Language selection

Search


Top of page

The Starliner-1 mission

Canadian Space Agency (CSA) astronaut Joshua Kutryk will be the next Canadian to live and work on the International Space Station as part of the Starliner-1 mission.

Launch
No earlier than the beginning of
Status
In development
Duration
Approximately 6 months

Starliner-1 mission

This is the first operational mission of Boeing's CST-100 Starliner spaceship to the International Space Station (ISS). It will launch no earlier than the beginning of . The mission will be launched atop a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket from NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Upon return, the capsule will land on solid ground.

The CST-100 Starliner spacecraft in space over the South Pacific

CST-100 Starliner approaches the International Space Station

Boeing's CST-100 Starliner spacecraft approached the International Space Station on the company's Orbital Flight Test-2 mission. (Credit: NASA)

CSA astronaut Joshua Kutryk will spend approximately six months onboard the Station to conduct scientific experiments and test new technologies. Canadians from all backgrounds will have special access to this mission. Joshua Kutryk is particularly interested in inspiring young people and sparking their interest in space, science, technology, engineering and mathematics by offering them an extraordinary glimpse into the greatest moments of his mission.

Starliner-1 mission crew

Joshua Kutryk will travel to the ISS with NASA astronauts Scott Tingle and Mike Fincke. A fourth astronaut will be joining them (announcement coming soon). The crew will live and work on the Station for approximately six months.

The Starliner-1 mission will make history: it will be the first CSA astronaut mission under NASA's Commercial Crew Program. This partnership with the private sector enables the transportation of astronauts to and from the International Space Station in a safe, reliable and cost-effective way, using a new generation of spaceships and launchers.

Scott Tingle

Scott Tingle
(NASA)
Commander

Scott Tingle is an engineer, test pilot, and decorated U.S. Navy pilot. In -, he spent 168 days on the International Space Station. During this mission, he conducted maintenance work on Canadarm2 during a spacewalk. He will be the first operational mission commander of the Starliner vehicle.

Full biography of Scott Tingle

Mike Fincke

Mike Fincke
(NASA)
Pilot

Mike Fincke is an engineer, test pilot, and decorated U.S. Air Force pilot. He was a crewmember on Expedition 9 and served as the Expedition 18 Mission Commander. In , he flew on STS-134. He spent a total of nearly 382 days in space and completed nine spacewalks. He worked in the Commercial Crew Program. Starliner-1 will be his fourth space mission.

Full biography of Mike Fincke

Joshua Kutryk

Joshua Kutryk
(CSA)
Mission Specialist (Starliner-1) and Flight Engineer (ISS)

Joshua Kutryk is an accomplished engineer, fighter pilot, and test pilot with over 4,000 flight hours on more than 40 aircraft types. He has worked with the Starliner team in Houston since . He will serve as capcom for the ascent and atmospheric return of the first flight with crew of the CST-100 Starliner. Starliner-1 will be his first space mission.

Full biography of Joshua Kutryk

Missions to the International Space Station

Crews have been continuously travelling to the Station since , when the Expedition 1 crew became the first long-term inhabitants of the orbiting lab.

Canada is proud to be an important partner in the International Space Station program. Thanks to our contribution, another Canadian astronaut will take part in a mission to the Station in the coming years.

As a crewmember of the Boeing Starliner-1 mission, Joshua Kutryk will be the fourth Canadian Space Agency astronaut to take part in a long-term mission to the International Space Station.

Infographic on the International Space Station and Canada's contributions.

Text version - Canada and the International Space Station

This infographic presents Canada's research activities on the International Space Station (ISS), Canada's contribution to the ISS, and the number of Canadian Space Agency astronauts who have been to the Station. It also provides general information about the ISS. (Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

Explore further

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche


Haut de page

La mission Starliner-1

L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Joshua Kutryk sera le prochain Canadien à séjourner à la Station spatiale internationale, dans le cadre de la mission Starliner-1.

Lancement
Début au plus tôt
État
En développement
Durée
Environ 6 mois

La mission Starliner-1

C'est la première mission opérationnelle du vaisseau spatial CST-100 Starliner de Boeing à destination de la Station spatiale internationale (SSI). Elle aura lieu au début de au plus tôt. La mission sera lancée avec une fusée Atlas V de United Launch Alliance depuis le centre spatial Kennedy de la NASA, en Floride. Au retour, la capsule se posera sur la terre ferme.

Le vaisseau spatial CST-100 Starliner au-dessus du Pacifique, près de la Station spatiale internationale

Le vaisseau spatial CST-100 Starliner s'approche de la Station spatiale internationale

Le vaisseau spatial CST-100 Starliner de Boeing s'approche de la Station spatiale internationale lors de la mission Orbital Flight Test-2 de la société. (Source : NASA.)

L'astronaute de l'ASC Joshua Kutryk passera environ six mois à bord de la Station pour réaliser des expériences scientifiques et tester de nouvelles technologies. Les Canadiens de tous horizons auront un accès privilégié à cette mission. Joshua Kutryk souhaite tout particulièrement inspirer les jeunes et susciter leur intérêt pour le domaine spatial et les sciences, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques en leur offrant un aperçu inédit des grands moments de sa mission.

L'équipage de la mission Starliner-1

Joshua Kutryk voyagera vers la SSI avec les astronautes de la NASA Scott Tingle et Mike Fincke. Un quatrième astronaute se joindra à eux (annonce prochainement). Les membres d'équipage vivront et travailleront à bord de la Station pendant six mois environ.

La mission Starliner-1 créera un précédent : il s'agira de la première mission d'un astronaute de l'ASC dans le cadre du Programme des missions habitées commerciales de la NASA. Ce partenariat avec le secteur privé permet le transport d'astronautes vers et depuis la Station spatiale internationale de manière sûre, fiable et rentable avec une nouvelle génération de vaisseaux spatiaux et de lanceurs.

Scott Tingle

Scott Tingle
(NASA)
Commandant

Scott Tingle est ingénieur, pilote d'essai et pilote décoré de la U.S. Navy. En -, il a passé 168 jours à la Station spatiale internationale. Au cours de cette mission, il est sorti dans l'espace pour effectuer des travaux de maintenance sur le Canadarm2. Il sera le premier commandant d'une mission opérationnelle du vaisseau Starliner.

Biographie complète de Scott Tingle (en anglais seulement)

Mike Fincke

Mike Fincke
(NASA)
Pilote

Mike Fincke est ingénieur, pilote d'essai et pilote décoré de l'Armée de l'air des États-Unis. Membre d'équipage de la mission Expedition 9, il a été commandant d'Expedition 18. En , il a participé à la mission STS-134. Il cumule un total de près de 382 jours dans l'espace et a réalisé neuf sorties extravéhiculaires. Il a travaillé dans le Programme des missions habitées commerciales. La mission Starliner-1 sera sa quatrième mission spatiale.

Biographie complète de Mike Fincke (en anglais seulement)

Joshua Kutryk

Joshua Kutryk
(ASC)
Spécialiste de mission (Starliner-1) et ingénieur de vol (SSI)

Joshua Kutryk est ingénieur, pilote de chasse et pilote d'essai accompli cumulant plus de 4000 heures de vol sur plus de 40 types d'avion. Depuis , il travaille avec l'équipe du Starliner à Houston. Il assumera le rôle d'agent de liaison capcom pour l'ascension et la rentrée atmosphérique du premier vol avec équipage du vaisseau CST-100 Starliner. La mission Starliner-1 sera sa première mission spatiale.

Biographie complète de Joshua Kutryk

Missions à la Station spatiale internationale

Des équipages se rendent à la Station depuis , année où les membres d'équipage de la mission Expedition 1 sont devenus les premiers résidents à long terme du laboratoire orbital.

Le Canada est fier d'être un partenaire important du programme de la Station spatiale internationale. Grâce à notre contribution au programme, un autre astronaute canadien prendra part à une mission à la Station dans les années à venir.

En étant membre d'équipage de la mission Boeing Starliner-1, Joshua Kutryk sera le quatrième astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne à prendre part à une mission de longue durée à la Station spatiale internationale.

Infographie qui présente le rôle du Canada à la Station spatiale internationale

Version textuelle - Le Canada et la Station spatiale internationale

Infographie qui présente le rôle du Canada à la Station spatiale internationale – activités de recherche, robots spatiaux, nombre d'astronautes de l'Agence spatiale canadienne y ayant séjourné – et donne de l'information générale sur la Station. (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne.)

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :