GEODESIC probes the plasma

Logo of the GEODESIC experiment.

Logo of the GEODESIC experiment.

There are four states of matter: solid, liquid, gas and, of course, plasma. You knew that, right? Plasma, makes up most of the matter in the universe. It occurs when an external energy source, such as electromagnetic radiation, frees electrons and ions from binding together. But not all plasma behave in the same way.

The lines in this image of the ring current around the Earth show the magnetic field as viewed from above the North Pole. (Image: IMAGE/HENA, NASA)

The lines in this image of the ring current around the Earth show the magnetic field as viewed from above the North Pole. (Image: IMAGE/HENA, NASA)

Canada has long been interested in gaining a better understanding of the Earth's plasma environment and of other events in the upper ionosphere. These can interfere with radio communications, global positioning systems, ground electrical systems, and low-Earth satellite orbits.

So, on February 26, 2000, a Canadian Black Brant 12 sounding rocket was launched from the Poker Flat Rocket Range in Alaska. It carried an experiment to study fine plasma structures above the Earth's ionosphere. Above the Earth, at 990 km, is a key region in geospace where plasma is subject about equally to the influence of the ionosphere and magnetosphere. The rocket reached this point and brought back approximately 17 minutes of valuable scientific data.

The GEODESIC experiment was selected in 1997 as part of the CSA's Small Payloads Program. GEODESIC stands for "geo-electrodynamics and electro-optical detection of electron and suprathermal ion currents." On a very small scale, it studied the physics of plasma right in the atmosphere. This knowledge is important because much of the transfer of energy from electromagnetic fields to individual particles, some of which helps to excite the auroras, also occurs on a very small scale.

Cold (blue) plasma escaping Earth's ionosphere at the South Pole. The yellow lines show the field lines of Earth's magnetic field. (Image: NASA)

Cold (blue) plasma escaping Earth's ionosphere at the South Pole. The yellow lines show the field lines of Earth's magnetic field. (Image: NASA)

The GEODESIC experiment had six scientific instruments. The University of Calgary provided a thermal electron imager and a suprathermal ion imager. The Aerospace Corporation of the U.S. provided an energetic electron and an ion top-hat analyzer. NASA Goddard Space Flight Center provided a three-axis electric field double-probe, while a fluxgate and a search-coil magnetometer were supplied by Magnametrics of Ottawa. Winnipeg's Bristol Aerospace Ltd. builds the Black Brandt rockets and the company was the prime industrial contractor for the experiment. The Principal Investigator for GEODESIC was Professor David Knudsen, Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Calgary.

The boom deployment is  being tested.  (Photo: Bristol Aerospace, from the archives of the Institute for Space Research, University of Calgary)

The boom deployment is being tested. (Photo: Bristol Aerospace, from the archives of the Institute for Space Research, University of Calgary)

The Black Brant sounding rocket carrying the GEODESIC experiment is ready for launch.  (Photo: Institute for Space Research, University of Calgary)

The Black Brant sounding rocket carrying the GEODESIC experiment is ready for launch. (Photo: Institute for Space Research, University of Calgary)

Launch of the GEODESIC experiment on the Black Brant 12 rocket. (Photo: Paul Nicklen)

Launch of the GEODESIC experiment on the Black Brant 12 rocket. (Photo: Paul Nicklen)

GEODESIC au coeur du plasma

Logo of the GEODESIC experiment.

Logo de l'expérience GEODESIC

Il existe quatre états de matière : solide, liquide, gaz et plasma. Mais ça, vous le saviez déjà, n'est-ce pas? Le plasma compose la majeure partie de l'Univers. La transformation en plasma se produit lorsqu'une source d'énergie extérieure, comme le rayonnement électromagnétique, libère les électrons et les ions de toute attraction électrique mutuelle. Cependant, tous les plasmas ne se comportent pas de la même façon.

Les lignes dans cette image représentent les anneaux de courant autour de la Terre et illustrent le champ magnétique tel que vu au-dessus du Pôle Nord. (Image : IMAGE/HENA, NASA)

Les lignes dans cette image représentent les anneaux de courant autour de la Terre et illustrent le champ magnétique tel que vu au-dessus du Pôle Nord. (Image : IMAGE/HENA, NASA)

Le Canada travaille depuis longtemps à parfaire ses connaissances sur l'environnement plasmique de la Terre et à améliorer sa compréhension des phénomènes qui se produisent en haute ionosphère. Ces phénomènes peuvent brouiller les communications radio et les signaux des systèmes mondiaux de localisation, perturber les systèmes électriques au sol ou nuire aux satellites évoluant en orbite basse. 

La fusée-sonde canadienne Black Brant 12 a donc été lancée le 26 février 2000 depuis la rampe de lancement de Poker Flat, en Alaska. Elle transportait à son bord une expérience portant sur la structure fine du plasma au-dessus de l'ionosphère terrestre. À une altitude de 990 km se trouve une région géospatiale où le plasma est soumis à l'influence de l'ionosphère et de la magnétosphère dans des proportions quasi égales. La fusée a atteint ce point et est revenue avec environ 17 minutes de données scientifiques d'une valeur inestimable.

Retenue en 1997 dans le cadre du Programme des petites charges utiles de l'ASC, la mission GEODESIC (Géo-électrodynamique et détection électro-optique des courants d'électrons et d'ions suprathermiques) proposait d'étudier sur place la physique du plasma à très petites échelles. Ces connaissances sont d'une grande importance puisque la majorité des transferts d'énergie du champ électromagnétique vers les particules individuelles, dont certaines contribuent à la formation des aurores, se produisent à très petite échelle.

Plasma froid (bleu) qui s'échappe de l'ionosphère terrestre à partir du pôle Sud. Les lignes jaunes indiques les limites du champ magnétique de la Terre. (Image : NASA)

Plasma froid (bleu) qui s'échappe de l'ionosphère terrestre à partir du pôle Sud. Les lignes jaunes indiques les limites du champ magnétique de la Terre. (Image : NASA)

La mission GEODESIC comptait six instruments scientifiques : un imageur d'électrons thermiques et un imageur d'ions suprathermiques fournis par l'Université de Calgary; un analyseur d'ions quadrisphérique fourni par l'Aerospace Corporation (É.-U.); une double sonde triaxiale à champ électrique fournie par le Goddard Space Flight Center de la NASA; une bobine exploratrice et un magnétomètre électronique à sursaturation fournis par Magnametrics d'Ottawa, en Ontario. Bristol Aerospace Ltd, de Winnipeg, l'entrepreneur industriel principal chargé de ce projet, construit les fusées Black Brant. Le chercheur principal du projet GEODESIC était le professeur David Knudsen du département de physique et d'astronomie de l'Université de Calgary.

Le déploiement de l'antenne est mis à l'essai. (Photo : Bristol Aerospace, archives de l'Institute for Space Research, Université de Calgary)

Le déploiement de l'antenne est mis à l'essai. (Photo : Bristol Aerospace, archives de l'Institute for Space Research, Université de Calgary)

La fusée-sonde Black Brant, qui transporte l'expérience GEODESIC, est prête au lancement. (Photo : Institute for Space Research, Université de Calgary)

La fusée-sonde Black Brant, qui transporte l'expérience GEODESIC, est prête au lancement. (Photo : Institute for Space Research, Université de Calgary)

Lancement de l'expérience GEODESIC à bord de la fusée Black Brant XII. (Photo : Paul Nicklen)

Lancement de l'expérience GEODESIC à bord de la fusée Black Brant XII. (Photo : Paul Nicklen)