SMILE: Canada to play key role in first-ever mission to observe the chain of events behind space weather

Launch:
Mission duration: 3 to 5 years
Mission status: In development

Space weather can affect the performance of critical technologies both in space and on Earth, resulting in substantial economic impacts. Severe space weather events can disrupt radio communications and satellite navigation signals, damage electrical infrastructure on the ground and satellites in space, and even endanger transpolar air travel. For example, in , space weather was responsible for taking out the entire Quebec power grid for nine hours. The blackout closed schools and businesses, shut down the Montreal metro system during morning rush hour, and paralyzed airports across the province.

The European Space Agency (ESA) and the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) have joined forces to lead the Solar wind Magnetosphere Ionosphere Link Explorer (SMILE) satellite mission, which will enable the first-ever observations of the chain of events that drives space weather. Canada will be contributing the UltraViolet Imager (UVI), one of the satellite's instruments.

Geomagnetic storms can influence satellite navigation and radio communications – both critical for airplane flights. When a significant solar storm hits our planet, airlines can divert or cancel flights to ensure safety. (Credits: Canadian Space Agency, NASA.)

Transcript

Canada and space weather

Understanding and predicting space weather is of particular importance to Canada, as our northern location makes us one of the countries most affected by space weather. In fact, Canada is the country with the largest landmass under aurora, the most visible manifestation of space weather. This has motivated decades of research aimed at understanding the space environment above Earth and has resulted in Canada developing world-class expertise in remotely sensing the region where the auroras occur.

Canada has undertaken space weather research since the beginning of the space age, starting with Alouette, Canada's first satellite, launched in . This research continues as Canada's growing dependence on space systems and other technological infrastructure and services makes us increasingly vulnerable to space weather. The Canadian-led UVI instrument on SMILE is a natural fit with our scientific and engineering expertise.

Canada's role in the mission

SMILE will carry four instruments: the Canadian-led UltraViolet Imager (UVI), an imager from the United Kingdom (UK), and two instruments from China. The UVI will observe the auroras over the entire northern hemisphere, even during daytime, for 40 hours at a time.

As the Sun burns, it continually blows a hot ionized and magnetized gas into space called the solar wind. As the solar wind streams past Earth, it strikes Earth's magnetosphere, its protective force field, and causes space weather that can harm spacecraft and astronauts in space as well as infrastructure on the ground. The two Chinese instruments will monitor the ever-changing solar wind at the same time as the two imagers observe its impact, making SMILE the first mission to simultaneously accomplish those tasks.

This illustration shows what will be observed by the UK's X-ray imager and Canada's UVI. (Credits: CSA, ESA, NASA, UCL)

Text version - on the graphic about SMILE Innovation

SMILE Innovation

SMILE is the first mission to remote sense the chain of events that generate space weather (cause + effect) in a global manner

Canada's UVI observes the magnetosphere's reaction

UK's X-ray imager observes solar wind energy injection

A Soft X-ray Instrument (SXI), contributed to the mission by the UK, will observe the X-rays emitted where the solar wind and the outermost fringes of Earth's atmosphere collide. At the same time, the Canadian-led UVI will observe the auroras above the entire northern hemisphere, even on the sunlit side of Earth. The ultraviolet images of the auroras will reveal how the disturbances seen in the distant magnetosphere by SXI are transformed into the beautiful and sometimes disruptive auroras we see in Canadian skies. These two complementary observations will permit new science, unlocking knowledge about how our magnetosphere works. That knowledge will help improve our ability to forecast the impacts of space weather on the space- and ground-based high-technology infrastructure that our society relies on.

Explore further

Date modified:

SMILE : Le Canada jouera un rôle clé dans la toute première mission d'observation du processus des phénomènes de météorologie spatiale

Lancement :
Durée : de trois à cinq ans
État : En développement

Les phénomènes de météorologie spatiale peuvent nuire au fonctionnement de technologies cruciales, tant dans l'espace que sur Terre, ce qui n'est pas sans conséquences économiques importantes. Les graves perturbations spatiales peuvent couper les radiocommunications et la transmission des signaux de navigation par satellite, endommager les satellites en orbite et les réseaux électriques, et même présenter un risque pour le transport aérien au-dessus du pôle Nord. Par exemple, en , un orage magnétique a provoqué au Québec une panne d'électricité généralisée pendant neuf heures. Les écoles et les entreprises ont dû fermer leurs portes, le service de métro à Montréal a été interrompu pendant l'heure de pointe du matin et tous les aéroports de la province ont été paralysés.

L'Agence spatiale européenne (en anglais seulement) et l'Académie chinoise des sciences ont uni leurs efforts pour diriger la mission satellitaire SMILE (pour Solar wind Magnetosphere Ionosphere Link Explorer), qui permettra, pour la première fois, d'observer le processus des phénomènes de météo spatiale. La contribution du Canada sera un imageur dans l'ultraviolet, un des instruments du satellite.

Les tempêtes géomagnétiques peuvent avoir une incidence sur la navigation par satellite et les communications radio – deux facteurs essentiels à l’aviation. Lorsqu’une tempête solaire frappe notre planète, les compagnies aériennes peuvent détourner ou annuler des vols pour assurer la sécurité. (Sources : Agence spatiale canadienne, NASA.)

Transcription

Le Canada et la météo spatiale

La météorologie spatiale est particulièrement importante pour le Canada en raison de sa situation géographique dans l'hémisphère Nord, ce qui en fait l'un des pays les plus touchés par les perturbations spatiales. Le Canada est d'ailleurs le pays qui possède la plus grande masse continentale où se produisent les aurores, manifestation la plus visible des phénomènes de météo spatiale. C'est ce qui a motivé des décennies de recherche sur l'environnement spatial de la Terre et mené le Canada à développer une expertise de calibre mondial en télédétection dans la région sous l'ovale auroral.

Au Canada, la recherche en météorologie spatiale remonte au début de l'ère spatiale quand Alouette, le premier satellite canadien, a été lancé en . Elle se poursuit toujours vu la dépendance croissante du Canada à l'égard des systèmes spatiaux et d'autres infrastructures et services technologiques, ce qui rend le pays de plus en plus vulnérable aux perturbations spatiales. L'imageur dans l'ultraviolet de conception canadienne embarqué sur SMILE est dans le droit fil de notre savoir-faire scientifique et technique.

Le rôle du Canada dans la mission

Quatre instruments seront embarqués sur SMILE : un imageur dans l'ultraviolet (UVI) de conception canadienne, un imageur de rayons X du Royaume-Uni (en anglais seulement) et deux instruments chinois. L'UVI permettra d'observer les aurores de l'ensemble de l'hémisphère Nord, même le jour, sur des périodes d'une quarantaine d'heures.

Le Soleil projette continuellement dans l'espace un gaz ionisé et magnétisé, le vent solaire. En atteignant la Terre, le vent solaire frappe la magnétosphère – le champ magnétique qui protège notre planète – et cause des phénomènes qui peuvent avoir un impact sur les engins spatiaux et sur la santé des astronautes dans l'espace, et endommager les infrastructures au sol. Au même moment où les deux instruments chinois mesureront les caractéristiques changeantes du vent solaire, les deux imageurs capteront ses effets. SMILE est la première mission à réaliser ces deux opérations simultanément.

Voici ce qu'observeront l'imageur de rayons X du Royaume-Uni et l'imageur dans l'ultraviolet du Canada. (Sources : Agence spatiale canadienne, ESA, NASA, UCL.)

Version textuelle - de l'infographie caractère innovateur de SMILE

Caractère innovateur de SMILE

SMILE est la première mission à télédétecter le processus (cause et effet) des phénomènes de météo spatiale à l'échelle planétaire.

Imageur dans l'ultraviolet du Canada : observation de l'effet sur la magnétosphère

Imageur de rayons X du R.-U. : observation de l'énergie produite par le vent solaire

L'imageur de rayons X mous (SXI) fourni par le Royaume-Uni captera les rayons X émis quand le vent solaire percute la couche supérieure ionisée de l'atmosphère terrestre. Au même moment, l'imageur dans l'ultraviolet de conception canadienne permettra d'observer les aurores au-dessus de tout l'hémisphère Nord, même du côté de la Terre où il fait jour. Les images dans l'ultraviolet révèleront comment les perturbations détectées dans la magnétosphère par le SXI en viennent à produire ces superbes aurores qui embellissent le ciel canadien. De cette façon, de nouvelles recherches scientifiques seront possibles pour approfondir nos connaissances sur le fonctionnement de la magnétosphère. Ce savoir nous aidera à mieux prévoir les impacts des phénomènes de météo spatiale sur les infrastructures de haute technologie – dans l'espace et au sol – dont dépend la société canadienne.

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :