Effective maritime surveillance

Bordering three oceans – Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic – Canada has the longest coastline in the world. In fact, Canada's ocean environment is equal to about 70 percent of the country's land mass. That makes for a lot of Canadian waters to monitor and survey!

Canada's RADARSAT satellites, including the RADARSAT Constellation Mission (RCM), are able to obtain data regardless of climate conditions or time of day. Therefore, they are particularly efficient in monitoring marine and coastal areas, which often have cloudy and foggy weather conditions.

On radar images, like the ones produced with RADARSAT-1 and RADARSAT-2, ships appear as shiny objects contrasted against a dark background of open water. The RCM makes it even easier to identify ships by combining Automatic Identification System (AIS) technology with radar imagery, and to distinguish between open water and coastal areas through changes in image contrast.

Safe passage in icy waters

RCM data helps ensure safe navigation in icy waters.

Navigating through sea ice is a real challenge for ships and their captains. A wrong move can lead to a detour from a safe route, resulting in wasted fuel or even getting stuck in the ice. RCM data helps ensure safe, efficient navigation by providing information on ice quantity, density and strength, as well as on the ice formation cycle. It supports Canada's commercial marine sector, as well as helps improve weather forecasting methods.

Navigating sea ice to deliver supplies

RADARSAT user: ship captain

Credit: Michael Stokes

Michael Stokes is a ship's captain who mostly works in the Arctic. He brings food and supplies to a remote mining community. He is one of the few captains operating in the region. RADARSAT data is essential to his work. The ship he navigates is 40 years old and is the oldest in the fleet. That means he has to be extra careful to avoid getting jammed in sea ice, which risks damaging the ship. RADARSAT data provides Michael with the details that he needs to make navigation decisions to keep his crew safe and ensure the supplies are delivered. Read Michael's full story.

Making travel in the Arctic safer

Brian Koonoo is a Resource Management Officer at Parks Canada. He travels a lot in northern regions to study and compile information about the changing environment. It's a potentially risky job, as he often travels by boat, by snowmobile or on foot, in cold or hazardous environments. He uses RADARSAT data to help identify the dangerous parts of the tundra and permafrost areas and what the best routes might be. RADARSAT data is an increasingly important part of that process, as climate change has made traditional knowledge of the Arctic icescape less reliable. He also uses the data to inform other people in his community about hunting and fishing routes. Read Brian's full story.

Predicting stormy seas

RCM data helps select sites for wind farms.

The driving force behind weather at sea, the wind affects all marine operations. Stormy seas pose danger. The RCM frequently gathers precise information on surface winds. This knowledge helps improve weather forecasting and warning systems in order to effectively support marine operations. This information also helps select sites for wind farms.

Keeping our waters clean

RADARSAT data is used to detect oil pollution in Canadian waters. (Credit: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA))

Oil spills pollute our waters and pose grave danger to marine life, including coral reefs, fish, dolphins, whales and birds. Quick and accurate detection of oil spills enables environmental protection organizations to effectively monitor, contain and clean up substances, and to protect sensitive coastal areas. Over the last 5 years, RADARSAT-2 has helped detect over 200 oil anomalies in Canada. The RCM continues this work by helping locate oil spills as they happen. It also allows to predict the direction they will take and their drift by using a map of marine wind directions derived from radar images.

Protecting our waters

RCM data helps protect Canadian waters. (Credit: Canadian Coast Guard)

Surrounded by three oceans, Canada has a lot of territorial waters to protect. Illegal fishing is detrimental not only to marine ecosystems, but also to the nearly 72,000 Canadians who rely on legal fishing and fishing-related activities for their livelihood. By combining AIS technology with radar imagery, the RCM enables quick detection of ships of various sizes navigating in Canadian waters, including those conducting illegal fishing. This knowledge helps protect marine biodiversity and combat overexploitation and illegal fishing. The resulting improved awareness and understanding of the maritime situation near Canada's coasts enhances security in support of Canadian sovereignty.

Explore further

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Haut de page

Surveillance maritime efficace

Le Canada a le plus long littoral du monde, qui s'étend le long de trois océans : l'Atlantique, l'Arctique et le Pacifique. D'ailleurs, la superficie de l'environnement océanique du Canada équivaut à quelque 70 % de la surface terrestre du pays. C'est beaucoup d'eaux canadiennes à surveiller et à examiner!

Les satellites canadiens RADARSAT, dont ceux de la mission de la Constellation RADARSAT (MCR), peuvent acquérir des données quelles que soient les conditions météorologiques ou l'heure du jour. Ils sont donc particulièrement efficaces pour surveiller les zones marines et côtières, souvent nuageuses ou couvertes de brouillard.

Sur les images radar, comme celles produites à l'aide de RADARSAT-1 et de RADARSAT-2, on voit bien les navires, car ils sont de petits points brillants sur les zones foncées des eaux libres. La MCR permet encore mieux d'identifier les navires et de connaitre leurs activités en combinant la technologie du système d'identification automatique avec l'imagerie radar. Grâce à la MCR, il sera aussi possible de distinguer les eaux libres des zones côtières sur les images puisque celles-ci auront une gamme de tons diversifiée.

Navigation sûre dans les eaux glacées

Les données la MCR permettent de naviguer en toute sécurité dans les eaux glacées.

Naviguer à travers les glaces de mer, c'est tout sauf facile pour les capitaines de navire. Une mauvaise décision peut aussi mener à s'éloigner d'un trajet sûr et à faire un détour, ce qui entrainera un gaspillage de carburant. Le navire pourrait même rester pris dans la glace. Les données de la MCR assurent une navigation sûre et efficace en fournissant de l'information sur la quantité de glace, sa densité et sa résistance ainsi que sur le cycle de formation des glaces. Elles soutiennent le secteur maritime commercial du Canada et aideront à améliorer les méthodes de prévisions météorologiques.

Se frayer un chemin à travers les glaces pour ravitailler une collectivité nordique

Utilisateur de RADARSAT : capitaine de navire

Source : Michael Stokes.

Michael Stokes est capitaine de navire. Il travaille surtout dans l'Arctique, où il ravitaille en nourriture et en matériel une collectivité minière reculée. C'est l'un des rares capitaines à le faire dans la région. Les données de RADARSAT lui sont essentielles. Son navire a 40 ans : c'est le plus vieux de la flotte. Le capitaine Stokes doit donc faire preuve de la plus grande précaution pour ne pas se retrouver coincé dans les glaces, ce qui pourrait endommager le navire. Les données de RADARSAT lui fournissent tous les détails dont il a besoin pour décider de la route à suivre pour livrer la marchandise tout en veillant à la sécurité de l'équipage. Article complet sur Michael Stokes.

Veiller à ce que les déplacements dans l'Arctique soient sûrs

Brian Koonoo est agent de gestion des ressources à Parcs Canada. Il doit souvent se rendre dans les régions nordiques pour recueillir et analyser des données sur l'évolution de l'environnement. Puisqu'il y va en bateau, en motoneige ou à pied, ce travail présente un risque : il fait très froid et certains endroits sont dangereux. Les données de RADARSAT l'aident à localiser les zones périlleuses de la toundra, dont celles touchées par la fonte du pergélisol, et à  déterminer ainsi le meilleur trajet à emprunter. Ces données sont de plus en plus importantes parce qu'on ne peut plus se fier comme avant au savoir traditionnel sur le paysage arctique à cause des changements climatiques. Brian Koonoo utilise aussi les données de RADARSAT pour informer les membres de sa communauté sur les parcours sécuritaires de chasse et de pêche. Article complet sur Brian Koonoo.

Prévisions sur les tempêtes en mer

Les données de la MCR aident à déterminer le meilleur emplacement des parcs éoliens.

Élément clé des conditions météorologiques en mer, le vent touche toutes les activités maritimes. En mer, les tempêtes sont dangereuses. La MCR collecte fréquemment des données précises sur les vents de surface. Elles aident à améliorer les prévisions et les systèmes d'alertes météorologiques pour soutenir efficacement les activités maritimes. Elles servent aussi à déterminer le meilleur emplacement des parcs éoliens.

Assurer la propreté des eaux canadiennes

Les données de RADARSAT sont utilisées pour détecter la pollution par les hydrocarbures dans les eaux canadiennes. (Source : National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.)

Les déversements d'hydrocarbures polluent nos eaux et présentent un grave danger pour la vie marine, notamment les récifs coralliens, les poissons, les dauphins, les baleines et les oiseaux. Quand les déversements d'hydrocarbures sont détectés rapidement et localisés avec exactitude,  les organismes de protection de l'environnement peuvent les surveiller, les contenir et les nettoyer ainsi que protéger les zones côtières fragiles. Depuis cinq ans, RADARSAT-2 a aidé à détecter plus de 200 déversements d'hydrocarbures au Canada. La MCR poursuit ces activités de détection en aidant à localiser les déversements au moment où ils se produisent. Elle permet aussi de produire une carte des vents marins dérivée d'images radar grâce à laquelle on pourra prédire dans quelle direction les hydrocarbures se disperseront.

Protection des eaux canadiennes

Les données de la MCR aident à protéger les eaux canadiennes. (Source : Garde côtière canadienne.)

Entouré de trois océans, le Canada doit protéger beaucoup d'eaux territoriales. La pêche illégale nuit non seulement aux écosystèmes marins, mais compromet aussi les emplois d'environ 75 000 Canadiens dans le secteur de la pêche. En combinant la technologie du système d'identification automatique à l'imagerie radar, la MCR permet de détecter rapidement des navires de tailles diverses qui naviguent dans les eaux canadiennes, dont ceux qui pratiquent la pêche illégale. Ces renseignements aident à protéger la biodiversité marine et à lutter contre la pêche illicite et la surexploitation des ressources. Il est aussi possible d'avoir une meilleure appréciation de la situation maritime près des côtes canadiennes et d'améliorer la sécurité pour assurer la souveraineté du Canada.

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :