Radi-N Neutron Field Study

Beyond the shelter of the Earth's atmosphere and magnetosphere, highly charged particles are in the midst of a cosmic dance. These particles—atoms stripped of their electrons—are extremely energetic and move at nearly the speed of light.

Liquid droplets are dispersed throughout the clear polymer gel of the bubble detectors. (Courtesy: Bubble Technology Industries)

Collectively known as space radiation, some come from the deepest regions of the universe as galactic cosmic rays, others as solar particles emitted in sun flares, and some as particles trapped in the Earth's magnetic field.

The astronauts of the International Space Station (ISS) travel in low-Earth orbit, thus our planet's atmosphere and magnetosphere provides them some measure of protection. Unfortunately, they still receive much higher doses of radiation than we do on Earth.

Neutron radiation has been shown to make up 10-30% of this exposure. In space, neutrons are produced when primary radiation particles collide with physical matter, such as the ISS, and scatter. Since neutrons do not carry an electric charge, they can penetrate deeply into living tissue. These unstable particles have the potential to damage or mutate DNA—this can cause cataracts, and cancer. With that in mind, it's crucial we learn more about them.

Dosimeter Reader

Radi-N Bubble Detector

The Radi-N Neutron Field Study, a collaboration of the Canadian Space Agency and RSC-Energia, was created to do just that.

Radi-N used bubble detectors produced by a Canadian company, Bubble Technology Industries, as neutron monitors. They were designed to detect only neutrons to the exclusion of all other radiation. Bubble detectors first started being used for space in 1989, and have since become popular because of their accuracy and convenience.

During Expedition 20/21, Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Bob Thirsk placed six of these finger-sized instruments around various modules on the ISS. Each detector was filled with a clear polymer gel. Inside the polymer were liquid droplets. When a neutron made contact with the test tube portion, a droplet was vaporized. This created a visible gas bubble in the polymer. Each bubble, which represents neutron radiation, was counted by an automatic reader.

Bubbles are counted by the BDR-III automatic reader. (Courtesy: Bubble Technology Industries)

Radi-N is a follow-up to the Matroshka-R experiment. Matroshka-R used a "phantom", a spherical dummy to simulate a person's body, and bubble detectors placed in and around it, to record the neutron exposure that tissues and organs receive in low-Earth orbit. The results indicated that the internal organs absorbed more neutron radiation than scientists expected. They hypothesize that cosmic rays were interacting with the phantom itself, creating a secondary source of neutrons.

Radi-N has contributed more data to Matroshka-R's results by monitoring the incidence and energy range of neutron radiation throughout the ISS. More specifically, Radi-N measured the neutron spectrum for the first time and results showed that 40% of the neutron dose was due to high-energy neutrons. Also, measurements from various ISS modules revealed that some areas offered more shielding against neutrons than others. These results will help scientists and researchers make better risk assessments of human exposure to neutron radiation in space.

In 2012-2013, a sequel called Radi-N2 will be performed on board the ISS. It will duplicate its predecessor, but because it will occur during a different solar cycle (solar maximum), it will provide scientists with new insights regarding neutron radiation in low-Earth orbit.

Étude Radi-N des neutrons in situ

Au-delà de l'abri que représentent l'atmosphère et la magnétosphère terrestres, des particules hautement chargées sont au cœur d'un bal cosmique. Ces particules — des atomes dépouillés de leurs électrons — sont extrêmement énergétiques et se déplacent à une vitesse proche de celle de la lumière

Des gouttelettes liquides sont dispersées dans le gel polymère transparent des dosimètres à bulles. (Photo : Bubble Technology Industries)

Collectivement connues sous le nom de rayonnement spatial, certaines de ces particules proviennent des régions les plus éloignées de l'Univers sous forme de rayons cosmiques galactiques, de particules émises lors d'éruptions solaires ou encore de particules piégées dans le champ magnétique de la Terre.

Les astronautes de la Station spatiale internationale (ISS) voyagent en orbite basse, et bénéficient d'une certaine protection assurée par l'atmosphère et la magnétosphère terrestres. Malheureusement, ils demeurent exposés à des doses de rayonnement beaucoup plus fortes que s'ils étaient sur Terre.

Il a été démontré que les neutrons représentent de 10 à 30 % de ce rayonnement. Dans l'espace, les neutrons sont produits lorsque des particules de rayonnement primaire percutent de la matière physique, comme l'ISS, pour se disperser ensuite. Comme les neutrons ne sont pas chargés électriquement, ils sont capables de pénétrer profondément dans les tissus vivants. Ces particules instables sont susceptibles d'endommager l'ADN ou même de le faire muter, ce qui peut entraîner des troubles comme les cataractes ou le cancer. C'est pourquoi il importe d'en savoir plus à leur sujet.

Lecteur de dosimètre

Détecteur à bulles Radi-N

L'étude Radi-N des neutrons in situ, fruit d'une collaboration entre l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et RSC-Energia, a été conçue spécifiquement à cet effet.

L'étude Radi-N a fait appel à des dosimètres à bulles fabriqués par l'entreprise canadienne Bubble Technology Industries. Ces dosimètres ont été conçus pour détecter uniquement les neutrons et faire abstraction de tous les autres types de rayonnement. Les dosimètres à bulles ont été utilisés dans l'espace pour la première fois en 1989. Depuis, leur usage s'est répandu en raison de leur précision et de leur facilité d'utilisation.

Durant la mission Expedition 20/21, l'astronaute de l'ASC Bob Thirsk, a placé six de ces instruments, de la taille d'un doigt, à divers endroits dans l'ISS. Chaque dosimètre était rempli d'un gel polymère transparent qui contenait des gouttes de liquide. Lorsqu'un neutron frappait le tube du dosimètre, une gouttelette se vaporisait, ce qui créait une bulle gazeuse visible dans le polymère. Chaque bulle, correspondant à un rayonnement neutronique, était comptabilisée par un lecteur automatique.

Les bulles sont comptées par le lecteur automatique BDR-III. (Photo : Bubble Technology Industries)

L'étude Radi-N est venue enrichir les résultats obtenus lors de l'expérience Matroshka-R en contrôlant l'incidence et la gamme d'énergie des rayons neutroniques dans toute l'ISS. Plus précisément, Radi-N a permis de mesurer le spectre neutronique pour la première fois et les résultats ont démontré que 40 % de la dose de rayonnement émanait de neutrons à haute énergie. De plus, les relevés provenant des différents modules de l'ISS ont révélé que certaines zones offraient une meilleure protection contre les neutrons que d'autres. Ces résultats permettront aux scientifiques et aux chercheurs de mieux évaluer les risques associés à l'exposition des humains aux radiations émises par les neutrons dans l'espace.

En 2012 et 2013, le deuxième volet, nommé Radi-N2, sera réalisé à bord de l'ISS. L'étude Radi-N2 copiera son prédécesseur, mais puisqu'elle aura lieu pendant un cycle solaire différent (soit un maximum solaire), elle fournira aux scientifiques un nouvel aperçu quant à la radiation neutronique en orbite terrestre basse.