Vection: Using virtual reality to test astronauts' perception

Health Science

Vection is a new Canadian science experiment that will use a virtual reality system to examine how microgravity affects astronauts' perception of their motion.

Background

The word "vection" is defined as a feeling that you are moving even though you are immobile, brought on by seeing something else moving. It can be dangerous if it leads astronauts to misinterpret the direction and speed of other objects. For instance, the effect could complicate tasks involving robotics such as captures of unpiloted spacecraft using Canadarm2.

The Vection experiment will assess how crewmembers judge distances and process their own movement while they are immersed in a virtual reality environment. The knowledge gained through this study will help design safer methods of moving around the International Space Station. It could also help future astronauts land small spaceships on lunar or planetary surfaces.

Vection study's Edgeless Graphics Geometry (EGG) large-field display

This image features the edgeless graphics Geometry (EGG) large-field display (made possible by funding from the CFI and developed by Christie®). The Vection research team will use it to assess the role the whole visual field plays in the perception of motion and orientation, using high-resolution stereo graphics. (Credit: York University)

Objectives

Vection aims to:

 Impacts on Earth

Through Vection, researchers will learn more about how visual signals affect our perception when we are in motion. The study's findings may also enrich research in many areas, including:

  • understanding disorders affecting movement and posture, like Parkinson's disease
  • using virtual reality to assist people recovering from a stroke or damage to their balance organs
  • understanding the effects of aging on perception
  • improving the use of technologies like remotely operated robots used in surgery

How it works

Vection's seven participants will use virtual reality headsets to experience 3D simulations. Throughout the tests, astronauts will be immobilized in a head and neck brace.

  1. In one simulation, astronauts will estimate the size of an object. Mistakes in estimation will reveal errors in perceived distance from the objects.
  2. A second test will simulate motion down a corridor. Astronauts will indicate when they arrive at the position of a previously viewed target. Over- or under-estimates will indicate the strength of their sense of vection.
  3. In the third test, simulated visual motion will be used to determine if the astronauts are confusing tilt and visual acceleration in weightlessness.

Astronauts will be tested before, during, and after their missions. Vection's scientists will compare the results to isolate the effects of weightlessness on their performance.

You may have experienced vection in the subway while observing a nearby train arrive or leave. Despite actually remaining immobile, you may have felt a convincing sensation that your train moved in the opposite direction. That illusory self-motion is known as vection.

Timeline

Vection is scheduled to conduct its testing between and .

A head-spinning photo from the Vection study's Tumbling Room

In this image, Vection's Principal Investigator, Dr. Laurence Harris, is taking a spin in the new Tumbling Room Facility (made possible by funding from the Canada Foundation for Innovation, CFI, and built by Dymech Engineering Inc.) The equipment will help the research team examine the role of gravity and motion in perception. (Credit: York University)

Research team

Principal investigator

Co-investigators

Explore further

Date modified:

Vection : la réalité virtuelle pour évaluer la perception chez les astronautes

Sciences de la santé

Vection est le nom donné à une nouvelle étude scientifique canadienne qui utilisera un système de réalité virtuelle pour examiner comment la microgravité influe sur la manière dont les astronautes perçoivent leurs mouvements.

Contexte

La vection est la sensation erronée de bouger provoquée par le fait de voir autre chose en mouvement alors qu'on est immobile. Elle peut être dangereuse pour les astronautes si elle les mène à mal estimer la direction et la vitesse des objets. Par exemple, elle pourrait compliquer l'exécution de tâches de robotique comme la saisie de vaisseaux sans pilote avec le Canadarm2.

L'étude Vection vise à déterminer comment les membres d'équipage évaluent les distances et leurs propres mouvements lorsqu'ils sont plongés dans une réalité virtuelle. Les connaissances tirées de l'étude seront utiles dans la mise au point de méthodes de déplacement plus sécuritaires à bord de la Station spatiale internationale. Elles pourraient aussi aider les futurs astronautes à faire atterrir de petits vaisseaux spatiaux sur la Lune ou sur d'autres planètes.

L'écran à grand angle de vue Edgeless Graphics Geometry de l'étude Vection

Cette image montre l'écran à grand angle de vue Edgeless Graphics Geometry (EGG) (rendue possible grâce au financement de la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation et développée par Christie®) de l'étude Vection. L'équipe de recherche de l'étude Vection l'utilisera pour évaluer le rôle que joue le champ de vision global dans la perception du mouvement et sur le sens de l'orientation à l'aide d'images stéréoscopiques à haute résolution. (Source : Université York.)

Objectifs

L'étude Vection vise à :

 Retombées sur Terre

L'étude Vection permettra aux chercheurs de mieux comprendre comment les signaux visuels influencent nos perceptions lorsqu'on est en mouvement. Les résultats de l'étude pourraient aussi s'avérer utile dans de nombreux autres secteurs, notamment :

  • la compréhension des troubles affectant le mouvement et la posture, comme la maladie de Parkinson;
  • l'utilisation de la réalité virtuelle pour faciliter le rétablissement des victimes d'AVC et d'atteintes des organes de l'équilibre;
  • la compréhension des effets du vieillissement sur la perception;
  • l'utilisation facilitée de certaines technologies, comme les robots de téléchirurgie.

Déroulement

Les sept participants à l'étude Vection porteront des casques de réalité virtuelle pour vivre des expériences tridimensionnelles. Tout au long des séances, la tête des astronautes sera immobilisée par un collier cervical.

  1. Lors de la première séance, les astronautes devront estimer la taille d'un objet. Les erreurs d'estimation correspondront à des erreurs dans la perception de la distance des objets.
  2. La deuxième séance reproduira un déplacement dans un corridor. Les astronautes devront indiquer à quel moment ils arrivent à l'emplacement d'une cible qui leur a été montrée précédemment. Les sous-estimations et les surestimations indiqueront l'importance de l'illusion de mouvement relatif.
  3. Enfin, dans la troisième séance, une simulation de mouvement par visualisation sera utilisée pour déterminer si les astronautes confondent l'inclinaison et l'accélération en apesanteur.

Les astronautes participeront à ces séances avant, durant et après leur mission. Les scientifiques du groupe responsable de l'étude Vection compareront les résultats pour faire ressortir les effets de l'apesanteur sur leur rendement.

Il est possible que vous ayez déjà vécu une sensation de vection dans le métro en observant un train arriver ou partir. Malgré le fait que vous étiez immobile, vous pourriez avoir eu l'impression que votre train se déplaçait dans le sens inverse de l'autre. Cette illusion de mouvement relatif est appelée « vection ».

Dates

Les expériences de l'étude Vection devraient s'étaler de à .

Une photo étourdissante de la pièce basculante de l'étude Vection

Dans cette série d'images, le chercheur principal de l'étude Vection, le Dr Laurence Harris, « fait un tour » dans la nouvelle pièce basculante (rendue possible grâce au financement de la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation et développée par Dymec Engineering Inc.). Cet équipement aidera l'équipe de recherche à examiner le rôle de la gravité et du mouvement sur le plan de la perception. (Source : Université York.)

Équipe de recherche

Chercheur principal

Cochercheurs

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :