Studying bone loss in space with OSTEO

Astronaut John Glenn reviews the procedures before beginning the work (Photo: NASA)

Astronaut John Glenn reviews the procedures before beginning the work (Photo: NASA)

The OSTEO experiments are one of Canada's great successes in space. Launched on October 29, 1998, aboard the Space Shuttle Discovery on a mission devoted to the study of aging, the experiments gave life scientists their first opportunity to examine bone cell cultures in space.

The three OSTEO experiments

Conducted by veteran astronaut John Glenn, the three experiments selected focussed on bone degeneration and on a possible treatment for osteoporosis.

The OSTEO experiments were conducted on stacked trays like this one. Colours were used to make the astronaut's task easier. (Photo: CSA)

The OSTEO experiments were conducted on stacked trays like this one. Colours were used to make the astronaut's task easier. (Photo: CSA)

An experiment to examine how space travel causes osteoporosis symptoms to appear was conducted by Dr. John Davies of the University of Toronto's the Centre for Biomaterials. Dr. Peter Loomer of the University of British Columbia conducted the second experiment to look into the effects of microgravity on bone formation and mechanisms that cause the disease. Dr. Dennis Sindrey, Project Director of the Allelix Biopharmaceuticals Group, analyzed the effects of hormone therapy in treating osteoporosis for the third experiment.

The Canadian Space Agency supported Millenium Biologix for the design of the OSTEO mini-lab, which tested the growth of cells using a synthetic bone biomaterial. With the lab and the company's synthetic substitute Osteologic that mimics bone structure, they studied 192 previously cultivated bone cell samples. Today, a medical version of this biomaterial, called Skelite, is used in Canada, the United States, and Europe to heal fractures. Skelite reproduces the chemical composition and physical structure of natural bone and promotes rapid healing of weakened or injured bone. The bone-graft substitute is implanted and, over time, it is absorbed and replaced by living tissue.

Porous 3-D Skelite synthetic scaffolds (Photo: Millenium Biologix)

Porous 3-D Skelite synthetic scaffolds (Photo: Millenium Biologix)

Following OSTEO's success, Millenium has developed improved systems to study bone loss and tissue engineering and has attracted the attention of a number of space agencies for future experiments in this area.

Why study osteoporosis in space?

In Canada, one in four women and one in eight men over the age of 50 suffer from osteoporosis, and its treatment costs Canadians more than $600 million annually.

John Glenn during the OSTEO experiment (Photo: NASA)

John Glenn during the OSTEO experiment (Photo: NASA)

Space research helps us better understand this condition and helps astronauts prepare for lengthy space missions. A microgravity environment affects an astronaut's physiology with bone deterioration 10 times more rapid than that of osteoporosis patients on Earth. The reason for this loss caused by microgravity is still being studied so treatments can be improved.

OSTEO findings

Microscopic view of healthy (left) and osteoporotic (right) bone tissue

Microscopic view of healthy (left) and osteoporotic (right) bone tissue

In the OSTEO experiments, the researchers found that isolated bone cells in space take longer to regenerate than on Earth. This slower regeneration is aggravated by the hastened action of cells that cause bone deterioration. Their significant findings show that the Earth's gravitational force may affect cells directly.

The experiment inspired the creation of a Millenium-designed clinical system called ACTES. This system enables health-care establishments, especially those outside large urban centres, to produce organic tissue without relying on an often costly and distant independent supply.

OSTEO research continues

However, the OSTEO experiment will continue with eOSTEO, set to launch in 2007. Stay tuned!

Étudier la perte osseuse dans l'espace avec OSTEO

Le Canada compte plusieurs grands succès dans l'espace et les expériences OSTEO, lancées le 29 octobre 1998 à bord de la navette Discovery, en font partie. La mission, vouée à l'étude du vieillissement, a donné pour la première fois l'occasion aux chercheurs en sciences de la vie d'étudier la culture des cellules osseuses dans l'espace.

L'astronaute John Glenn révise la procédure avant de manipuler l'équipement OSTEO. (Source : NASA.)

Les trois expériences OSTEO

Réalisées par le vétéran de l'espace John Glenn, les trois expériences spatiales sélectionnées portaient sur la dégénérescence des os et sur le traitement possible de l'ostéoporose.

La première expérience, celle du professeur John Davies (en anglais seulement) du Centre for Biomaterials de l'Université de Toronto, a servi à étudier la relation de cause à effet entre les vols spatiaux et l'apparition de certains symptômes de l'ostéoporose. La deuxième expérience, dirigée par le professeur Peter Loomer de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, avait pour objet les effets de la microgravité sur le développement des os et les mécanismes qui provoquent la maladie. Finalement, dans la troisième expérience, le professeur Dennis Sindrey, directeur de projet pour le groupe Allelix Biopharmaceuticals, a analysé les effets de l'hormonothérapie dans le traitement contre l'ostéoporose.

L'Agence spatiale canadienne a appuyé Millenium Biologix (en anglais seulement) dans la conception du mini-laboratoire OSTEO, qui a permis de tester la croissance de cellules osseuses à l'aide d'un biomatériau synthétique, Osteologic, également développé par Millenium. Grâce à ce laboratoire et à ce biomatériau qui imite la structure de l'os, on a notamment pu étudier 192 échantillons de cellules osseuses que l'on avait fait croître préalablement. Aujourd'hui, une version médicale de ce matériau, le Skelite, est utilisée au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe pour guérir des fractures. Le Skelite reproduit la composition chimique et la structure physique d'un os naturel. Il facilite la guérison des os fragilisés ou fracturés. Implanté comme greffon, il finit par se résorber et par être remplacé par des tissus vivants.

Forte du succès d'OSTEO, Millenium a développé des systèmes perfectionnés d'étude de la perte osseuse et du génie tissulaire qui ont suscité l'intérêt de plusieurs agences spatiales pour de futures expériences dans le même domaine.

Les expériences OSTEO ont été réalisées sur des plateaux identiques à celui-ci, empilés les uns sur les autres. L'utilisation des couleurs facilite la manipulation faite par l'astronaute. (Source : ASC.)

Structure synthétique poreuse Skelite 3D. (Source : Millenium Biologix.)

Pourquoi étudier l'ostéoporose dans l'espace?

Au Canada, une femme sur quatre et un homme sur huit âgés de plus de 50 ans souffrent d'ostéoporose. Son traitement coûte plus de 600 millions de dollars annuellement aux Canadiens.

La recherche dans l'espace est utilisée dans le but de mieux comprendre cette maladie et d'aider les astronautes à se préparer aux missions spatiales de longue durée. En fait, l'absence de pesanteur a un effet sur la physiologie des astronautes, dont les os se dégradent dix fois plus rapidement que les patients souffrant d'ostéoporose sur Terre. La raison de cette perte due à la microgravité est toujours à l'étude afin d'améliorer les traitements.

John Glenn au cours d'OSTEO (Source : NASA.)

Les trouvailles d'OSTEO

Vue microscopique d'un os sain (à gauche) et d'un os ostéoporotique (à droite)

Grâce à l'expérience OSTEO, les chercheurs ont découvert que certaines cellules osseuses isolées dans l'espace régénèrent les os plus lentement que sur Terre. Cette régénération ralentie est aggravée par l'action accélérée d'autres cellules, qui causent la dégradation des os. Cette révélation est significative et démontre que l'attraction gravitationnelle sur Terre agit peut-être directement sur les cellules.

L'expérience a inspiré l'élaboration d'un système clinique appelé ACTES, conçu par Millenium. Ce système permet aux établissements de santé situés en dehors des grands centres urbains de générer eux-mêmes des tissus organiques sans devoir faire appel à un réseau externe indépendant souvent éloigné et coûteux.

L'expérience se poursuit

L'expérience OSTEO connaîtra cependant une suite grâce à eOSTEO, dont le lancement est prévu pour 2007. C'est à suivre!

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :