The BRITE Constellation

Launch: February 25, 2013 (the first two satellites)
Status: Successfully launched

A fleet of nanosatellites to study the brightest stars in the night sky—stars familiar to the eye, but still harbouring mysteries hidden from the world's largest telescopes.

Artist concept of a BRITE Constellation nanosatellite. (Credit: UTIAS Space Flight Laboratory)

Canada's MOST space telescope will soon have company to study the "twinkling" of stars in our Galaxy. Not the twinkling you see at night, but the true vibrations of stars that are often detectable only above the Earth's turbulent atmosphere. The six nanosats of the BRITE (BRight Target Explorer) Constellation will join MOST in orbit to make highly precise measurements of the brightness variations of a large number of bright stars. Many of those stars are not just the brightest to your eye: they are among the brightest in energy output of all stars in our galaxy.

Thanks to BRITE Constellation—the first space astronomy mission to be carried out with nanosats—astronomers will be able to learn more about the structure and evolution of the most luminous stars, including massive blue stars that are the precursors to supernova explosions. How will BRITE do this? The hidden interiors of these stars will be probed seismically by observing surface vibrations caused by sound waves generated by turbulence deep inside the stars. Some of the stars targeted by BRITE generate the heavy elements needed to give birth to new generations of stars and planets. Our solar system—including our home, Earth—are made from elements produced by earlier generations of these massive luminous stars.

Canada is a partner in BRITE Constellation with Austria (University of Vienna and Graz University of Technology) and Poland (Copernicus Astronomical Center), and is funding two of the six satellites: BRITE-CA1 and BRITE-CA2. BRITE's design originates from a Canadian science case and concept developed by Emeritus Professor Slavek Rucinski of the University of Toronto, inspired by technology developed for MOST. All six nanosatellites are built according to that concept.

Photo of a space telescope

The space telescopes are the size of a car battery. (Credit: UTIAS Space Flight Laboratory)

The tiny space telescopes are contained within 20-centimetre cubes weighing no more than 8 kilograms, each about the size and weight of a car battery (by comparison, MOST weighs 53 kg and is about the size of a large suitcase). Each satellite has a camera that can study up to a dozen stars at a time for long intervals. Four communications stations (two in Austria, one in Poland, and one at the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS) in Canada) will receive the data collected by the flotilla of space telescopes. To ensure proper coverage of the slow oscillations of some of these stars, each star will be observed for about six months in two different monitoring sessions.

The asteroseismic observations made by BRITE and MOST cannot be achieved from Earth, as changing conditions in Earth's atmosphere mask the intrinsic variability of the stars at the low amplitudes and long timescales necessary for this type of science. The science may be big in scale, but the satellites are small in size, and hence, so is their cost. The BRITE Constellation represents a very cost-effective solution to a major area of astrophysical research.

The construction and launch of BRITE-CA1 and BRITE-CA2 are funded by the Canadian Space Agency (CSA). All six satellites were designed by the UTIAS Space Flight Laboratory (UTIAS-SFL). Emeritus professor Anthony Moffat (Université de Montréal) is the scientific mission lead for the Canadian contribution to BRITE. Prof. Jaymie Matthews (University of British Columbia), Prof. Stefan Mochnacki and Prof. Emeritus Slavek Rucinski (University of Toronto) are also part of the Canadian BRITE team. The Graz University of Technology has used the plans developed by UTIAS-SFL to build one of the Austrian satellites. In addition to the two Canadian BRITE nanosats, three others (one for the University of Vienna, Austria, and two for the Copernicus Astronomical Center, Poland) will come from UTIAS-SFL directly.

La constellation BRITE

Lancement : 25 février 2013 (les deux premiers satellites)
État : lancement réussi

Une flotte de nanosatellites pour étudier les étoiles les plus brillantes du ciel nocturne – ces étoiles qui nous sont familières, mais qui se gardent de révéler leurs secrets aux plus grands télescopes du monde.

Illustration d'artiste d'un nanosatellite de la constellation BRITE. (Source : Laboratoire de vol spatial de l'UTIAS)

Le microtélescope spatial canadien MOST aura bientôt de la compagnie pour étudier le « scintillement » des étoiles de notre galaxie. Non pas le scintillement qu'on observe la nuit, mais l'oscillation véritable des étoiles que l'on ne peut bien souvent détecter qu'au-delà des turbulences de l'atmosphère terrestre. Les six nanosatellites formant la constellation BRITE (pour BRight Target Explorer) rejoindront MOST en orbite autour de la Terre afin de mesurer avec une grande précision la variation de l'éclat d'un grand nombre d'étoiles brillantes. La plupart de ces étoiles sont non seulement les plus brillantes à l'œil nu, mais aussi les plus brillantes de la galaxie de par leur production d'énergie.

Grâce à BRITE (anglais seulement) – la première mission d'astronomie spatiale faisant appel à des nanosatellites – on entend approfondir notre connaissance de la structure et de l'évolution des étoiles les plus lumineuses, dont les géantes bleues, les précurseurs des explosions de supernovae. Mais comment la constellation BRITE s'y prendra-t-elle? Elle sondera l'intérieur caché de ces étoiles en observant les vibrations causées en surface par les ondes acoustiques qui résultent de turbulences créées au plus profond de l'astre. Certaines de ces géantes génèrent les éléments lourds nécessaires à la formation de nouvelles étoiles et planètes. Notre système solaire, incluant la Terre, est donc formé d'éléments produits par les générations antérieures d'étoiles lumineuses massives.

Partenaire de la mission BRITE avec l'Autriche (Université de Vienne et Université de technologies de Graz) et la Pologne (Centre astronomique Copernic), le Canada finance deux des six satellites, BRITE-CA1 et BRITE-CA2. La constellation repose sur un concept canadien, développé par le professeur émérite Slavek Rucinski de l'Université de Toronto et inspiré des technologies mises au point pour MOST. Tous les nanosatellites ont été construits à partir de ce concept.

Photo d'un télescope spatial

Les télescopes spatiaux sont aussi gros qu'une batterie de voiture. (Source : Laboratoire de vol spatial de l'UTIAS)

Les minuscules télescopes spatiaux se présentent sous la forme d'un cube de 20 cm de côté ne pesant pas plus de 8 kg, soit environ la taille et le poids d'une batterie de voiture. En comparaison, MOST pèse 53 kg et a approximativement les dimensions d'une valise. Chaque satellite est équipé d'une caméra lui permettant d'étudier simultanément jusqu'à 12 étoiles à la fois, pendant de longues périodes. Quatre bases au sol – deux en Autriche, une en Pologne et une au Canada, à l'Institute for Aerospace Studies de l'Université de Toronto (UTIAS) – recevront les données recueillies par la flotte de télescopes spatiaux. Pour s'assurer de bien capter les oscillations lentes de certaines étoiles, on observera à deux reprises chaque étoile pendant une période d'environ six mois.

Les observations d'astérosismologie réalisées par BRITE et MOST ne peuvent pas être effectuées à partir du sol. En effet, les conditions atmosphériques changeantes masquent la variabilité intrinsèque de l'étoile sur les longues périodes de temps et aux basses amplitudes requises pour ce type d'étude. Les satellites étant de petite taille et donc peu coûteux, la constellation BRITE représente une solution très rentable pour la réalisation de projets scientifiques de grande envergure dans l'un des champs de recherche les plus importants de l'astrophysique.

La construction et le lancement de BRITE-CA1 et de BRITE-CA2 sont financés par l'ASC. Les six satellites ont été conçus par le Laboratoire de vol spatial de l'UTIAS (UTIAS-SFL). Le professeur émérite Anthony Moffat (Université de Montréal) est le responsable scientifique de mission pour la contribution canadienne. Le professeur Jaymie Matthews (Université de la Colombie-Britannique), le professeur Stefan Mochnacki et le professeur émérite Slavek Rucinski (Université de Toronto) font également partie de l'équipe canadienne de BRITE. L'Université de technologies de Graz s'est basée sur les plans de l'UTIAS-SFL pour construire l'un des satellites autrichiens. Outre les deux nanosatellites BRITE canadiens, trois autres (un de l'Université de Vienne et deux du Centre astronomique Copernic) proviendront directement de l'UTIAS-SFL.