Growing lettuce for Mars, Arctic style

by Dr. Alain Berinstain, Director, Space Astronomy and Planetary Exploration, CSA

Photo of Mr. Berinstain in front of the greenhouse

Alain Berinstain (Credit: CSA)

Photo of the Arthur-Clarke Greenhouse

The Arthur-Clarke Greenhouse (Credit: CSA)

2005 Expedition

Dr. Alain Berinstain is Director of Planetary Exploration and Space Astronomy Program and has been with the CSA since 1997. He has a degree in Chemistry from Concordia University, a Master of Space Studies from the International Space University in Strasbourg, France, and a Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Ottawa.

A report on the Devon Island Field Season, July 8 to 28, 2005

The 2005 field season on Devon Island has been the smoothest since the start of the Arthur Clarke Mars Greenhouse project in 2002. This year, the level of CSA activities in the Arctic warranted the chartering of an aircraft to carry staff and equipment to Resolute Bay. All our people and cargo made it to Resolute with no incident. A great start!

A work in progress

In December 2004, CSA headquarters in Saint-Hubert had lost remote communications with the greenhouse. As suspected, two DC converters feeding 12-volt power lines had malfunctioned, causing the communications system and the main data-acquisition computer to fail. Very few electronic components are designed to operate under such harsh conditions. This is why a Mars analog environment in the high Arctic is so useful to test equipment and processes.

Our goal this year is to increase reliability so the system functions one full year without failure. We increased the power storage capacity by a factor of three because last year's telemetry data showed we were not storing all the solar and wind energy generated at the station.

Photo of Resolute Bay

This picture of Resolute Bay taken with an orange filter enhances similarities to the Martian landscape. (Credit: CSA)

Photo of solar panels

The solar panels for the greenhouse. (Credit: CSA)

To free some space in the greenhouse, the batteries have been moved outside to a protective enclosure. We also created redundancy with a relay box that switches to a secondary power line in case of failure. This might have prevented last winter's unexpected shutdown.

In the past, we have grown only lettuce as a test crop. We diversified this year, adding radish, a much faster growing vegetable, as well as zucchini, which has larger leaves that are more readily seen through the cameras.

Photo of radish trays

Typical plant trays—in this case, for growing radishes. (Credit: CSA)

Photo of trays

Trays used to grow diverse plants. (Credit: CSA)

Photo of the Canadian exploration team

The Canadian exploration team. From left to right, standing: Tom Graham (University of Guelph), Richard Léveillé (CSA), Marc Boucher (Mars Institute), Gordon Osinski (CSA), Richard Giroux (CSA). On the ground: Stephen Braham (Simon Fraser University), John Ferris, Alain Berinstain (CSA), Jean-Marc Comtois (CSA), Matt Bamsey (CSA). (Credit: CSA)

This year's greenhouse team included Richard Giroux, a Visiting Fellow at the CSA, Matthew Bamsey and Raymond Yep, CSA summer interns, Thomas Graham of the University of Guelph, Marc Boucher of SpaceRef Interactive, Pascal Lee of the Mars Institute, and Stephen Braham of Simon Fraser University.

The Arthur Clarke Mars Greenhouse was donated by SpaceRef Interactive to the Haughton-Mars Project in 2002. The experiment aims to develop a robust, autonomous greenhouse for growing plants as potential food crops as though it were part of a base on Mars.

The Haughton-Mars Project Arthur Clarke Mars Greenhouse was donated by SpaceRef Interactive, Inc. and established at the project's Base Camp (now Haughton-Mars Project Research Station) with initial sponsorship support from NASA. The greenhouse facility is currently managed and operated by the Mars Institute, in partnership with the SETI Institute and Simon Fraser University. Dr. Alain Berinstain of the CSA and the University of Guelph is the current Principal Investigator in the Arthur Clarke Mars Greenhouse. The ongoing investigation is supported by the CSA, the University of Guelph, Simon Fraser University, and the SETI Institute.

Cultiver de la laitue pour Mars dans l'Arctique

Par Alain Berinstain, directeur, Astronomie spatiale et exploration planétaire, ASC

Photo de M. Berinstain devant la serre martienne

La serre martienne Arthur-Clarke (Source : ASC)

Photo de la serre martienne Arthur-Clarke

La serre martienne Arthur-Clarke (Source : ASC)

Expédition 2005

Alain Berinstain est le directeur du Programme d'exploration planétaire et d'astronomie spatiale. Il travaille pour le compte de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) depuis 1997. M. Berinstain détient un baccalauréat en chimie de l'Université Concordia, une maîtrise en études spatiales de l'Université spatiale internationale à Strasbourg, en France, et un doctorat en chimie de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Rapport sur la campagne d'été à l'île Devon, du 8 au 28 juillet 2005

La campagne de l'été 2005 à l'île Devon est celle qui s'est le mieux déroulée depuis le début du projet de la serre martienne Arthur-Clarke en 2002. Cette année, les activités de l'ASC dans l'Arctique étaient suffisamment nombreuses pour justifier la mobilisation d'un avion cargo pour le transport de l'équipement et du personnel vers Resolute Bay. Tous sont arrivés à bon port et la campagne a débuté sur une note extrêmement positive!

S'améliorer d'année en année

En décembre 2004, le siège social de l'ASC à Longueuil a perdu la communication à distance avec la serre. Tel qu'on le soupçonnait, deux convertisseurs de courant continu de 12 volts avaient mal fonctionné et causé une panne d'alimentation du système de communications et de l'ordinateur principal d'acquisition de données. Très peu de composants électroniques sont conçus pour fonctionner dans des conditions aussi difficiles, et c'est pourquoi cet environnement semblable à celui de Mars est si utile pour mettre à l'essai les équipements et les procédures.

L'objectif cette année est de rehausser la fiabilité du système pour qu'il résiste toute une année sans subir de panne. On a triplé la capacité de stockage d'énergie, car les données de télémétrie de l'automne dernier indiquaient que l'énergie éolienne et solaire produite à la station n'était pas toute accumulée.

Photo de Resolute Bay

Sur cette photo prise à l'aide d'un filtre orange, on remarque encore plus la similitude entre le paysage de Mars et celui de Resolute Bay. (Source : ASC)

Photo de panneaux solaires

Les panneaux solaires qui alimentent la serre. (Source : ASC)

Afin de gagner de l'espace dans la serre, les piles ont été placées dans un enclos protégé à l'extérieur de la serre. En cas de panne, un boîtier à relais assure le passage à une ligne d'alimentation secondaire. Cette mesure aurait peut-être évité les pannes de courant de l'hiver passé.

Les années passées, la laitue était la seule culture d'essai. Mais on expérimente aussi cette année des radis, pour leur croissance rapide, ainsi que des courgettes, dont les grandes feuilles sont plus faciles à observer par le biais des caméras de la serre.

Photo de contenants de radis

Contenants types pour la culture, dans ce cas-ci, de radis. (Source : ASC)

Photo de contenants

Contenants pour la culture des pousses (Source : ASC)

Photo de l'équipe des explorateurs canadiens

L'équipe des explorateurs canadiens. Derrière : Tom Graham (Université de Guelph), Richard Léveillé (ASC), Marc Boucher (Mars Institute), Gordon Osinski (ASC), Richard Giroux (ASC). Devant : Stephen Braham (Université Simon Fraser), John Ferris, Alain Berinstain (ASC), Jean-Marc Comtois (ASC), Matt Bamsey (ASC). (Source : ASC)

Cette année, on comptait parmi les participants au projet de la serre martienne Richard Giroux, chercheur invité à l'ASC, Matthew Bamsey et Raymond Yep, stagiaires d'été à l'ASC, Thomas Graham de l'Université de Guelph, Marc Boucher de SpaceRef Interactive, Pascal Lee du Mars Institute et Stephen Braham de l'Université Simon Fraser.

La serre martienne Arthur-Clarke a été offerte au projet Haughton-Mars en 2002 par SpaceRef Interactive. Ce projet vise à développer une serre robuste et autonome pour la culture de végétaux qui pourraient servir d'aliments aux éventuels occupants d'une base martienne.

La serre martienne Arthur Clarke a été offerte gratuitement au projet Haughton-Mars (HMP) (anglais seulement) par la société SpaceRef Interactive Inc. et installée au camp de base du HMP (maintenant baptisé Station de recherche HMP) avec l'appui financier initial de la NASA. Elle est aujourd'hui gérée et exploitée par le Mars Institute, de concert avec le SETI Institute et l'Université Simon Fraser. M. Alain Berinstain, de l'ASC et de l'Université de Guelph, est le chercheur principal pour ce projet. Les expériences en cours dans cette installation sont appuyées par l'ASC, l'Université de Guelph, l'Université Simon Fraser et le SETI Institute.