Simulating space under the Earth, under the sea

Video

Learn "All about CAVES" in this ESA CAVES 2012 video featuring CSA astronaut David Saint-Jacques.

It bears more than a little resemblance to an environment in Ridley Scott's Prometheus, or one of the Aliens movies. So it's no surprise that Sa Grutta Cave, on the Mediterranean island of Sardinia, is being used to simulate the real-life challenges, inconveniences and dangers of space exploration.

CAVES (or Cooperative Adventure for Valuing and Exercising human behaviour and performance Skills) 2013 was an opportunity for Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Jeremy Hansen and five other astronauts to get advanced experience on Earth in some of the situations they'll face during the extremes of a long-duration space mission.

This training prepares astronauts to work safely and effectively and solve problems as a multicultural team while carrying-out complex scientific and technical tasks and exploring uncharted areas using space procedures. They have worked in confined spaces, with minimal privacy, technical challenges and limited equipment and supplies for hygiene and comfort - just like in space.

For the last few years, the European Space Agency (ESA) has hosted an international crew of "cavenauts" on the island to help them hone skills they can use during launch, spacewalks, emergencies, and everyday life in orbit and beyond. CSA Astronaut David Saint-Jacques was the first Canadian astronaut to complete the training in 2012.

Into the abyss

From September 16-27, 2013 Hansen and the rest of the CAVES team spent time training for and setting out on a six-day journey into Sa Grutta, navigating gigantic underground halls, tiny unexplored passages, rivers, lakes and other obstacles.

While camped hours into this dwelling, the team ate, slept, and worked together, creating 3D cave maps of the areas around their 'base-camp', making detailed photographic surveys, and taking samples of rarely-seen cave organisms.

The mission objectives also included airflow, temperature and humidity monitoring; geological, biological and microbiological sampling with a particular interest in gaining better understanding of the fauna and environment of the area, as well as contributing to research in planetary protection.

ESA's CAVES Website

CSA Astronaut Jeremy Hansen Explores Other-Worldly Caves

The caves are dark, dangerous and alien-like. The astronauts are wet, uncomfortable and dirty. All in the name of science! Canadian Space Agency Astronaut Jeremy Hansen gives us a new perspective on exploration and explains why training in caves is just like working and living in space. Make sure to watch until the very end! A video of the Canadian Space Agency with European Space Agency footage and photography by Vittorio Crobu and Sirio Sechi.

Other environments

Over the past 15 years, the CSA, NASA, and other space agencies have made extensive use of "analogue environments" – locations on Earth that stand in for destinations in space.

Since 2001, Aquarius, an undersea lab the size of a large motor home, has hosted five Canadian space explorers on six missions – including Saint-Jacques (2011) and Jeremy Hansen (2014) – as part of the NASA NEEMO program.

Roughly 19 metres below the waters of the Florida Keys, NEEMO aquanauts have participated in science research missions, long-duration space trip simulations, and "spacewalks" to evaluate exploration tools and techniques that could be applied in space.

In the summer of 2012, Jeremy Hansen embarked on an analogue "Moon mission" to Victoria Island in the Canadian Arctic, helping to investigate a possible meteorite impact crater. In July 2013, he took part in a geology field expedition in Devon Island, in Canada's High Arctic to study impact cratering processes while learning methods and techniques for conducting geological fieldwork that can be applied to sites beyond our planet. In the summer of 2014, David Saint-Jacques also took part in field geology training at the West Clearwater Impact Structure in Nunavik, in Canada's Arctic.

As analogue missions become more diverse and commonplace, so will astronauts with specialized skills for coping for the long-term in space.

So next time an astronaut gets ready for their upcoming space launch or extravehicular activity, they might be thinking less of their time in a centrifuge and more of what they learned bouncing along the bottom of the ocean, or wiggling around a tricky obstacle, deep in a remote cavern.

Photo of David Saint-Jacques during the 2012 CAVES training

2012-09-05 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut David Saint-Jacques dons a wet suit during the European Space Agency's (ESA) 2012 CAVES training. (Credit: ESA-V.Crobu)

Photo of David Saint-Jacques during the NEEMO 15 mission

2011-10-22 - Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut David Saint-Jacques uses a standard machinist's hammer to chip off a piece of the simulated asteroid rock and place it in the collection bag during NEEMO 15. (Credit : NASA)

Photo of Jeremy Hansen and Gordon Osinski in Nunavut

2013-07-20 – Jeremy (left) with Dr. Gordon Osinski of Western University's Centre for Planetary Science and Exploration during a geology field expedition in Devon Island, Nunavut, Canada. (Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

Simuler l'espace sous la terre, sous la mer

Vidéo

Apprenez-en davantage au sujet de la formation CAVES en visionnant cette vidéo de l'ESA sur CAVES 2012 (avec la participation de l'astronaute de l'ASC David Saint-Jacques). (En anglais seulement)

Voilà qui fait penser à des films comme Alien ou Prometheus de Ridley Scott. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que la grotte Sa Grutta, sur l'île méditerranéenne de la Sardaigne, serve à simuler les défis, inconvénients et dangers réels de l'exploration spatiale.

Le projet CAVES (pour Cooperative Adventure for Valuing and Exercising human behaviour and performance Skills) 2013 a donnée à l'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Jeremy Hansen et à cinq autres astronautes la possibilité d'expérimenter sur Terre certaines situations auxquelles ils devront faire face dans les conditions extrêmes qui sont associées à une mission spatiale de longue durée.

Cet entraînement prépare les astronautes à travailler de manière efficace et sécuritaire et à résoudre des problèmes en tant qu'équipe multiculturelle pour réaliser des tâches scientifiques et techniques complexes lors de l'exploration de territoires non cartographiés, le tout en utilisant les procédures liées à l'exploration spatiale. Ceux-ci ont dû travailler dans des environnements confinés, avec une vie privée limitée, des défis techniques et de l'équipement réduit pour l'hygiène et le confort : tout comme dans l'espace.

Au cours des dernières années, l'Agence spatiale européenne (ESA) a accueilli sur l'île un équipage international de « cavernautes » afin qu'ils perfectionnent des compétences qu'ils pourront mettre à profit au cours du lancement d'une mission, de sorties extravéhiculaires et de situations d'urgence ainsi qu'au quotidien, en orbite et au-delà. L'astronaute de l'ASC David Saint-Jacques fut le premier astronaute canadien à compléter le programme d'entraînement en 2012.

Dans l'abysse

Du 16 au 27 septembre 2013, Jeremy Hansen et les autres membres de l'équipe CAVES (anglais seulement) se sont entraînés lors d'un périple de six jours dans la grotte Sa Grutta, naviguant dans des salles souterraines gigantesques, empruntant des passages étroits encore inexplorés, des rivières et des lacs et surmontant d'autres obstacles.

Au cours des nombreuses heures qu'ils ont passé dans cette grotte, les membres de l'équipe ont mangé, dormi et travaillé ensemble, créé des cartes 3D des secteurs autour de leur « camp de base » dans la grotte, procédé à des levés photographiques détaillés et prélevé des échantillons d'organismes rarement observés.

Les cavernautes ont aussi dû surveiller la circulation d'air, la température et l'humidité; prélevé des échantillons géologiques, biologiques et microbiologiques dans le but particulier de mieux comprendre la faune et l'environnement de la région en plus de contribuer aux recherches en matière de protection de la planète.

Site Web de l'expédition CAVES de l'ESA (anglais seulement)

L'astronaute de l'ASC Jeremy Hansen explore des cavernes extraterrestres

La caverne est noire, dangereuse et ressemble à un autre monde. Les astronautes sont trempés, inconfortables et sales. Tout ça au nom de la science! L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne Jeremy Hansen partage une nouvelle perspective de l'exploration et explique pourquoi la formation dans des cavernes est similaire au travail et à la vie dans l'espace. Assurez-vous de regarder jusqu'à la toute fin! Une vidéo de l'Agence spatiale canadienne avec des images de Vittorio Crobu et Sirio Sechi pour l'Agence spatiale européenne.

Autres milieux

Au cours des 15 dernières années, l'ASC, la NASA et d'autres agences spatiales ont beaucoup utilisé des « milieux analogues », c'est-à-dire des endroits sur Terre qui s'apparentent aux destinations dans l'espace.

Depuis 2001, Aquarius, un laboratoire sous-marin de la taille d'une grosse autocaravane, a accueilli cinq explorateurs canadiens de l'espace lors de six missions sous-marines, dont David Saint-Jacques (2011) et Jeremy Hansen (2014), dans le cadre du programme NEEMO de la NASA.

À quelque 19 mètres de profondeur dans les eaux des Keys de la Floride, les aquanautes du programme NEEMO ont participé à des missions de recherche scientifique, à des simulations de voyage spatial de longue durée et à des « sorties spatiales » pour évaluer outils et techniques d'exploration qui pourraient s'appliquer à des missions spatiales.

À l'été 2012, Jeremy Hansen s'est embarqué pour une « mission lunaire » analogue sur l'île Victoria (anglais seulement) dans l'Arctique canadien afin de participer à l'étude d'un cratère qui semble être attribuable à un impact de météorite. En juillet 2013, il a participé à une expédition de géologie à l'île Devon, dans l'Extrême-Arctique canadien, lors de laquelle il a étudié les processus liés à la formation des cratères d'impact tout en apprenant différentes méthodes et techniques de géologie qui pourraient être mises en pratique ailleurs que sur Terre. À l'été 2014, David Saint-Jacques s'est à son tour joint à une expédition de géologie au Lac à l'eau claire, une structure de cratère d'impact située au Nunavik, en Arctique.

À mesure que les missions analogues se diversifient et deviennent plus courantes, les astronautes acquièrent des compétences spécialisées qui leur permettront de surmonter les difficultés à long terme dans l'espace.

Aussi, la prochaine fois qu'un astronaute se préparera en vue d'un lancement en orbite ou d'une activité extravéhiculaire, il pensera non pas nécessairement au temps qu'il a passé dans une centrifugeuse, mais plutôt à ce qu'il a appris au fond de l'océan ou en se faufilant autour d'un obstacle difficile dans les profondeurs d'une grotte éloignée.

Photo de David Saint-Jacques durant la formation CAVES

2012-09-05 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) David Saint-Jacques durant la formation CAVES 2012 de l'Agence spatiale européenne (ESA). (Source : ESA – V. Crobu)

Photo de David Saint-Jacques sous l'eau pour la mission NEEMO 15

2011-10-22 - L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) David Saint-Jacques utilise un marteau de machiniste ordinaire pour extraire un morceau de rocher d'un astéroïde fictif au cours d'une simulation et place le morceau dans un sac d'échantillons dans le cadre de NEEMO 15. (Source : NASA)

Photo de Jeremy Hansen et Gordon Osinski au Nunavut

2013-07-20 – Jeremy Hansen et Gordon Osinski, du Centre for Planetary Science and Exploration de l'université Western Ontario, lors d'une expédition de géologie à l'île Devon, Nunavut, Canada. (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)