Language selection

Search

Top of page

AstroSat: Canadian technology on board India's first space astronomy mission adds to unique view of the universe

ASTROSAT

A near-ultraviolet image of galaxy NGC 2336 captured by the UVIT instrument on board India's AstroSat observatory. Located 105 million light-years away from Earth, the galaxy's spiral arms contain several nebulae: hot star-forming regions that shine brightly in this wavelength. (Credit: UVIT team)

Launch:
Status: Active

Canada contributed the three sensitive detectors for the Ultraviolet Imaging Telescope (UVIT) instrument on board the Indian Space Research Organisation's AstroSat, India's first astronomy satellite dedicated to studying hot, high-energy objects in the universe like young stars and black holes.

AstroSat's design is both powerful and unique: it carries five instruments that can observe its targets in multiple wavelengths (from X-ray to visible light) at the same time.

The main science objectives of the AstroSat mission are to:

Canada's role in the mission

In partnership with the National Research Council Canada, the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) co-led the development of three Canadian detectors for the UVIT instrument, AstroSat's twin ultraviolet (UV) and visible imaging telescopes. "This is a technology that Canada had never developed before," says Dr. John Hutchings of the National Research Council Canada, the principal investigator for Canada's contribution. "The detectors capture each photon of light as it arrives and record its location and time of arrival. These are then stored, and an image is created. The UVIT telescopes are far more capable than those flown previously, and can observe far larger areas of sky."

Canada's contribution entitles Canadian scientists to observation time on the satellite, which means opportunities for unique research by Canadian astronomers.

The CSA is funding three Canadian universities to support investigations using data collected by AstroSat.

CSA funding Canadian universities
Researcher Institution Summary
Dr. Patrick Côté University of Victoria
  • Will use the UVIT instrument to study galaxies in the Virgo Cluster to better understand star formation within cluster galaxies' environments.
Dr. Denis Leahy University of Calgary
  • Will use UVIT and X-ray observations to catalogue individual hot stars and star clusters in M31 (Andromeda Galaxy) to advance our understanding of M31 star populations and star formation history. NGC 205, a galaxy that is a nearby neighbour of M31, will also be studied.
  • Will investigate the X-ray close binary star system Hercules X-1 to investigate the structure of its accretion disk. This is one of the first X-ray pulsars discovered in early X-ray observations in the s.
Dr. Erik Rosolowsky University of Alberta
  • Will use UVIT data to map newly forming stars and their disruptive effect on star-forming dust clouds in a sample of nearby galaxies studied by the PHANGS (Physics at High Angular resolution in Nearby GalaxieS) collaboration.

Along with X-rays, UV wavelengths are the main sources of information from the hottest cosmic objects like black holes, hot white dwarfs, neutron stars and quasars. Ultraviolet light is mostly observable from space. Astronomers need to use space telescopes such as Hubble, GALEX and AstroSat to explore the universe in the ultraviolet.

Located about 800 million light-years away from Earth, galaxy cluster Abell 2256 is made up of smaller galaxy clusters that will eventually merge into one. Researchers are using UVIT to investigate the nature of individual galaxies in this cluster, including those in these enlarged images. (Credit: UVIT team/ISRO/CSA)

Collaborators

Explore further

Date modified:

ASTROSAT : la technologie canadienne embarquée sur le premier observatoire spatial indien permet d'observer l'Univers de façon unique

ASTROSAT

Image dans le proche ultraviolet de la galaxie NGC 2336 captée par le télescope UVIT embarqué sur l'observatoire spatial indien ASTROSAT. Dans les bras de cette galaxie spirale située à 105 années-lumière de la Terre se trouvent plusieurs nébuleuses, favorables à la formation d'étoiles. Les nébuleuses diffuses à émission (avec des étoiles chaudes) sont très brillantes dans cette longueur d'onde. (Source : Équipe d'UVIT.)

Lancement : Le
Statut : actif

Le Canada a fourni trois capteurs sensibles du télescope imageur dans l'ultraviolet (UVIT) embarqué sur ASTROSAT, le premier observatoire astronomique de l'Organisation indienne de recherche spatiale, destiné à l'étude de corps célestes chauds émettant un rayonnement à haute énergie, comme les jeunes étoiles et les trous noirs.

Puissant et de conception unique, ASTROSAT est doté de cinq instruments qui permettent d'observer ces cibles dans plusieurs longueurs d'onde en même temps (des rayons X à la lumière visible).

Les principaux objectifs scientifiques de la mission ASTROSAT sont les suivants :

L'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) accorde un soutien financier à trois scientifiques canadiens pour qu'ils puissent poursuivre leurs recherches avec les données recueillies avec ASTROSAT.

Les professeurs Denis Leahy (Université de Calgary), Carmelle Robert (Université Laval) et Gregory Sivakoff (Université de l'Alberta) utiliseront les données dans les nombreuses longueurs d'onde d'ASTROSAT pour mener d'important travaux de recherche sur un certain nombre de corps célestes.

Le rôle du Canada dans la mission

L'ASC a codirigé avec le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) le développement des trois détecteurs canadiens d'UVIT, le télescope double d'ASTROSAT d'imagerie dans l'ultraviolet et la lumière visible. « Le Canada n'avait jamais mis au point cette technologie auparavant », précise le Pr John Hutchings du CNRC, chercheur principal de la contribution canadienne. « En captant chaque photon, les détecteurs enregistrent les coordonnées de sa provenance et l'heure où il a été capté. Ces données servent ensuite à créer une image. Les télescopes d'UVIT ont des capacités largement supérieures à celles des télescopes précédents et permettent d'observer de bien plus grandes régions du ciel. »

Grâce à la contribution du Canada à la mission ASTROSAT, notre pays se voit accorder du temps d'observation, ce qui signifie des possibilités de recherche uniques pour les astronomes canadiens.

Avec les rayons X, les rayons ultraviolets sont la principale source d'information sur les objets célestes les plus chauds, comme les trous noirs, les naines blanches chaudes, les étoiles à neutrons et les quasars. On peut observer la lumière ultraviolette principalement à partir de l'espace. Les astronomes doivent donc explorer l'Univers dans l'ultraviolet avec des télescopes comme Hubble, GALEX et ASTROSAT.

Situé à environ 800 millions d'années-lumière de la Terre, l'amas de galaxies Abell 2256 est formé de plus petits amas de galaxies qui n'en formeront qu'un seul un jour. Les chercheurs utilisent l'UVIT pour déterminer la nature des galaxies de cet amas, en particulier celles indiquées par des flèches. (Source : Équipe d'UVIT/ISRO/ASC.)

Collaborateurs

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :