Canadian Geospace Monitoring

When most people hear the words "weather forecast", they expect to hear something about clouds, rain, snow or winds.

But now, Canadian scientists are working to provide another kind of forecast—a space weather forecast that will predict turbulent events in the highest reaches of the Earth's atmosphere where it meets a flood of electromagnetic radiation and electrically charged particles.

The solar radiation and particles interact in complex ways with both the upper atmosphere and the Earth's magnetic field, causing a range of effects including the auroras and space storms that can damage satellites and spacecraft, disrupt communications around the world and overload power networks on the ground.

Events like these make this vast and often tumultuous area of geospace of great economic as well as scientific importance.

"There are billions dollars of space assets in that region of space," said John Manuel, a program scientist with the Canadian Space Agency (CSA), one of the agencies funding the effort to improve forecasting of space weather. "When the weather there is rough, those assets can be damaged and sometimes destroyed."

In 1989, a space storm knocked out Hydro Quebec's electrical grid, causing a nine-hour blackout and multi-million-dollar losses. In 1994, two Canadian communications satellites, Anik E-1 and E-2, were disabled by space storms at a cost of hundreds of millions of dollars. Many other satellites have malfunctioned, interrupting media services and cell phone and Global positioning system (GPS) navigation systems.

Manuel noted that high-flying aircraft, especially those that follow polar routes, are also affected by space weather and the higher levels of radiation it can create.

"There are an increasing number of flights across the North Pole and those regions are less protected from disturbances in space," said Manuel.

The CSA is working with Natural Resources Canada to improve the prediction of space weather events.

"Just as we have a meteorology service that monitors the weather and climate to make forecasts so that people can prepare themselves for whatever's coming, we have the beginnings of a space weather forecast service on the way."

Natural Resources Canada has set up Space Weather Canada as a regional warning centre of the International Space Environment Service.

The ability to predict space weather events depends on the travel time between the sun and Earth. Solar radiation reaches Earth in just a few minutes, and some charged particles also arrive quickly, but others can take several days. A coronal mass ejection, for example, is "slower moving," said Manuel.

"These are blasts of billions of tonnes of ionized gas ejected by the sun during active periods. If the Earth is in the way of one of those, it can cause massive disturbances in the magnetic field. They take a few days to arrive, so if we know they're coming, space weather forecasters can issue warnings to airlines, satellite operators and hydroelectric operators so they can prepare themselves."

There are things these industries can do to reduce their vulnerability. Airlines can divert or cancel flights and power companies can make adjustments to their electricity grids. Satellite operators can put their spacecraft into low-power safe modes and shut down critical or vulnerable components.

Manuel said Canada is in a unique position to study space weather because it is the country with the largest landmass beneath the auroras and geomagnetic disturbances in the ionosphere, the region at the top of the atmosphere containing electrically charged particles where the auroras are located.

"By virtue of its location, Canada has a front-row seat. The auroras are shifted further south over Canada than any other country and this makes it easy for us to put arrays of instruments underneath them."

For many years, Canada has used this geographic advantage to study solar-terrestrial interactions in the ionosphere and has become a world leader in this field. Now it is enhancing this infrastructure with new instruments deployed in new ways, creating an even more extensive system for monitoring and studying geospace. This system, called Canadian Geospace Monitoring (CGSM), is operated by Canadian universities and government laboratories, each contributing their expertise to the system. The result is in many ways more than the sum of these individual contributions and includes state-of-the art instruments and facilities:

  • All-Sky Imagers: The University of Calgary operates 13 digital cameras that image the aurora across much of northern Canada at different wavelengths (colours) of light. These colours are the result of charged particles from space colliding with atoms in the upper atmosphere, so observing them provides important information about the regions of space where they come from and the physical processes that cause the aurora.
  • Meridian-Scanning Photometers: The University of Calgary operates four of these instruments to observe very dim aurora that cannot be captured by the imagers. These measurements provide unparalleled information about dynamic processes that cause space storms and affect the upper atmosphere in dramatic ways. Together, the imagers and photometers provide a wealth of data for auroral scientists, and are increasingly used to understand space weather and its effects on our atmosphere.
  • Riometers: The University of Calgary and Natural Resources Canada operate more than 30 of these radio instruments that observe the radio emissions of the cosmic background radiation. Disturbances in the ionosphere caused by high-energy particles from space disrupt these radio emissions. Canadian researchers have become world leaders at using the riometer data to understand how particles from space affect geospace and our atmosphere.
  • Ionosondes: The University of New Brunswick operates six of these instruments that send out bursts of radio energy high into the atmosphere. These operate like small radars, and the echoes returned provide a wealth of information about important properties of our upper atmosphere. Canadian ionosondes provide one of the world's only ways of tracking space weather effects on the electrical properties of the upper atmosphere.
  • GPS Receivers: The University of New Brunswick operates nine of these instruments that observe GPS signals transmitted by navigation satellites. Disturbances in the upper atmosphere disrupt the signals and reveal the locations of ionized plumes that interfere with radio communication and navigation.
  • High Frequency (HF) Radars: The University of Saskatchewan operates four of these radars. They send out bursts of radio energy and measure the reflections from moving disturbances in the ionosphere. Unlike the ionosondes, which usually look straight up, the HF radar signals go out at a more horizontal or oblique angle. These radars can be used to detect horizontal movements of electrically charged gases in the ionosphere, caused by heating from the aurora, and are used to create maps of ionospheric winds over much of Canada.
  • Flux Gate Magnetometers: The University of Alberta and Natural Resources Canada operate more than 30 of these instruments that measure the strength of the Earth's magnetic field in their vicinity with great precision. Magnetic fields and electrical currents are inextricably linked. The ionosphere is awash in electrical currents caused by solar-terrestrial interactions and these currents affect the Earth's magnetosphere; measuring magnetic field strength on Earth can reveal important information about the state of the electrical currents high in the ionosphere.
  • Induction Coil Magnetometers: The University of Alberta operates seven of these instruments which detect very fast variations in the Earth's magnetic field and complement the flux gate magnetometers. These magnetic waves are used to study physical processes associated with the aurora, solar wind, and space storms.
  • Solar Radio Flux Monitor: The National Research Council operates this radio antenna to monitor the Sun's activity and has done so every day for more than 60 years. Variations in the intensity of this radiation are correlated with the number of sunspots on the sun. Sunspots are relatively dark areas on the sun associated with intense magnetic activity. This project has created an unparalleled record of solar variability which is important for space weather, studies of climate change, and for tracking the origin at the sun of the disturbances that the CGSM system was created to study.
  • Computer Simulations: The Universities of Alberta and Waterloo both run computer modeling and simulation projects that are designed to explore how geospace works and how the sun affects our near-Earth space environment. These projects use the data from the CGSM instruments and sophisticated computer models to test ideas about physical the processes that govern near-Earth space. A long-term goal of the CGSM program is to deepen understanding of geospace to the point of being able to make detailed and accurate space weather forecasts.

"Our understanding of how geospace works is still rudimentary, not much better than our understanding of weather on Earth a century ago," said Manuel. He noted that accurate weather forecasting became possible only when satellites could look down on the Earth and see entire weather systems. "The CGSM system is poised to do the same for space weather by making it possible to remote-sense space far above Canada in the same way that weather satellites currently remote-sense our atmosphere."

Programme canadien de surveillance géospatiale

Quand les gens entendent les mots « prévisions météorologiques », ils pensent aux nuages, à la pluie, à la neige ou au vent.

La population du Canada a maintenant accès à un autre type de prévisions. En effet, les scientifiques canadiens sont à préparer des prévisions météorologiques spatiales qui permettront de prévoir les turbulences en haute atmosphère terrestre, où se rencontrent un flux de rayonnement électromagnétique et des particules ionisées.

Le rayonnement solaire et les particules interagissent de manière complexe tant au niveau de l'exosphère que du champ magnétique terrestre, ce qui produit une gamme de phénomènes, notamment les aurores et les tempêtes spatiales, qui peuvent endommager les satellites et les astronefs, perturber les communications à l'échelle de la planète et surcharger les réseaux d'énergie électrique.

Les événements comme ceux-ci confèrent à cet immense, et souvent tumultueux secteur de la science géospatiale une grande importance économique et scientifique.

« Il y a des milliards de dollars dans cette région de l'espace», indique John Manuel, un scientifique de programme à l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC), qui finance des recherches en vue d'améliorer les prévisions météorologiques spatiales. « De mauvaises conditions météorologiques spatiales peuvent endommager et parfois détruire ces ressources. »

En 1989, c'est une tempête spatiale qui a causé la panne du réseau électrique d'Hydro Québec, plongeant la population dans le noir pendant neuf heures avec un impact économique de plusieurs millions de dollars. En 1994, deux satellites de télécommunications canadiens Anik E 1 et E 2, ont été désactivés à la suite de tempêtes spatiales avec des conséquences qui se chiffrent en centaines de millions de dollars. Plusieurs autres satellites ont subi des défaillances qui ont entrainé des interruptions de services des médias, de cellulaires et de systèmes de navigation GPS.

M. Manuel mentionne aussi que les aéronefs qui se déplacent en haute altitude le long des routes polaires, sont également affectés par la météo spatiale et les niveaux élevés de rayonnement.

« De plus en plus de vols traversent ces régions polaires qui sont moins protégées des perturbations qui se produisent dans l'espace », a indiqué M. Manuel.

L'ASC collabore avec Ressources naturelles Canada afin d'améliorer la prévision des conditions météorologiques spatiales.

« Tout comme nous disposons d'un service météorologique qui nous informe sur la température et le climat , nous sommes à mettre sur pied un service de prévisions météorologiques spatiales. »

Ressources naturelles Canada a créé le site Météo Spatiale Canada en tant que centre régional d'avertissement de l'International Space Environment Service.

La capacité de prévoir les conditions météorologiques spatiales dépend de la vitesse de propagation des particules entre le Soleil et la Terre. Le rayonnement solaire et certaines particules chargées atteignent la Terre en quelques minutes seulement alors que d'autres particules peuvent prendre plusieurs jours à se rendre. Les éjections de matière coronale, par exemple, se déplacent plus lentement, selon M. Manuel.

« Ce sont des explosions qui se produisent à la surface du Soleil durant les périodes actives et qui propulsent dans l'espace des milliards de tonnes de gaz ionisés. Si la Terre se trouve sur la trajectoire de l'une de ces éjections, cela peut causer des perturbations majeures du champ magnétique. Puisque ces masses de matière ionisée peuvent prendre quelques jours à arriver à la Terre, les prévisionnistes de météo spatiale ont le temps d'émettre des avertissements à l'industrie du transport aérien, aux opérateurs de satellites et de réseaux hydroélectriques qui prendront les mesures appropriées. »

Les compagnies de transport aérien peuvent modifier ou annuler les vols transpolaires, et les entreprises d'électricité faire des ajustements à leur réseau de distribution. Les opérateurs de satellites peuvent mettre les systèmes en mode de veille et mettre hors tension les circuits importants ou vulnérables.

M. Manuel a indiqué que le Canada était l'endroit tout indiqué pour faire l'étude de la météo spatiale puisque c'est le pays qui comporte la plus grande surface continentale à se trouver sous les aurores boréales et les perturbations géomagnétiques de l'ionosphère, une partie de la haute atmosphère qui se caractérisée par la présence de particules chargées et où se produisent les aurores.

« Grâce à sa situation géographique exceptionnelle, le Canada se trouve aux premières loges. C'est au Canada que l'on peut le plus facilement suivre le déplacement des aurores boréales ce qui nous permet d'installer nos réseaux d'instruments juste en dessous. »

Depuis plusieurs années, le Canada utilise cet avantage géographique pour étudier l'impact su l'ionosphère que produisent les interactions entre le Soleil et la Terre. Le Canada est devenu un chef de file mondial dans ce domaine. Actuellement, nous équipons cette infrastructure avec de nouveaux instruments pour créer un réseau encore plus étendu servant à observer l'environnement géospatial. Le Programme canadien de surveillance géospatiale (PCSG) est opéré par des universités et des laboratoires gouvernementaux canadiens, chacun contribuant de son expertise. Le PCSG est constitué des infrastructures de pointe et des instruments suivants :

  • Imageurs plein ciel : L'Université de Calgary opère 13 appareils photo permettant de mesurer les aurores en différentes longueurs d'onde. La couleur des aurores se produit lorsque des particules chargées provenant de l'espace et frappent des atomes de la haute atmosphère. L'étude de ces couleurs fournit des renseignements importants sur les régions de l'espace d'où proviennent ces particules et les processus physiques qui produisent les aurores.
  • Photomètres à balayage suivant un méridien : L'Université de Calgary exploite quatre de ces instruments pour observer de très faibles aurores qui ne peuvent être captées par les imageurs. Ces mesures fournissent des informations inégalées sur les processus dynamiques qui provoquent les tempêtes spatiales et affectent la haute atmosphère de façon spectaculaire. Ensemble, les imageurs et photomètres fournissent une mine de données pour les scientifiques auroraux, et sont de plus en plus utilisés pour comprendre la météorologie spatiale et ses effets sur notre atmosphère.
  • Riomètres : L'Université de Calgary et Ressources naturelles Canada exploitent plus de 30 de ces instruments qui mesurent les émissions radio provenant du rayonnement de fond cosmique. Des perturbations dans l'ionosphère causées par les particules de haute énergie de l'espace perturbent ces signaux. Les chercheurs canadiens sont devenus des leaders mondiaux pour comprendre à l'aide des riomètres comment les particules provenant de l'espace affectent notre atmosphère.
  • Ionosondes : L'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick exploite six de ces instruments servant à émettre des ondes radio dans l'atmosphère. Ces derniers fonctionnent comme de petits radars, et les échos retournés fournissent de l'information sur les propriétés importantes de la haute atmosphère. Les ionosondes canadiennes offrent l'un des seuls moyens existant de suivi des effets de la météo spatiale sur les propriétés électriques de la haute atmosphère.
  • Système de positionnement global (GPS) : L'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick exploite neuf de ces instruments qui mesurent les signaux GPS transmis par les satellites de navigation. Des perturbations dans la haute atmosphère affectent ces signaux et révèlent l'emplacement de régions ionisées qui interfèrent avec les communications radio et la navigation.
  • Radars Haute Fréquence (HF) : L'Université de la Saskatchewan exploite 4 de ces radars. Ces instruments émettent de l'énergie radioélectrique sous forme l'impulsions radar à haute fréquence et mesurent la rétrodiffusion du signal provenant des régions perturbées de l'ionosphère. Contrairement aux ionosondes qui émettent des signaux directement vers le haut, le radar HF propage des signaux à l'horizontale ou à angle oblique. Ces radars peuvent servir à détecter les mouvements horizontaux de gaz électrisés dans l'ionosphère, lesquels sont causés par la chaleur générée par les aurores, et sont utilisés pour créer des cartes de vent ionosphérique au dessus du Canada.
  • Magnétomètres électroniques à sursaturation : L'Université de l'Alberta et Ressources naturelles Canada exploitent plus de 30 de ces instruments qui servent à mesurer avec une grande précision la force du champ magnétique entourant la Terre. Les champs magnétiques et les courants électriques sont inextricablement liés. L'ionosphère est submergée de courants électriques causés par les interactions entre le Soleil et la Terre et ces courants ont un effet sur la magnétosphère terrestre. La mesure de l'intensité du champ magnétique terrestre peut révéler des renseignements importants sur l'état des courants électriques dans les couches supérieures de l'ionosphère.
  • Magnétomètres à induction : L'Université de l'Alberta exploite sept de ces instruments qui servent à détecter les variations très rapides du champ magnétique terrestre tout en complémentant les données des magnétomètres électroniques à sursaturation. Ces ondes magnétiques sont utilisées pour étudier les processus physiques associés aux aurores, le vent solaire et les tempêtes spatiales.
  • Dispositif de surveillance du flux radio solaire : Le Conseil national de recherches utilise depuis plus de 60 ans une antenne qui mesure les ondes radio émises par le Soleil. L'intensité de ce rayonnement est liées au nombre de taches présentes sur le Soleil. Les taches solaires sont des zones relativement froides et sombres sur la surface du Soleil et qui sont associées à une activité magnétique intense. Ce projet a permit la création d'un registre sans précédent de la variabilité solaire. L'étude du flux solaire est importante pour la météo spatiale, les études du changement climatique et pour étudier la relation possible entre le Soleil et les phénomènes mesurés au sol par le PCSG.
  • Simulations informatiques : Les universités de l'Alberta et de Waterloo ont des programmes de modélisation et de simulation informatique qui sont conçus pour explorer le fonctionnement de l'environnement géospatial et dans quelle mesure il est affecté par le Soleil. Ces programmes utilisent les données provenant des instruments PCSG et des modèles informatiques sophistiqués pour tester des hypothèses de processus physiques qui régissent l'environnement géospatial. Un objectif à long terme du PCSG est de raffiner cette compréhension au point d'être en mesure de pouvoir effectuer des prévisions de météorologie spatiale.

« Notre compréhension de la façon dont fonctionne l'environnement géospatial est encore à ses débuts. Elle est semblable à , notre compréhension de la météo terrestre voilà un siècle », a déclaré M. Manuel. Il a remarqué que les prévisions météorologiques se sont grandement améliorées lorsque les satellites ont pu observer la Terre et étudier les systèmes météorologiques dans leur ensemble. « Le PCSG pourrait un jour faire de même pour la météo spatiale en rendant possible la télédétection des phénomènes physiques en cours au-dessus du Canada tout comme les satellites météorologiques actuels qui observent notre atmosphère. »