Wayfinding: How space flight affects astronauts' brains

Health Science

The Canadian Wayfinding experiment aims to discover how astronauts get their bearings and find their way around by looking at their brains while they perform spatial orientation tasks.

Background

In order to create an accurate mental map of its position and surroundings, the brain processes visual, self-sensing, and vestibular (inner ear) information.

Living in a weightless environment like the International Space Station (ISS) challenges an astronaut's internal orientation system. In microgravity, the brain cannot rely on the same signals to map out the location of important features like space modules or emergency escape hatches. Astronauts' orientation and navigation challenges can also affect their ability to perform complex operations in space, like robotics tasks.

Wayfinding's results will teach us more about structural and functional changes that the brain undergoes when working in these tricky conditions. This will help astronauts better prepare for and recover from space missions.

Example of a brain scan from the Wayfinding study

The brightly coloured spots on this MRI (or magnetic resonance imaging) indicate the subject's brain activity as they perform spatial orientation tasks. The part of the brain that lights up depends on the particular task the subject is performing. The Wayfinding team will compare similar images obtained from the participating astronauts before and after their flights to identify changes in the brain functioning. (Credit: NeuroLab)

Objectives

Wayfinding's main goals are to:

 Impacts on Earth

Orientation relies in part on the correct working of the vestibular system in the inner ear. This experiment will improve our knowledge of medical conditions affecting movement, posture and spatial orientation skills.

Its findings could be beneficial for patients on Earth who suffer from balance disorders like Ménière's disease, which causes severe dizziness, and help shed light on neural degeneration related to aging, which is known to impact the ability to orient in new surroundings.

How it works

Twelve participants will undergo three testing sessions, with the first one occurring six months before departure. Each session will have three parts:

  1. A behavioural assessment, administered on a computer, evaluates the ability to navigate by using different orientation strategies such as tracking the position of “landmarks,” or retracing one's steps to return to a starting location.
  2. A neuroimaging session uses medical imaging to record brain structures and activity while the astronaut performs spatial orientation tasks.
  3. A neuropsychological assessment measures different functions that are important for spatial orientation such as attention, perception, and memory skills.

Astronauts complete this sequence again two weeks after their return to Earth and six months later. By comparing the data, researchers can link differences in brain structure and function to changes in orientation skills.

Some people become sick while riding in a car, plane, or boat. Astronauts can experience space adaptation syndrome, a type of motion sickness with symptoms ranging from mild nausea and dizziness to vomiting. Many astronauts wear anti-nausea patches on their skin to prevent these effects during launch and return.

Timeline

The Wayfinding team began collecting data in October 2017, and the experiment is expected to conclude in 2022.

A sample task from the Wayfinding study

For this part of the experiment, the astronauts will track the movement of the geometric objects in a virtual environment. As the objects rotate, the astronauts will be asked to identify the location and angle of the camera. (Credit: NeuroLab)

Research team

Principal investigator

Co-investigators

Explore further

Date modified:

Étude Wayfinding : les effets des vols spatiaux sur le cerveau des astronautes

Science de la santé

L'étude canadienne Wayfinding vise à découvrir, en permettant d'examiner l'activité cérébrale des astronautes, comment ils réussissent à s'orienter pendant qu'ils exécutent des tâches exigeant une orientation spatiale.

Contexte

Pour créer une carte mentale précise de sa position et de son environnement, le cerveau traite de l'information visuelle, somesthésique et vestibulaire (oreille interne).

Un milieu en apesanteur comme celui de la Station spatiale internationale (SSI) est déroutant pour le système d'orientation interne des astronautes. En microgravité, le cerveau ne peut pas utiliser ses signaux habituels pour cartographier l'emplacement d'éléments importants comme les modules spatiaux et les sorties de secours. Les difficultés d'orientation et de navigation des astronautes peuvent influer sur leur capacité d'exécuter des tâches complexes dans l'espace, comme des manœuvres de robotique.

Les résultats de l'étude Wayfinding nous permettront d'en savoir davantage sur les modifications structurelles et fonctionnelles subies par le cerveau dans ces conditions particulières. Ils aideront les astronautes à mieux se préparer aux missions spatiales et à s'en remettre plus facilement.

L'esprit au travail : exemple d'une scintigraphie du cerveau

Les taches vivement colorées sur cette image par résonance magnétique montrent l'activité cérébrale du sujet pendant qu'il exécute une tâche exigeant une orientation spatiale. La partie du cerveau qui s'illumine dépend de la tâche exécutée. L'équipe de l'étude Wayfinding comparera des images similaires obtenues chez les astronautes participants avant et après leur vol dans l'espace afin de déceler les changements dans le fonctionnement de leur cerveau. (Source : NeuroLab)

Objectifs

L'étude Wayfinding a pour objectifs :

 Retombées sur Terre

L'orientation repose en partie sur l'appareil vestibulaire de l'oreille interne. Les résultats de l'étude amélioreront notre compréhension des troubles médicaux affectant le mouvement, la posture et l'orientation spatiale.

L'étude pourrait être bénéfique pour les personnes sur Terre qui sont atteintes de troubles de l'équilibre comme la maladie de Ménière, qui cause des étourdissements graves, et faire la lumière sur la dégénérescence neurale liée au vieillissement, qui réduit la capacité de s'orienter dans un nouveau milieu.

Déroulement

Douze astronautes participeront à trois séances d'examen. La première aura lieu six mois avant le départ. Chaque séance comportera trois parties :

  1. une évaluation comportementale réalisée par ordinateur, qui portera sur la capacité de naviguer à l'aide de diverses stratégies d'orientation, comme suivre la position de points de repère ou revenir sur ses pas jusqu'à un point de départ;
  2. une séance de neuro imagerie, durant laquelle les structures et l'activité du cerveau seront examinées par imagerie médicale pendant que l'astronaute exécute des tâches d'orientation spatiale;
  3. une évaluation neuropsychologique, qui mesurera les différentes fonctions importantes pour l'orientation spatiale, telles que l'attention, la perception et la mémoire.

Les astronautes se soumettront de nouveau à cette série d'évaluations deux semaines après leur retour sur Terre ainsi que six mois plus tard. En comparant les données, les chercheurs seront en mesure d'associer les différences observées dans la structure et le fonctionnement du cerveau à des modifications de la capacité d'orientation.

Certaines personnes souffrent du « mal des transports » en voiture, en avion ou en bateau. Les astronautes peuvent quant à eux souffrir du syndrome d'adaptation spatiale, une forme de mal des transports se traduisant par divers symptômes, comme de faibles nausées et des étourdissements et même des vomissements. De nombreux astronautes portent un timbre cutané antinauséeux pour prévenir ces effets au lancement et au retour sur Terre.

Dates

L'équipe de l'étude Wayfinding a commencé à collecter des données en octobre 2017 et devrait continuer à le faire jusqu'en .

Exemple d'une tâche de l'étude Wayfinding

Dans ce volet de l'expérience, les astronautes devront suivre le mouvement de formes géométriques solides dans un environnement virtuel. Chaque fois que les formes auront effectué une rotation, ils devront indiquer l'emplacement et l'angle de la caméra. (Source : NeuroLab)

Équipe de recherche

Chercheur principal

Cochercheurs

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :