Mission STS-100

Banner of the STS-100

Mission Description

Patch STS-100. This patch commemorates Canada's historic participation in Mission STS-100, Assembly Flight 6A of the International Space Station (ISS). The patch celebrates the delivery and installation of the second-generation Canadian robotic arm to the Station. It also highlights CSA Astronaut Chris Hadfield's space walk, the first time a Canadian stepped out into the vacuum of space. The Astronaut Wings on the patch were presented to Colonel Hadfield by the Prime Minister of Canada after his first space mission, and represent his pride in his country and his military heritage. The patch was designed by Cynthia DeWit, a Canadian Fine Arts student from Conestoga College in Ontario.

Patch STS-100
(Credit: Canadian Space Agency)


Launch

Date: April 19, 2001

Time: 2:41:42 p.m. EDT

Site: Kennedy Space Center (KSC)


Landing

Date: May 1st, 2001

Time: 12:11:42 p.m. EDT

Site: Edwards Air Force Base


Mission Duration:
11 days 21 h 30 mins

Flight Number: STS-100

Orbiter Vehicle: Endeavour

Payloads:
Space Station Remote Manipulator System (Canadarm2), Raffaello Multi-Purpose Logistics Module (MPLM), External Ultra High Frequency (UHF) Antenna.

April 19 to May 1, 2001

On April 22nd, the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Chris Hadfield ventured out from Space Shuttle Endeavour and into the vacuum of space to attach Canadarm2 to the Destiny Module of the International Space Station (ISS). This marked the first spacewalk for a Canadian, a milestone in Canadian space exploration history. It was also the debut of Canada's iconic second-generation robotic technology, Canadarm2. Since its activation in 2001, the arm has proven to be an invaluable addition to the ISS, assembling all subsequent elements of the Station.

STS-100 also featured the first robotic "handshake in space", as Hadfield operated the Canadarm to retrieve Canadarm2's launch cradle.

In addition to attaching Canadarm2, Hadfield and his crewmates—including four Americans, one Russian and one Italian—also installed an antenna on the outside of the Station and transferred scientific equipment into the Station from the Rafaello Multi-Purpose Logistics Module (MPLM).

Mission STS-100 Crew (Credit: NASA)

Mission STS-100 Crew

From left to right.
Yuri V. Lonchakov, Scott F. Parazynski, Kent V. Rominger, Umberto Guidoni, Jeffrey S. Ashby, Chris Hadfield and John L. Phillips.

Mission STS-100

Bannière de la mission STS-100

Description de la mission

Écusson de la mission STS-100. Cet écusson commémore la participation historique du Canada à la mission STS-100, ou vol d'assemblage 6A de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). Il souligne la livraison et l'installation sur la Station d'une deuxième génération de bras robotique canadien. L'activité extravéhiculaire (EVA) de Hadfield, qui constituait la première sortie d'un Canadien à l'extérieur de la navette, y est aussi illustrée. Les ailes d'astronautes qui sont reproduites sur cet écusson avaient été remises au colonel Hadfield par le premier ministre du Canada à la suite de sa première mission spatiale. Elles reflètent le sentiment de fierté de Hadfield pour son pays et pour son héritage militaire. Cet écusson a été conçu par Cynthia DeWit qui étudie les beaux-arts au Conestoga College en Ontario.

Écusson de la mission STS-100
(Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)


Lancement

Date : 19 avril 2001

Heure : 14 h 41 min 42 s HAE

Site : Centre spatial Kennedy (KSC)


Atterrissage

Date : 1er mai 2001

Heure : 12 h 11 min 42 s HAE

Site : Base aérienne Edwards


Durée de la mission :
11 jours 21 h 30 min 0 s

Numéro de vol : STS-100

Orbiteur : Endeavour

Charges utiles :
Télémanipulateur de la Station spatiale (Canadarm2), Module logistique polyvalent Raffaello (MPLM), Antenne externe à haute fréquence (UHF).

Du 19 avril au 1er mai 2001

Le 22 avril, l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Chris Hadfield s'est aventuré hors de la navette spatiale Endeavour, dans le vide spatial, pour fixer le Canadarm2 au module Destiny de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). Cet épisode a marqué la première sortie extravéhiculaire d'un astronaute canadien. C'est un jalon dans l'histoire de l'exploration spatiale canadienne. C'est également le commencement de la deuxième génération d'une icône de la technologie robotique canadienne, le Canadarm2. Depuis son activation en 2001, le bras s'est révélé un ajout précieux pour l'ISS, notamment parce qu'il a permis d'assembler tous les autres éléments de la Station.

En plus d'installer le Canadarm2, Chris Hadfield et ses coéquipiers, dont quatre Américains, un Russe et un Italien, ont fixé une antenne sur la paroi extérieure de la station et transbordé du matériel scientifique provenant du module logistique polyvalent Raffaello (MPLM).

L'équipage de la mission STS-100 (Source : NASA)

L'équipage de la mission STS-100

De gauche à droite.
Yuri V. Lonchakov, Scott F. Parazynski, Kent V. Rominger, Umberto Guidoni, Jeffrey S. Ashby, Chris Hadfield et John L. Phillips.