Canadian contribution to the Soil Moisture Active Passive (SMAP) mission

SMAP
SMAP Infographic

The purpose of the SMAP mission is to map soil moisture and its freeze/thaw state from space. The satellite precisely measures conditions in the top 5 cm of soil. This data can be extremely useful, particularly for agriculture. (Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

(Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

Launch: January 31, 2015
Status: Commissioning

What is SMAP?

As an orbiting laboratory, SMAP aims to advance our knowledge of the water and carbon cycles by producing global maps of soil moisture and monitor the freeze thaw status of soils in Canadian boreal environment and other cold areas of the world.

Use of laboratory

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration's (NASA) mission SMAP is covering Canada every day over a three-year period. SMAP's combined radar and radiometer instruments peer into the top 5 cm of soil, through clouds and moderate vegetation cover, day and night, to produce the highest-resolution, most accurate soil moisture and freeze/thaw maps ever obtained from space. NASA plans to release final verified soil moisture data maps by May 2016 and the final verified freeze/thaw maps by July 2016.

Benefits for Canadians

SMAP will help improve climate and weather forecasts, allow scientists to monitor droughts and better predict flooding; information that can save lives, reduce damages to infrastructures and also help protect our environment. In addition, SMAP data will have a huge influence on agriculture management; ranging from crop yields, to providing early warning of conditions that might lead to an explosion of pests; hence providing information that will help Canadian farmers to make informed farm-operation decisions based on changing weather, water and climate conditions.

The funded research contributes to validate soil moisture data obtained from numerous sites across Canada that have been outfitted with soil moisture and temperature probes.

Canada's Involvement

Five Canadian universities have been selected to receive a total of $1.4 million to participate in the scientific validation of NASA's SMAP mission.

These projects serve to validate measurements of the soil moisture and seasonal freeze/thaw cycle, with the use of instruments collecting data on the ground, in the air and in space. This is an important step towards SMAP's objective to provide high fidelity measurements and high resolution global maps of the Earth's soil moisture and freeze/thaw state

As part of a complex but essential validation campaign, the field data of each site are compared with measurements obtained by an aircraft instrument and by the SMAP satellite. This is an immensely complex endeavor since the measurements must be validated in accordance with the very diverse soil types, land cover, topography, weather and other atmospheric conditions that occur over our vast country and which are subject to changes over the seasons.

Scientific Objectives

Under the leadership of Environment Canada and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the selected projects are overall pursuing the following scientific objectives:

  1. Develop Applications programs, Techniques and Methods to evaluate the soil moisture content, and
  2. Develop Applications programs, Techniques and Methods to remotely sense the Frozen/Thaw status of soils

List of Projects

Here is a list of projects selected which received a grant to contribute to Canada's involvement with the SMAP satellite mission.

University Project Description
Université de Sherbrooke, Quebec Passive microwave soil freeze/thaw monitoring Cal/Val for the SMAP mission (Amendment) This project focuses on the validation of measurements of the freeze/thaw cycle in Sherbrooke and Nunavik, Quebec.
University of Guelph, Ontario Improved soil moisture retrieval and freeze/thaw state indicators over several Canadian ecosystems This project focuses on the validation of soil moisture measurements and soil freeze thaw products in the regions of Kenaston (Saskatchewan), Elora (Ontario), Scotty Creek and Trail Valley Creek (N.W.T.). The research will seek to include the SMAP data into weather and agricultural models to improve their performance.
L'Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Quebec Freeze/Thaw cycle monitoring using multi-scale SMAP products and hydrothermal modelling over the Canadian tundra This project focuses on the validation of measurements of the freeze/thaw cycle in the region of Umiujaq, Quebec.
University of Manitoba Validation of Satellite-derived Soil Moisture Products for Operational Use This project focused on the validation of soil moisture measurement in South Eastern Manitoba, specifically probing agricultural fields with a range of soil types and crops.
Université de Sherbrooke, Quebec Validation of Satellite-derived Soil Moisture Products for Operational Use This project focuses on the validation of soil moisture measurements over agricultural fields located in the Quebec region and South Eastern Manitoba.
University of Toronto, Ontario Assimilation of SMAP data in an ecosystem model to improve water and carbon cycle simulations Using soil moisture measurements, this project aims to develop a new and enhanced computer model to improve regional water and carbon flux estimation for the benefits of Environment Canada's Canadian Land Data Assimilation System (CalDAS).

Contribution canadienne à la mission SMAP (Soil Moisture Active Passive)

Lancement : 31 janvier 2015
État : Mise en service

Qu'est-ce que SMAP?

Le laboratoire orbital SMAP (en anglais seulement) vise à approfondir nos connaissances des cycles de l'eau et du carbone grâce à la production de cartes mondiales de l'humidité des sols et à la surveillance de l'état du cycle de gel/dégel saisonnier dans l'environnement boréal canadien et d'autres zones froides du monde.

Infographie de SMAP

La mission SMAP vise à cartographier depuis l'espace l'humidité et l'état de gel/dégel des sols. Le satellite prend des mesures précises de l'état des sols jusqu'à une profondeur de 5 cm et ses données peuvent, notamment, être très utiles pour l'agriculture. (Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)

Utilisation du laboratoire

La mission SMAP de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) couvrira le Canada chaque jour pendant une période de trois ans. Le radar et le radiomètre jumelés du SMAP scrutent les 5 cm supérieurs des sols, à travers les nuages et une couverture végétale modérée, jour et nuit, afin de produire les cartes à haute résolution les plus exactes de l'humidité et du cycle de gel/dégel des sols jamais obtenues depuis l'espace. La NASA publiera les cartes finales créées à partir des données vérifiées de l'humidité des sols d'ici mai 2016 et celles démontrant le cycle de gel/dégel d'ici juillet 2016.

Avantages pour les Canadiens

SMAP aidera à améliorer les prévisions climatiques et météorologiques et il permettra aux scientifiques de surveiller les sécheresses et de mieux prédire les inondations : des renseignements qui peuvent sauver des vies, réduire les dommages aux infrastructures et aider à protéger notre environnement. De plus, les données de SMAP auront une influence considérable sur la gestion de l'agriculture, du rendement des cultures à des avertissements précoces de conditions pouvant mener à une éclosion de parasites, ces renseignements aideront les agriculteurs canadiens à prendre des décisions éclairées fondées sur les conditions changeantes de la météo, de l'eau et du climat.

La recherche financée contribue à valider les données sur l'humidité des sols obtenues dans de nombreux sites à travers le Canada équipés de sondes mesurant l'humidité et la température des sols.

Participation du Canada

Cinq universités canadiennes ont été choisies pour recevoir un total de 1,4 M$ afin de participer à la validation scientifique de la mission SMAP de la NASA.

Ces projets servent à valider les mesures de l'humidité des sols et du cycle de gel/dégel saisonnier à l'aide d'instruments recueillant des données au sol, dans l'air et dans l'espace. Il s'agit d'une étape importante pour l'atteinte de l'objectif de la mission SMAP, qui est de fournir des mesures de grande précision et des cartes mondiales à haute résolution de l'humidité et de l'état du cycle de gel/dégel des sols de la Terre.

Dans le cadre d'une campagne de validation complexe mais essentielle, les données recueillies sur le terrain à chaque site sont comparées aux mesures obtenues à l'aide d'un instrument aéroporté et du satellite SMAP. Il s'agit d'une entreprise immensément complexe, car les mesures doivent être validées en fonction des différents types de sols et de couverture terrestre, de la topographie, des conditions météorologiques et d'autres conditions atmosphériques que l'on retrouve dans notre vaste pays et qui peuvent varier au fil des saisons.

Objectifs scientifiques

De façon globale, les projets choisis, dirigés par Environnement Canada et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, visent à atteindre les objectifs scientifiques suivants :

  1. créer des applications, des techniques et des méthodes permettant d'évaluer le taux d'humidité des sols;
  2. créer des applications, des techniques et des méthodes permettant de détecter à distance l'état du cycle de gel/dégel des sols.

Liste des projets

Voici une liste des projets choisis qui ont reçus une subvention et contribue à la participation du Canada à la mission satellitaire SMAP.

Université Projet Description
Université de Sherbrooke (Québec) Validation/étalonnage de la surveillance passive par hyperfréquences du cycle de gel/dégel des sols pour la mission SMAP (modification) Ce projet porte particulièrement sur la validation des mesures du cycle de gel/dégel à Sherbrooke et au Nunavik (Québec).
Université de Guelph (Ontario) Extraction des paramètres d'humidité du sol et indicateurs de l'état du cycle de gel/dégel améliorés dans plusieurs écosystèmes canadiens Ce projet porte sur la validation des mesures de l'humidité et des produits liés au cycle de gel/dégel des sols dans les régions de Kenaston (Saskatchewan), Elora (Ontario), de Scotty Creek et de Trail Valley Creek (T.N.-O.). La recherche tentera d'inclure les données SMAP dans des modèles météorologiques et agricoles afin d'en améliorer le rendement.
L'Institut national de la recherche scientifique (Québec) Surveillance du cycle de gel/dégel à l'aide de produits SMAP à échelles multiples et modélisation hydrothermale au-dessus de la toundra canadienne Ce projet porte sur la validation des mesures du cycle de gel/dégel dans la région d'Umiujaq (Québec).
Université du Manitoba Validation des produits satellitaires sur l'humidité des sols en vue de leur usage opérationnel Ce projet porte sur la validation des mesures de l'humidité des sols dans le sud-est du Manitoba, avec une attention particulière aux champs agricoles présentant un éventail de types de sols et de cultures.
Université de Sherbrooke (Québec) Validation des produits satellitaires sur l'humidité des sols en vue de leur usage opérationnel Ce projet porte sur la validation des mesures de l'humidité des sols dans des champs agricoles du Québec et du sud-est du Manitoba.
Université de Toronto (Ontario) Assimilation des données SMAP dans un modèle d'écosystème afin d'améliorer les simulations des cycles de l'eau et du carbone À l'aide de mesures de l'humidité des sols, ce projet vise à créer un nouveau modèle informatique amélioré afin de rendre plus précises les estimations du flux du carbone et de l'eau, dont bénéficiera le Système canadien d'assimilation des données au sol (CaLDAS) d'Environnement Canada.

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :