Immuno Profile: Staying healthy in space

Health Science

The Canadian Immuno Profile science project will be the first study to monitor astronauts' immune systems for the entire duration of their missions aboard the International Space Station (ISS). It will explore changes in immune hormones and white blood cells, the first line of defence against pathogens like bacteria and viruses.

Background

Living in space takes a toll on an astronaut's immune system. Many features of the environment, such as microgravity, higher radiation exposure, altered sleep cycles, and increased stress, can impact immunity. Even getting sick with a simple cold affects an astronaut's ability to concentrate on research and maintenance duties. Because of the close quarters aboard the ISS, infection can spread quickly between crewmembers.

Currently, blood samples taken for science experiments are being frozen for return to Earth at a later time. This storage process damages the delicate cells needed to study immunity. Therefore, experiments to date have only studied astronauts' immune systems before and after their flights.

Soon, thanks to the Canadian Bio-Analyzer (awaiting launch to the ISS in 2018), Immuno Profile's scientists will be able to perform real time analysis of blood cells and protein biomarkers on board the ISS. Creating an innovative portrait of immune health during a mission will provide new insight into astronauts' health as we prepare for journeys deeper into space.

Immune function

A white blood cell (left) produces antibodies to mark viruses for attack. Altered number or function of such cells can impair immune function and lead to the development of infections, the reactivation of dormant viruses, and increased potential for allergic reactions.

Objectives

Immuno Profile will:

 Impacts on Earth

Immuno Profile's results will provide insights into stress-related and age-associated immune dysfunction on Earth. As we age, our immune systems typically decline. The study could identify similarities between aging population's immune functions and those of astronauts in space.

The study could also give researchers more information about the mechanisms of virus reactivation. We all carry dormant, controlled viruses within our bodies. But a period of immune deficiency could provide some viruses, like the one that causes chickenpox in children or shingles in adults, with the opportunity to reactivate and cause further infection.

How it works

Up to 15 astronauts could participate in this study.

  1. Researchers will take blood samples from astronauts twice before their missions to examine their baseline immune system function.
  2. Blood samples will be taken on board the ISS at the beginning, middle, and end of their missions. They will be tested on site using the Bio-Analyzer.
  3. When astronauts return to Earth, scientists will collect two more blood samples.
  4. By analyzing all the data, researchers can develop the profile of the human immune system in space.

Not only do white blood cells fight infections, but they also attack cancerous cells within our bodies. They are created by bone marrow, the spongy tissue inside bones. Space-related changes in bone marrow function are being investigated by another Canadian study called MARROW.

Timeline

Immuno Profile's data collection phase will run from to .

Research team

Principal investigator

Co-investigators

Explore further

Date modified:

Immuno Profile : rester en santé dans l'espace

Sciences de la santé

Immuno Profile sera la première expérience scientifique visant à surveiller le système immunitaire des astronautes durant toute la durée de leur mission à bord de la Station spatiale internationale (SSI). Elle permettra d'examiner les changements dans les hormones du système immunitaire et les globules blancs, la première ligne de défense contre les pathogènes comme les bactéries et les virus.

Contexte

Vivre dans l'espace a un effet néfaste sur le système immunitaire des astronautes. Plusieurs caractéristiques de l'environnement spatial, comme la microgravité, l'exposition accrue aux rayonnements, la perturbation des cycles du sommeil et l'augmentation du stress, peuvent compromettre l'immunité. Même un simple rhume affecte les capacités de l'astronaute à se concentrer sur ses expériences scientifiques et sur ses tâches d'entretien. Les infections peuvent se propager rapidement au sein des membres de l'équipage puisqu'ils sont confinés dans l'environnement fermé de la SSI.

À l'heure actuelle, des échantillons de sang pour étudier ce phénomène sont prélevés puis congelés avant d'être retournés sur Terre pour analyse. Ce processus d'entreposage endommage les cellules délicates servant aux études sur l'immunité. Ainsi, les expériences réalisées à ce jour portent sur le système immunitaire des astronautes avant et après leur mission spatiale.

Bientôt, grâce au bioanalyseur canadien (dont le lancement vers la SSI est prévu en ), les chercheurs d'Immuno Profile seront en mesure d'obtenir des analyses des cellules sanguines et des biomarqueurs protéiques en direct de la SSI. Au moment où les agences spatiales planifient des expéditions habitées dans l'espace lointain, il est tout indiqué de mieux comprendre la santé immunitaire des astronautes tout au long de leur mission.

Fonction immunitaire

Un globule blanc (à gauche) fabrique des anticorps qui marquent des virus pour que ceux-ci soient attaqués.Une baisse du nombre de ces cellules ou de leur fonction peut, par exemple, mener à des infections, réactiver des virus latents ou augmenter le risque de réactions allergiques.

Objectifs

L'étude Immuno Profile vise :

 Retombées sur Terre

Les résultats de l'étude Immuno Profile permettront de mieux comprendre l'affaiblissement immunitaire liées au stress et au vieillissement sur Terre. Généralement, le système immunitaire décline avec l'âge. L'expérience pourrait relever des similarités entre les fonctions immunitaires d'une population âgée et celles des astronautes dans l'espace.

L'étude pourrait également éclairer davantage les chercheurs sur les mécanismes de réactivation des virus. Nous avons tous des virus latents, sous contrôle, dans notre organisme. Une période d'affaiblissement immunitaire permet à certains virus, comme ceux causant la varicelle chez les enfants ou le zona chez les adultes, de se réactiver et de causer une nouvelle infection.

Déroulement

Jusqu'à quinze astronautes participeront à cette étude.

  1. Les chercheurs prélèveront à deux reprises des échantillons de sang sur les astronautes avant leur mission pour examiner le fonctionnement normal de leur système immunitaire.
  2. Des échantillons de sang seront ensuite prélevés à bord de la SSI au début, au milieu et à la fin de leur mission. Les échantillons seront analysés sur place avec le bioanalyseur.
  3. À leur retour sur Terre, les astronautes fourniront deux autres échantillons de sang.
  4. En analysant l'ensemble des données, les chercheurs pourront dresser le profil du système immunitaire humain dans l'espace.

Non seulement les globules blancs luttent-ils contre les infections, mais ils s'attaquent aussi aux cellules cancéreuses de l'organisme. Ils sont créés par la moelle osseuse, le tissu spongieux se trouvant à l'intérieur des os. Les changements dans le fonctionnement de la moelle osseuse qui surviennent dans l'espace sont étudiés dans le cadre d'une autre étude canadienne appelée MARROW.

Dates

La phase de collecte des données de l'étude Immuno Profile se déroulera de à .

Équipe de recherche

Chercheur principal

Cochercheurs

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :