Bodies In the Space Environment (BISE) - Which way is up in space?

WHAT'S NEW?

Bodies in the Space Environment (BISE) is an ongoing experiment that studies how astronauts distinguish up from down in a near-weightless environment. Sponsored by the Canadian Space Agency, BISE is a York University experiment led by Principal Investigator Dr. Laurence Harris. Canadian Space Agency Astronaut Bob Thirsk is one of 6 astronaut subjects for the experiment. Scientists will analyse data collected before, during, and after flight. BISE sessions on the International Space Station will be conducted throughout September 2009 and well into 2010. Video format

For most people, telling up from down is so easy they hardly give it a second thought. But some people—those who find themselves in unusual, extreme environments or who suffer from certain medical disorders—find orienting themselves difficult and, as a result, they can make life-threatening mistakes.

One extreme environment where this can be a problem is space, where the brain no longer has gravity to help determine up and down. Astronauts must rely on other cues, such as their body position and what they see around them. If they get disoriented, it can lead to errors like flipping switches the wrong way or moving in the wrong direction during an emergency.

Principal Investigator Dr. Laurence Harris of York University.

Principal Investigator Dr. Laurence Harris of York University.
(Photo: CSA)

To learn more about how astronauts perceive up and down in microgravity, the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) is sponsoring a study called BISE (Bodies in the Space Environment) being led by a group of scientists from York University. It was partially conducted by Canadian astronaut Dr. Robert (Bob) Thirsk during Canada’s Expedition 20/21. Launched in May 2009, this mission marked a milestone of Canada’s Manned Space Program as Thirsk took part in the first-ever long-duration mission and research flight to the International Space Station (ISS).

The tests involved having subjects—including Thirsk—view a computer screen through a cylinder that blocks all other visual information. The astronauts were presented with background images with different orientations relative to their bodies. On top of these images were superimposed a letter that could be either a "p" or a "d" depending on its orientation.

They had to indicate which letter they saw and the scientists measured the transition points where the letters changed from a "p" to a "d" and back again. "The angle between those two is taken as the perceptual upright," notes psychologist Laurence Harris, principal investigator of the experiment. "We're able to alter that perceptual upright by changing body orientation or visual orientation." (In earth-based tests, they also change the relative position of gravity by having subjects lay on their sides.)

The researchers want to determine the relative importance of visual and body cues to the subjects' perception of up. Said Harris, "How the brain combines multiple pieces of information about the same thing and comes up with the right answer is a key question."

Studies done in special aircraft that produce brief periods of microgravity suggest that, in the absence of gravity, people rely more on body cues than on vision to tell them which way is up. The study will examine whether this also happens on the Space Station.

BISE experiment undergoes testing during parabolic flights in France.

BISE experiment undergoes testing during parabolic flights in France.
(Photo: Dr. Laurence Harris, York University)

According to Harris, their findings can help to create a safer work environment in space. He noted that the Station is "tricky" because its modules are not all in a straight line. "You often go through a right angle to go between one module and another, so whatever corresponds to the ground in one module won't necessarily match in another module."

This can cause disorientation that could have serious consequences in an emergency evacuation. Space station modules do have exit signs but "if you want to guid e people, you have to know what cues they're using and how effective they are—how effective a visual clue can be in that situation," Harris said.

Luchino Cohen, the CSA's mission scientist for the BISE experiment, noted that these issues also affect astronauts during spacewalks. "When you get outside the spacecraft, you have to adjust your orientation and use whatever visual cues you have." He said CSA supports this research because its mandate includes using the space environment to "improve the safety of space travel by understanding how the human brain adapts to microgravity."

According to Harris, the tools developed for this experiment can also help people on Earth who experience balancing problems or are prone to falling, including seniors and people with conditions like Parkinson's disease.

Corps en milieu spatial (BISE) - Où est le haut dans l’espace?

Quoi de neuf?

L’expérience BISE (Corps en milieu spatial) sert à étudier comment les astronautes font pour distinguer le haut du bas dans des conditions de quasi apesanteur. Parrainée par l’Agence spatiale canadienne, BISE est une expérience continue, mise au point à l’Université York et dirigée par le Dr Laurence Harris qui en est le chercheur principal. Bob Thirsk de l’Agence spatiale canadienne est l’un des six astronautes sujets d’expérimentation. La prochaine séance BISE est prévue pour le 10 septembre 2009. Les scientifiques analyseront les données recueillies avant, pendant et après le vol. Les séances menées à bord de la Station spatiale internationale se poursuivront pendant une bonne partie de 2010.

Pour la plupart des gens, distinguer le haut du bas est si facile qu'ils n'y pensent jamais. Mais certaines personnes, comme celles qui se trouvent dans des environnements inhabituels ou extrêmes ou qui souffrent de certains problèmes médicaux, ont de la difficulté à s'orienter et peuvent, par conséquent, faire des erreurs qui mettent leur vie en danger.

L'espace est un environnement extrême où ce genre de problèmes peut se produire, puisque le cerveau ne peut s'appuyer sur la gravité pour distinguer le haut du bas. Les astronautes doivent se fier à d'autres indices, comme la position de leur corps et les objets qu'ils voient autour d'eux. S'ils deviennent désorientés, ils peuvent commettre des erreurs comme actionner des commutateurs dans le mauvais sens ou se déplacer dans la mauvaise direction en situation d'urgence.

Laurence Harris, chercheur principal de l'Université York. (Source : ASC)

Afin de mieux comprendre comment les astronautes perçoivent le haut et le bas en microgravité, l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) parraine l'étude BISE (Corps en milieu spatial) dirigée par un groupe de scientifiques de l'Université York. Cette expérience a été en partie réalisée par l’astronaute canadien Robert (Bob) Thirsk lors de la mission canadienne, Expedition 20/21. Cette mission, dont le lancement a eu lieu en mai 2009, a constitué un jalon du programme canadien de vols habités puisque Bob Thirsk a été le premier Canadien à participer à une mission de longue durée à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS).

Le test consiste à faire voir aux sujets (Bob Thirsk, dans ce cas) un écran d'ordinateur par un cylindre qui bloque toute autre information visuelle. On leur a présenté des images d'arrière-plan ayant des orientations différentes par rapport à leur corps. Une lettre, « p » ou « d » selon son orientation, a été superposée à la partie supérieure de ces images.

Les sujets ont indiqué quelle lettre ils voyaient et les scientifiques ont mesuré les points de transition où le « p » se change en « d », et le « d » en « p ». « L'angle entre les deux est considéré comme la perception du haut », déclare le psychologue Laurence Harris, chercheur principal de l'expérience. « Nous pouvons changer la perception du haut en changeant l'orientation du corps ou l'orientation visuelle. » (Dans des tests réalisés sur Terre, on change également la position relative de la gravité en plaçant les sujets sur le côté.)

Les chercheurs veulent déterminer l'importance relative des indices visuels et corporels dans la perception de la direction du haut par les sujets. L'une des questions importantes est de savoir « comment le cerveau combine plusieurs éléments d'information sur le même objet pour obtenir la bonne réponse », ajoute M. Harris.

Des études effectuées dans des avions spéciaux, pilotés de façon à produire de brèves périodes de microgravité, portent à croire qu'en l'absence de gravité, les sujets s'appuient plutôt sur les indices corporels que sur les indices visuels pour déterminer où se trouve le haut. L'étude porte à examiner si cela se produit également à bord de la station spatiale.

L'expérience Corps en milieu spatial, testée lors de vols paraboliques en France.

L'expérience BISE, testée lors de vols paraboliques en France. (Source : Laurence Harris, Université York)

M. Harris souligne que les résultats peuvent aider à créer un environnement de travail plus sûr dans l'espace. Il fait remarquer que la station est « trompeuse » parce que ses modules ne sont pas tous disposés en une ligne droite. « Il faut souvent tourner à angle droit pour passer d'un module à un autre, de sorte que ce qui est le sol dans un module ne l'est pas nécessairement dans un autre ».

Cela peut causer une désorientation qui pourrait avoir des conséquences graves en cas d'évacuation d'urgence. Les modules de la station spatiale sont dotés d'affiches indiquant les sorties. « Mais si vous voulez guider des personnes, vous devez connaître les indices qu'elles utilisent ainsi que l'efficacité de ceux-ci. Par exemple, vous devez savoir dans quelle mesure un indice est efficace dans une situation donnée », ajoute-t-il.

Luchino Cohen, le scientifique de mission de l'ASC pour l'expérience BISE, signale que ces problèmes peuvent également nuire aux astronautes durant les sorties dans l'espace. « Quand vous sortez du vaisseau spatial, vous devez vous orienter en utilisant toutes les indications visuelles dont vous disposez ». Il affirme que l'ASC soutient ces travaux de recherche parce que son mandat porte notamment sur l'utilisation de l'environnement spatial pour « améliorer la sécurité des voyages dans l'espace en découvrant comment le cerveau humain s'adapte à la microgravité ».

Selon M. Harris, les outils mis au point pour cette expérience peuvent également aider ici sur Terre les personnes ayant des problèmes d'équilibre ou celles qui ont tendance à tomber, comme les personnes âgées et celles atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson.