréales, sauf qu'il n'est pas limité aux régions polaires et qu'il ne peut pas être vu facilement à l'œil nu à partir du sol. Enfin, à la conclusion de la vidéo, on peut apercevoir un autre satellite (le petit point au-dessus de la lumière du ciel) qui circule dans la même orbite que CASSIOPE.

ePOP

La sonde ePOP observe l'ionosphère de la Terre, là où l'espace et la haute atmosphère entrent en contact; ePOP comprend une suite de huit instruments scientifiques, y compris des imageurs de plasma, des récepteurs d'ondes radio, des magnétomètres et des caméras. Ils recueillent des données concernant l'impact des tempêtes solaires et, plus particulièrement, leurs effets nuisibles sur les communications radio, la navigation par satellite et d'autres technologies spatiales et terrestres.

Cascade

Le démonstrateur de communications, désigné Cascade, constitue la deuxième charge utile de la mission. Cascade est un prototype destiné à valider le concept de communications opérationnelles pour le stockage et l'acheminement d'un grand volume de données.

Comme un messager dans le ciel, le concept opérationnel de Cascade vise à faire la cueillette d'imposants fichiers de données numériques et d'en assurer la livraison un peu partout dans le monde.

Petit et polyvalent

La plateforme Smallsat hexagonale de CASSIOPE ne mesure que 180 cm de longueur et 125 cm de hauteur.

Il est plus rentable de construire et de lancer plusieurs petits satellites ayant différentes fonctions que de combiner toutes les fonctionnalités dans un seul gros satellite. En plus de réduire les risques, cela signifie que les satellites atteignent leurs objectifs scientifiques ou commerciaux à un coût plus raisonnable.

Par ailleurs, la nouvelle plateforme produite pour la mission CASSIOPE est polyvalente : elle peut être adaptée et utilisée pour diverses missions liées aux sciences, à la technologie, à l'observation de la Terre, à l'exploration géologique et à la livraison d'informations.

Le professeur Andrew Yau de l'Université de Calgary (anglais seulement) dirige le projet ePOP, ainsi qu'une équipe (anglais seulement) constituée de chercheurs et d'ingénieurs provenant de sept universités canadiennes. Le Centre de recherches sur les communications, situé à Ottawa, l'Institut des sciences spatiales et astronomiques du Japon et le Naval Research Laboratory des É.-U. sont aussi des partenaires associés au projet.

CASSIOPE bénéficie également d'un solide partenariat entre les secteurs privé et public. L'équipe industrielle, ayant à sa tête l'entreprise MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA), a compté sur la participation de Magellan et de Com DEV. MDA de Vancouver est l'entrepreneur principal de la mission qui dirige les opérations de mission avec l'Université de Calgary pendant une période de 18 mois.

Cette animation illustre le fonctionnement de la charge utile Cascade de CASSIOPE (la conception montrée ici est préliminaire). Elle recevra des données envoyées par des antennes sur Terre et les transférera à des stations de réception. Le concept pourrait évoluer jusqu'à ce que l'on crée une flotte opérationnelle de satellites dotés d'une charge utile Cascade.

Vidéo de format RealPlayer (412 Ko) ou Vidéo de format AVI (38 Mo)