H-Reflex flexes its muscles!

The human body is an extraordinary machine, an unending source of wonder. In order to unlock its mysteries, scientists sometimes go out of this world. In 2001 and 2002, Dr. Douglas Watt of McGill University in Montreal studied how the human body adapts to weightlessness through his H-Reflex experiment. H-Rreflex was the first medical experiment completed on the International Space Station.

 Results

The H Reflex experiment revealed that spinal cord excitability – i.e., the spinal cord's ability to transmit brain signals – decreased by about 35% in weightlessness. Exercise may therefore be less effective in space, posing a problem that will need to be studied further for long-duration missions. The results of H-Reflex may be of assistance in designing rehabilitation programs for people who are bedbound for long periods of time.

Losing our balance in microgravity

But how does zero gravity affect an astronaut's body? In the weightless space environment, astronauts simply float rather than walk or sit as we do on Earth, and they stop using their body's structure to support themselves. After a few weeks, their muscles and bones undergo changes that affect strength, posture and balance.

H-Reflex' first experimental subjects, astronauts Susan Helms, James Voss and cosmonaut Yury Ursachev from Expedition 2 have repeated the experiment three times during their 167-day stay onboard the ISS in 2001. (Courtesy of NASA)

Video: (MPG format, 1,9 MB)
H-Reflex' first experimental subjects, astronauts Susan Helms, James Voss and cosmonaut Yury Ursachev from Expedition 2, have repeated the experiment three times during their 167-day stay onboard the ISS in 2001. (Courtesy of NASA)

Dr Watt and other experts believed that one way the human spinal cord adapts to microgravity is by responding less and less to stimulation. To compensate for this, more signals from the brain would be needed to stimulate muscles to exert the same effort as they would on Earth. Had this hypothesis been correct, the longer the astronaut remained in space, the less effective his or her exercise routines would have been. The H-Reflex experiment was designed to test this theory.

The experiment uses the Hoffman Reflex technique, which is similar to the knee tap test in a doctor's office. The H-Reflex experiment replaces the doctor's hammer with an electrical stimulus to the nerve of the muscle and measures muscle activity electronically.

The experiment used the Hoffmann Reflex technique, which is similar to the "knee tap" test in a doctor's office. The H-Reflex experiment replaced the doctor's hammer with an electrical stimulus to the nerve of the muscle and measured muscle activity electronically.

A five-minute experiment

It's very easy to do the H-Reflex experiment: the astronaut assumes a seated position, being held in place by straps so that he or she doesn't move or float away. Slight electroshocks are given to stimulate nerves in the leg. Muscle contractions are recorded to determine the level of sensitivity of the spinal cord which, in turn, transmits the signals sent and received by the H-Reflex equipment. Astronauts test themselves several times in space to see if alterations in stimulation response can be observed and correlated over time.

Astronaut Frank L. Culbertson and Cosmonaut Mikhail Tyurin of Expedition 3 are conducting an H-Reflex test. (Courtesy of NASA)

Video: (RAM format, 1 MB)
Astronaut Frank L. Culbertson and Cosmonaut Mikhail Tyurin of Expedition 3 conduct an H-Reflex test. (Courtesy of NASA)

The last run of the H-Reflex experiment was in April 2002 by the crew of Expedition 4 aboard the International Space Station. The researchers compared the values recorded before, during, and after the space mission.

"The results indicate that the excitability of the spinal cord falls off quite quickly in zero gravity, and remains reduced as long as the astronauts are in space. It then recovers within 10 days of landing," Dr. Watt said.

Recovering our balance

The results of the H-Reflex experiment could enable researchers to adapt the quantity and type of exercises done by mission astronauts in order to counter the loss of muscle and bone mass. Doctors could also identify the best ways for astronauts to recover their posture and balance once they return to Earth. "It could be very useful for astronauts to be able to walk immediately upon their return to Earth, in particular in the event of an emergency landing," Dr. Watt added.

The results of H-Reflex could also make it possible to better understand certain disorders of the inner ear and the spinal cord, and so, open the way for new treatments.

Logo of the H-Reflex experiment

Logo of the H-Reflex experiment

Date modified:

H-Reflex : une expérience qui a du muscle!

Le corps humain est une machine extraordinaire qui ne cesse d'étonner. Afin de pouvoir pénétrer ses mystères, les scientifiques doivent parfois aller hors de ce monde. En 2001 et 2002, le Dr. Douglas Watt, de l'Université McGill (disponible en anglais seulement) à Montréal, a pu étudier l'adaptation du corps humain à l'apesanteur grâce à son expérience H-Reflex (disponible en anglais seulement). C'est la première expérience médicale à avoir été réalisée à bord de la Station spatiale internationale.

 Résultats

L'expérience H-Reflex a révélé que l'excitabilité de la moelle épinière – soit sa capacité à transmettre les signaux du cerveau – était réduite d'environ 35 % en apesanteur. Il se peut que l'exercice physique dans l'espace soit donc moins efficace, ce qui pose un problème qui devra être étudié davantage en vue des missions de longue durée. Les résultats de H-Reflex peuvent aider à concevoir des programme de réhabilitation pour les gens alités durant une longue période.

Perdre l'équilibre en microgravité

Mais en quoi l'absence de gravité affecte-t-elle le corps des astronautes? Dans un environnement spatial sans gravité, les astronautes flottent au lieu de marcher ou de s'asseoir comme nous le faisons sur Terre. Ils arrêtent d'utiliser leur corps comme charpente pour se supporter. Après quelques semaines, leurs muscles et leurs os subissent des changements qui affectent leur force, leur posture et leur équilibre.

Les premiers sujets de H-Reflex, les astronautes Susan Helms, James Voss et le cosmonaute    Iouri Ousachev de l'équipage d'Expedition 2, ont réalisé en 2001 l'expérience à trois reprises au cours de leur séjour de 167 jours à bord de la station spatiale.

Vidéo : NASA (format MPG, 1,9 MB)
Les premiers sujets de H-Reflex, les astronautes Susan Helms, James Voss et le cosmonaute Iouri Ousachev de l'équipage d'Expedition 2, ont réalisé en 2001 l'expérience à trois reprises au cours de leur séjour de 167 jours à bord de la station spatiale.

Pour le Dr Watt et d'autres experts, il est probable que l'une des façons qu'a la moelle épinière de s'adapter à l'apesanteur est de répondre de moins en moins aux stimulations. Pour compenser, un plus grand nombre de signaux devront être envoyés du cerveau aux muscles afin de provoquer le même effort que sur Terre. Si cette hypothèse était exacte, plus un astronaute passe du temps dans l'espace et plus sa routine d'exercice perd de son efficacité. H-Reflex a été conçue pour vérifier cette théorie.

Équipement de H-Reflex. L'expérience utilise la technique du réflexe Hoffman, laquelle est similaire au test du réflexe du genou chez le médecin. H-Reflex remplace le marteau du médecin par un stimulus électrique et mesure électroniquement l'activité musculaire.

Équipement de H-Reflex. L'expérience a utilisé la technique du réflexe Hoffmann, laquelle est similaire au test du réflexe du genou chez le médecin. H-Reflex a remplacé le marteau du médecin par un stimulus électrique et mesure électroniquement l'activité musculaire.

Une expérience qui dure cinq minutes

Le déroulement de H-Reflex est simple : un astronaute prend une position assise, retenu par des courroies afin de ne pas bouger ou de flotter au loin. De petits électrochocs stimulent les nerfs des jambes afin d'enregistrer le niveau de contraction des muscles et, incidemment, le niveau de sensibilité de la moelle épinière (celle-ci transmet les signaux envoyés et reçus par le cerveau). Les astronautes se soumettent à plusieurs tests pour vérifier si les réponses aux stimuli changent et établir une corrélation entre ces changements et le temps passé dans l'espace.

L'astronaute Frank L. Culbertson et le cosmonaute Mikhaïl Tiourine d'Expedition 3 réalisent un test H-Reflex.

Vidéo : NASA (format RAM, 1 MB)
L'astronaute Frank L. Culbertson et le cosmonaute Mikhaïl Tiourine d'Expedition 3 réalisent un test H-Reflex.

La dernière expérience H-Reflex a été réalisée en avril 2002 par l'équipage d'Expedition 4 à bord de la Station spatiale internationale. Les chercheurs ont comparé les mesures enregistrées avant, pendant et après la mission spatiale.

« Les résultats indiquent que l'excitabilité de la moelle épinière baisse assez rapidement en apesanteur, et demeure réduite tant que l'astronaute est dans l'espace. Cependant, il récupère au cours des dix jours qui suivent son retour sur Terre », raconte le Dr Watt.

Retrouver l'équilibre

Les résultats de l'expérience H-Reflex permettront aux chercheurs d'adapter la quantité et le genre d'exercices que font les astronautes en mission afin de contrer la perte de la masse musculaire et osseuse. Les médecins pourront aussi identifier les meilleures façons pour les astronautes de retrouver leur posture et leur équilibre une fois de retour sur terre. « Il peut être très pratique pour un astronaute de pouvoir marcher immédiatement après un retour sur Terre, notamment en cas d'atterrissage d'urgence », ajoute le Dr Watt.

Il est possible que H-Reflex permette de mieux comprendre certains troubles chez des gens qui souffrent notamment de problèmes de l'oreille interne et de la moelle épinière, et ouvrir ainsi la porte à de nouveaux traitements.

Logo of the H-Reflex experiment

Logo de l'expérience H-Reflex

Date de modification :