High Energy Astrophysics

Executive summary

Group Chair: Victoria Kaspi, McGill University

High Energy Astrophysics (HEA), broadly meaning X-ray and gamma-ray astronomy, encompasses an extremely broad range of astrophysical science, with sources that include stars, black holes, neutron stars, white dwarfs, supernova remnants, the interstellar medium, galaxies, active galactic nuclei, galaxy clusters, gamma-ray bursters, all emitting via fundamental but extreme physical processes, including extremes of gravity, density, temperature and magnetic field. Many HEA phenomena are inaccessible at any other waveband.

In this report, we consider Canadian priorities for HEA, specifically focussing on astrophysics accessible primarily through X-ray and gamma-ray observations. Importantly, most observations in the X-ray regime and in most of gamme-ray regime can be done only from space; it is this space-based arena on which we focus here. We also briefly discuss some relevant particle-astrophysics (see §7).

This report is timely given that HEA is currently the fastest growing subfield of astronomy in Canada. Over one dozen astrophysics faculty hirings have been made in the past 10 years in HEA and related fields, including five Canada Research Chairs. Considering the cadre of postdoctoral, graduate and undergraduate student researchers these faculty employ, the HEA community in Canada now includes nearly 90 people. Thus the community is young, active and growing. While the last Long-Range Plan (LRP; 2000) for astrophysics in Canada made no mention of X-rays or gamma-rays, the Mid-term Review of the LRP (2005) specifically noted the growth of Canadian HEA, identifying its potential "to lead the way to a new area of exciting space astronomy in Canada."

We believe that significant Canadian involvement in one or more forefront HEA missions is essential for nurturing and retaining the vibrant expertise and talent of the Canadian HEA community. We therefore recommend that the CSA pursue involvement, both technical and scientific, in one or more of the following planned or envisioned international HEA missions (which are described in more detail in Appendix A):

  • Short-term (present-2014) Ordered Priorities:
    • Involvement in a focussing hard X-ray (E > 10 keV) mission with excellent angular resolution (< 1') and spectral resolution, and ideally good (∼100 µs) timing resolution. One particularly attractive opportunity is the upcoming JAXA/NASA Astro-H (formerly NEXT; PI T. Takahashi, JAXA) mission, with planned launch 2013. This has the advantage of also carrying a soft X-ray microcalorimeter, having modest sensitivity and excellent spatial resolution. An alternative for a focussing hard X-ray instrument is the ESA Simbol-X mission, with planned launch 2014.
    • Involvement in a broad-band, modest sensitivity X-ray polarimeter operating anywhere in the 0.1-100 keV band. Focussing ability is a plus that would allow extragalactic work. Good (100 µs - 1 ms) time resolution is also important. We note the Phase A development of the GEMS X-ray polarimetric mission as part of the 2008 NASA Small Explorer competition (PI J. Swank, NASA/GSFC).
  • Long-term (2014-2020) Ordered Priorities:
    • Involvement in a soft-band (0.1-10 keV) mission having excellent sensitivity (effective area > 10× XMM-Newton) and excellent (R > 1000) spectral resolution with good (< 5'') angular resolution and good (100 µs - 1 ms) time resolution, such as IXO, a joint ESA/NASA/JAXA mission (formerly ESA's XEUS and NASA's Constellation-X). Project scientists on this mission are A. Parmar (ESA), N.White (NASA), and H. Kunieda (JAXA).
    • Involvement in a mission with excellent sensitivity (effective area > 10× XMM) and excellent timing resolution (< 10 µs), with modest angular resolution and spectral resolution, in the soft/hard (2-100 keV) band. Possible implementions are the envisioned wide field-of-view all-sky survey EXIST mission (PI J. Grindlay, Harvard), or the proposed AXTARmission (PI D. Chakrabarty, MIT).

Table 1: Document Terminology for X-ray Mission Attributes

  Modest Good Excellent

(Sensitivity (effective area Note 1 of the table entitled 'Document Terminology for X-ray Mission Attributes'.* )
< XMM 2-3 × XMM > 10 × XMM
Spectral Resolution (R ≡ ΔE/E) < 50 50-1000 > 1000
Timing Resolution (Δt) > 10 ms 100 µs-10 ms < 10 µs
Angular Resolution/soft (Δ Θ, FWHM) > 20'' 2''-20'' < 2''
Angular Resolution/hard (Δ Θ, FWHM) > 20' 2'-20' < 2'

* The effective area of XMM's PN instrument at 1 keV is ∼2600 cm2.

High Energy Astrophysics

Résumé

Président : Victoria Kaspi, Université Mc Gill

L'astrophysique des hautes énergies (AHE), qui englobe en gros l'astronomie des rayons X et des rayons γ, couvre un champ extrêmement large de sources astrophysiques qui comprennent les étoiles, les trous noirs, les étoiles à neutrons, les naines blanches, les restes de supernovae, le milieu interstellaire, les galaxies, les noyaux galactiques actifs, les amas de galaxies, les sources de sursauts gamma, tous émettant un rayonnement très énergétique par des processus physiques extrêmes, qu'il s'agisse de champs gravitationnels ou magnétiques extrêmes ou encore de densités ou de températures tout aussi extrêmes. Bon nombre des phénomènes en AHE ne peuvent pas être étudiés dans les autres plages du spectre.

Dans ce rapport, nous décrivons les priorités canadiennes en AHE, notamment l'astrophysique accessible principalement au moyen de rayons X et rayons γ. Il importe de souligner que la plupart des observations dans les plages des rayons X et des rayons γ ne peuvent être faites qu'à partir de l'espace, et notre rapport traite donc de cette observation spatiale. Nous traitons aussi brièvement de quelques aspects pertinents en astrophysique des particules (voir le point 7).

Ce rapport arrive à point nommé, car l'AHE est le sous-domaine qui connaît actuellement la croissance la plus rapide en astronomie au Canada. Plus d'une douzaine de professeurs ont été recrutés au cours des dix dernières années en astrophysique des hautes énergies et dans des domaines connexes, dont cinq Chaires de recherche du Canada. Si on inclut les stagiaires postdoctoraux, les étudiants diplômés et les étudiants de premier cycle qui sont employés par ces professeurs, l'AHE au Canada comprend maintenant près de 90 personnes. C'est une communauté jeune, active et en pleine croissance. Alors que le dernier Plan à long terme pour l'astronomie au Canada (PLT, 2000) ne fait aucune mention des rayons X ou des rayons γ, le rapport de l'examen de mi-parcours (2005) mentionnait expressément la croissance de l'AHE au Canada, et indiquait qu'elle était en mesure « d'ouvrir la voie d'un nouveau domaine passionnant de l'astronomie spatiale au Canada ».

Nous pensons qu'une participation importante du Canada dans une ou plusieurs missions d'avant-garde en AHE est essentielle au développement et au maintien du dynamisme, du talent et de l'expertise des chercheurs canadiens dans ce domaine. Nous recommandons donc que l'ASC poursuive sa participation à la fois technique et scientifique à une ou plusieurs des missions internationales suivantes prévues ou envisagées en AHE (ces missions sont décrites plus en détail à l'annexe A) :

  • Priorités classées à court terme (d'ici 2014) :
    • Participation à une mission d'étude des rayons X durs avec système de focalisation (E > 10 keV), une excellente résolution angulaire (< 1') et spectrale, et idéalement une bonne résolution temporelle (∼ 100 µs). Une possibilité particulièrement intéressante serait la prochaine mission conjointe Astro-H de la JAXA/NASA (anciennement NEXT; chercheur principal : T. Takahashi, JAXA), dont le lancement est prévu pour 2013. Elle offrirait aussi l'avantage de transporter un microcalorimètre à rayons X mous ayant une sensibilité modeste et une résolution spatiale excellente. Une autre solution serait l'instrument à focalisation de rayons X durs qui sera emporté par la mission Simbol-X de l'ESA, dont le lancement est prévu en 2014.
    • Participation à un projet de polarimètre de rayons X à large bande, de sensibilité modeste, pouvant fonctionner dans la plage de 0,1 à 100 keV. La capacité de focalisation est un atout qui permettrait des recherches extragalactiques. Une bonne résolution temporelle (100 µs - 1 ms) est également importante. Il y a lieu de souligner la phase A du développement de la mission polarimétrique GEMS-X proposée dans le cadre du concours « Small Explorer » de la NASA en 2008 (chercheur principal : J. Swank, NASA/GSFC).
  • Priorités classées à long terme (2014 - 2020) :
    • Participation à une mission dans la bande des rayons X mous (0,1 - 10 keV) ayant une excellente sensibilité (surface efficace > 10 × XMM-Newton), une excellente résolution spectrale (R > 1 000), une bonne résolution angulaire (< 5'') et une bonne résolution temporelle (100 µs - 1 ms), comme IXO, une mission conjointe ASE/NASA/JAXA (anciennement les missions XEUS de l'ASE et Constellation-X de la NASA). Les scientifiques de projet pour cette mission sont A. Parmar (ASE), N. White (NASA) et H. Kunieda (JAXA).
    • Participation à une mission offrant une excellente sensibilité (surface efficace > 10 × XMM), une excellente résolution temporelle (< 10 µs) et une modeste résolution angulaire et spectrale, dans les plages des rayons X mous à durs (2 à 100 keV). Comme applications possibles, on envisage la mission EXIST de relevé de tout le ciel à grand champ (chercheur principal : J. Grindlay, Harvard), ou la mission AXTAR proposée (chercheur principal : D. Chakrabarty, MIT).

Tableau 1 : Terminologie utilisée dans le document pour les missions d'étude des rayons X

  Modeste Bonne Excellente
Sensibilité (surface efficace Note 1 de la table intitulé 'Terminologie utilisée dans le document pour les missions d'étude des rayons X'.* ) < XMM 2-3 × XMM > 10 × XMM
Résolution spectrale (R ≡ ΔE/E) < 50 50-1000 > 1000
Résolution temporelle (Δt) > 10 ms 100 µs-10 ms < 10 µs
Résolution angulaire – X mous (Δ Θ, FWHM) > 20'' 2''-20'' < 2''
Résolution angulaire – X durs (Δ Θ, FWHM) > 20' 2'-20' < 2'

* The effective area of XMM's PN instrument at 1 keV is ∼2600 cm2.