Language selection

Search

Top of page

SANSORI: Does rigid eye structure help protect astronauts' eyesight?

Health science

The SANSORI experiment will investigate the factors involved in vision changes experienced by some astronauts during six-month missions.

European Space Agency astronaut Matthias Maurer explains how a Canadian experiment is investigating vision changes experienced by astronauts during six-month missions aboard the International Space Station. (Credit: Canadian Space Agency, NASA, European Space Agency, Rosemont-Maisonneuve Hospital)

Background

Human vision is naturally adapted to the conditions of life on Earth. But when astronauts spend several months in space, both their eyes and eyesight can change and result in blurry or altered vision.

This condition is called Spaceflight-Associated Neuro-Ocular Syndrome (SANS), and it affects 45 to 75 percent of astronauts during six-month space flights. It could be caused by the extra pressure that builds in astronauts' heads when their body fluids shift in a weightless environment.

Scientists are investigating why SANS is so common. For this experiment, Canadian researchers will study whether astronauts who have a particularly rigid eye structure – caused by stiffness in the outer coating of the eye – are less likely to develop SANS. They will also examine whether SANS is more likely to happen when blood vessels in the choroid (a thin layer of tissue in the eye) become engorged.

ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst takes optical measurements to help characterize the risk of SANS to crew members assigned to six-month flights on board the International Space Station. (Credit: NASA)

Objectives

SANSORI aims to:

 Impacts on Earth

Although SANS is a condition that applies specifically to vision changes in astronauts, the knowledge we gain from the SANSORI experiment could help researchers better understand vision problems on Earth.

SANSORI will contribute to what we know about conditions such as glaucoma, idiopathic intracranial hypertension (high blood pressure in the head without known cause) and certain cardiovascular diseases – conditions that, like SANS, are at least partly caused by increased pressure in the head. This research can also help us understand the effects of pressure changes in patients' heads and eyes when they are on prolonged bedrest.

How it works

The SANSORI experiment will test 13 astronauts:

  1. Researchers will collect data about astronauts' eyesight and the physical properties of their eyes before, during and after their space flights. Researchers will use:
    • questionnaires about the astronauts' visual acuity
    • various scans, videos and imaging of the eyes to measure astronauts' eye pressure
    • ophthalmic MRI reports
    • information from exercise sessions
  2. Researchers will use data sharing to access as much information about the astronauts' vision as possible, and to ensure they have a complete picture of the astronauts' medical history.

Timeline

Data collection for SANSORI began in . The study is scheduled to conclude in late .

JAXA astronaut Koichi Wakata collects optical data on the International Space Station. (Credit: NASA)

Research team

Principal investigator

  • Dr. Santiago Costantino, Université de Montréal

Co-investigator

  • Dr. Mark Lesk, Université de Montréal, Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Explore further

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Haut de page

Étude SANSORI : la rigidité oculaire aide-t-elle à protéger les astronautes de troubles de la vue?

Science de la santé

L'étude SANSORI portera sur les facteurs liés aux troubles de la vue éprouvés par certains astronautes au cours de leur mission de six mois.

L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale européenne Matthias Maurer parle des changements de la vue subis par les astronautes lors de missions de six mois à la Station spatiale internationale et de l'étude canadienne SANSORI qui se penche sur la question. (Sources : Agence spatiale canadienne, NASA, Agence spatiale européenne, Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont.)

Contexte

La vision est naturellement adaptée aux conditions sur Terre. Toutefois, après plusieurs mois dans l'espace, certains astronautes éprouvent des problèmes oculaires et leur vue devient embrouillée.

Ce trouble appelé syndrome neuro-oculaire lié aux vols spatiaux touche de 45 à 75 % des astronautes en mission spatiale de six mois. Il pourrait être causé par la pression accrue dans le crâne des astronautes, attribuable au fait que leurs fluides corporels se déplacent vers la tête en microgravité.

Les scientifiques cherchent à savoir pourquoi ce syndrome est si fréquent. Dans l'étude SANSORI, des chercheurs canadiens examineront si les astronautes dont la structure oculaire est particulièrement rigide en raison de la fermeté de la sclérotique – le blanc de l'œil – sont moins susceptibles de développer ce syndrome. Ils vérifieront en outre si ce syndrome a plus de chance de se manifester quand les vaisseaux sanguins de la choroïde (fine couche de tissu dans l'œil) sont engorgés.

L'astronaute de l'ESA Alexander Gerst prend des mesures oculaires pour aider à caractériser le risque de syndrome neuro-oculaire lié aux vols spatiaux chez les astronautes en mission spatiale de six mois à la Station spatiale internationale. (Source : NASA.)

Objectifs

L'étude SANSORI vise à :

 Retombées sur Terre

Le syndrome neuro-oculaire lié aux vols spatiaux est un trouble propre aux astronautes, mais les connaissances acquises grâce à l'étude SANSORI pourraient aider les chercheurs à mieux comprendre les troubles oculaires sur Terre.

L'étude SANSORI aidera à approfondir les connaissances sur des maladies comme le glaucome, l'hypertension intracrânienne idiopathique (pression sanguine élevée dans la tête sans cause connue) et certaines maladies cardiovasculaires. Comme le syndrome neuro-oculaire lié aux vols spatiaux, ces maladies sont au moins en partie causées par une pression élevée dans la tête. Cette étude peut aussi aider à comprendre les effets des variations de pression dans la tête et les yeux des patients longtemps alités.

Déroulement

Treize astronautes prendront part à l'étude SANSORI.

  1. Les chercheurs collecteront des données sur la vue des astronautes et les propriétés physiques de leurs yeux avant, pendant et après leur vol spatial. Ils utiliseront :
    • des questionnaires sur l'acuité visuelle;
    • divers balayages, vidéos et images des yeux visant à mesurer la pression oculaire;
    • des rapports d'IRM des yeux;
    • des données provenant de séances d'exercice.
  2. Les chercheurs recourront à l'échange de données pour avoir accès à un maximum de renseignements sur la vision des astronautes et s'assurer de connaitre tous leurs antécédents médicaux.

Dates

La collecte des données de l'étude SANSORI a commencé en . L'étude devrait se conclure à la fin de .

L'astronaute de la JAXA Koichi Wakata recueille des données oculaires à la Station spatiale internationale. (Source : NASA.)

Équipe de recherche

Chercheur principal

  • Pr Santiago Costantino, Université de Montréal

Cochercheur

  • Dr Mark Lesk, Université de Montréal, Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :