Language selection

Search

Top of page

CARDIOBREATH: Taking a deep dive into astronaut health

Health science

The CARDIOBREATH experiment tracks changes in how astronauts' cardiovascular and respiratory systems control their blood pressure, with the goal of keeping crews healthier in space and upon return.

Background

Human bodies are best suited to life on Earth. When astronauts travel to space and live in a weightless environment, their cardiorespiratory systems adapt – sometimes in ways that can affect their health. For example, the fluids that circulate in their bodies decrease in volume, which means their blood pressure is lower than on Earth.

Researchers are working to understand more about how astronauts' cardiorespiratory systems decondition when they are in microgravity. CARDIOBREATH looks at what can be done to protect astronauts' blood pressure regulation, by examining the relationship between cardiovascular and respiratory system adaptations during missions on the International Space Station – using the Bio-Monitor, the Canadian-made smart shirt system designed to monitor astronauts' vital signs in space.

David Saint-Jacques tries the Bio-Monitor in space

Canadian Space Agency astronaut David Saint-Jacques tried the Bio-Monitor, a Canadian technology, for the first time in space. (Credit: Canadian Space Agency/NASA)

Objectives

This study will:

How fast a person breathes

How fast a person breathes affects their heart rate and blood pressure – and how fast their heart beats also affects their breathing patterns. Likewise, a person's blood pressure affects their heart rate – and this in turn affects their blood pressure.

By studying these biological feedback loops, researchers will understand more about what happens to astronauts' cardiovascular systems in space.

 Impacts on Earth

Weightlessness can cause many health issues for astronauts. Studying how the cardiorespiratory system deconditions and affects the control of blood pressure in a weightless environment will help researchers come up with ways to keep astronauts healthier.

Meanwhile, the cardiorespiratory changes that happen during space flight are similar to what happens as people age on Earth and to people whose bodies decondition after a long period of bed rest. Further insights from CARDIOBREATH will help the development of countermeasures and recovery protocols for astronauts, and could also be used to improve the health of elderly patients and all Canadians.

How it works

Researchers aim to study 14 astronauts:

  1. The participants' cardiovascular systems will be tested four times on the ground: twice before and twice after the flight. Each subject will wear a custom-fitted Bio-Monitor device and cycle on a stationary bike for 25 minutes at a specific level of effort, while researchers track their heart rate, blood pressure, breathing rate and activity level. Additional measurements will also be taken in a standing position, such as measurement of balance.
  2. In space, participants will wear custom-fitted Bio-Monitor devices and perform the same cycling exercise session they did on the ground. They will also collect measurements for a few minutes during rest periods before and after the exercise session.

Researchers will compare the results they get on Earth with the results obtained in space. They will also compare the results of male and female astronauts to determine whether sex-based differences exist.

Timeline

Researchers began data collection in early .

Research team

Principal investigator

Co-investigator

Explore further

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Haut de page

CARDIOBREATH : analyse en profondeur de la santé des astronautes

Sciences de la santé

L'étude CARDIOBREATH porte sur le système cardiorespiratoire des astronautes, en particulier sur les variations destinées à réguler la pression artérielle. L'objectif? Maintenir les équipages en bonne santé dans l'espace et à leur retour sur Terre.

Contexte

Le corps humain est adapté à la vie sur Terre. Quand les astronautes vont dans l'espace et vivent en apesanteur, leur système cardiorespiratoire s'adapte, mais parfois d'une manière qui peut nuire à leur santé. Par exemple, leurs fluides corporels diminuent de volume, ce qui signifie que leur pression artérielle est plus basse que sur Terre.

Les chercheurs essaient de mieux comprendre comment le système cardiorespiratoire des astronautes en microgravité se déconditionne. L'étude CARDIOBREATH vise à déterminer ce qu'on pourrait faire pour assurer une bonne régulation de la pression artérielle des astronautes. Les chercheurs examinent la relation entre les adaptations du système cardiorespiratoire et la pression artérielle pendant les missions à la Station spatiale internationale à l'aide du biomoniteur, le système canadien de maillot intelligent qui sert à surveiller les signes vitaux des astronautes dans l'espace.

David Saint-Jacques met le biomoniteur dans l'espace

L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne David Saint-Jacques a mis pour la première fois dans l'espace le biomoniteur, une nouvelle technologie canadienne. (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne/NASA.)

Objectifs

Cette étude permettra :

La vitesse à laquelle quelqu'un respire

La vitesse à laquelle quelqu'un respire a un effet sur son rythme cardiaque et sa pression artérielle. Par ailleurs, le rythme cardiaque a un effet sur le rythme respiratoire. De même, la pression artérielle a un effet sur le rythme cardiaque, qui à son tour a un effet sur la pression artérielle.

En étudiant ces boucles de rétroaction biologique, les chercheurs pourront mieux comprendre les variations du système cardiovasculaire des astronautes dans l'espace.

 Retombées sur Terre

L'apesanteur peut entrainer de nombreux problèmes de santé chez les astronautes. En étudiant la manière dont le système cardiorespiratoire se déconditionne et affecte la régulation de la pression artérielle en apesanteur, les chercheurs devraient trouver des moyens de maintenir les astronautes en meilleure santé.

Par ailleurs, les effets subis par le système cardiorespiratoire pendant les vols spatiaux ressemblent à ce que vivent des ainés sur Terre et des personnes dont le corps se déconditionne après une longue période d'alitement. Les résultats de l'étude CARDIOBREATH aideront à mettre au point des contremesures et des protocoles de rétablissement pour les astronautes, qui pourraient aussi servir à améliorer la santé de patients âgés et de tous les Canadiens.

Fonctionnement

Les chercheurs visent 14 astronautes comme sujets d'étude.

  1. Le système cardiovasculaire des participants sera testé quatre fois au sol : deux fois avant et deux fois après le vol spatial. Chaque sujet portera des dispositifs personnalisés du biomoniteur et pédalera sur un vélo stationnaire pendant 25 minutes à un niveau d'effort précis : les chercheurs suivront alors leur rythme cardiaque, leur pression artérielle, leur rythme respiratoire et leur niveau d'activité. D'autres mesures seront aussi prises debout, comme sur l'équilibre.
  2. Dans l'espace, les participants porteront des dispositifs personnalisés du biomoniteur et feront la même séance d'exercice qu'au sol sur un vélo stationnaire. Ils prendront aussi des mesures pendant quelques minutes durant la période de repos qui précède et qui suit la séance d'exercice.

Les chercheurs compareront les résultats obtenus sur Terre avec ceux obtenus dans l'espace. Ils compareront aussi les résultats des astronautes masculins et féminins afin de déterminer s'il y a des différences liées au sexe.

Dates

Les chercheurs ont commencé la collecte des données au début de .

Équipe de recherche

Chercheur principal

Cochercheur

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :