BLAST conducts unique galactic surveys

BLAST being launched in Kiruna, Sweden, in June 2005. (Credit: D. Wiebe, Physics Department, University of Toronto)

In June 2005, a team of researchers from Canada, the USA, the UK and Mexico has launched BLAST, a balloon-borne telescope. During the flight that lasted 5 days, the balloon covered the distance between Kiruna, Sweden, and Inuvik, in the Canadian North.

BLAST being carried to its launch pad

BLAST being carried to its launch pad (Credit: University of British Columbia)

BLAST on the launch pad

BLAST on the launch pad (Credit: University of Toronto)

During its flight, the BLAST telescope (for Balloon-borne Large Aperture Sub-millimetre Telescope) probed the heavens to identify starburst galaxies—a special kind of galaxy—enabling researchers to study the formation and evolution of stars, galaxies and star clusters to find answers to cosmological questions.

Core of a galaxy as seen by the Hubble Space Telescope

Core of a galaxy as seen by the Hubble Space Telescope (Credit: ESA and NASA)

What is cosmology?

Cosmology is the science that studies the physical laws of the universe. Cosmologists try to answer many questions on the formation of the universe, the causes of space phenomena or, again, the source of such energies as the dark matter. What particles made it possible for all structures to form? When did the first matter appear, putting an end to the Dark Age of the cosmos?

BLAST's mirror is two metres wide

BLAST's mirror is two metres wide (Credit: University of British Columbia)

Technology testbed

A second research flight is planned for 2007. In addition to its scientific mission, BLAST is to serve as a testbed for the technology developed for Herschel, a space telescope that is set to launch in 2007 with two Canadian instruments on board.

The BLAST telescope mirror is two metres in diameter. No ground-based telescope has the sensitivity or resolution of this telescope. Its precision, and the fact that it is suspended from a balloon floating on the densest layer of the atmosphere, gives it a clear view of the cosmos, free of the distorting effects of atmospheric gases.

Assembling BLAST

Assembling BLAST (Credit: University of British Columbia)

Drawing of the gondola that carries the telescope

Drawing of the gondola that carries the telescope (Credit: University of Toronto)

A team that knows the ins and outs

Canada designed and built the gondola, the pointing control system, and special-order electronic equipment. The equipment was tested for the first time in September 2003 during a flight of some 30 hours.

All of these tasks are being performed under the supervision of principal investigator Barth Netterfield on behalf of the University of Toronto, where Dr. Bart Netterfield teaches physics and astronomy and participates in a number of other space-related projects.

His fellow researcher Mark Halpern is an assistant professor in the University of British Columbia Department of Physics. Dr. Halpern has participated in a number of different experiments carried out aboard a sounding rocket.

Dr. Netterfield's team is made up of a number of high-powered research scientists including Douglas Scott of the University of British Columbia and Peter Martin of the University of Toronto.

Nor do contributions to BLAST come only from the academic world. Among the partners in this project, which is partially financed by the Canadian Space Agency, are the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, AMEC Dynamic Structures Ltd., and NASA.

BLAST - Pour effectuer des études galactiques

Le lancement de BLAST à Kiruna, en Suède, en juin 2005. (Source : D. Wiebe, Département de Physique, Université de Toronto)

En juin 2005, une équipe de chercheurs du Canada, des États Unis, du Royaume-Uni et du Mexique a lancé BLAST, un télescope emporté par un ballon. Au cours d'un vol qui a duré 5 jours, le télescope a parcouru le chemin entre Kiruna, en Suède, et Inuvik, dans le Grand Nord canadien.

BLAST est transporté vers l'aire de lancement

BLAST est transporté vers l'aire de lancement (Source : Université de la Colombie-Britannique)

BLAST sur l'aire de lancement

BLAST sur l'aire de lancement (Source : Université de Toronto)

Au cours de son vol, le télescope BLAST (pour Balloon-borne Large Aperture Sub-millimetre Telescope) a sondé le ciel afin de repérer des galaxies croisées, un type particulier de galaxie, qui permettront aux chercheurs d'étudier la formation et l'évolution des étoiles, des galaxies et des amas stellaires pour répondre à des questions cosmologiques.

Centre d'une galaxie photographié par le télescope spatial Hubble

Centre d'une galaxie photographié par le télescope spatial Hubble (Source : ESA et NASA)

Qu'est-ce que la cosmologie?

La cosmologie est la science des lois de la physique de l'Univers. Les scientifiques spécialisés dans ce domaine tentent de répondre à plusieurs questions sur la formation de l'Univers, sur la cause de phénomènes spatiaux ou encore sur la source d'énergies telles que la matière noire. Quelles sont les particules qui ont permis à toute structure de se former? Quand les premiers objets ont-ils mis fin à l'âge des ténèbres du cosmos?

Le miroir de BLAST mesure deux mètres.

Le miroir de BLAST mesure deux mètres. (Source : Université de la Colombie-Britannique)

Une technologie à l'essai

Un deuxième vol de recherche est prévu pour 2007. En plus de sa mission scientifique, BLAST sert de plateforme d'essai pour la technologie développée pour Herschel, un télescope spatial qui doit être lancé en 2007 et qui aura deux instruments canadiens à son bord.

Le télescope BLAST dispose d'un miroir de deux mètres de diamètre. Aucun télescope terrestre ne possède sa sensibilité ni sa résolution. Cette précision, conjuguée au fait que le télescope est suspendu à un ballon qui flotte dans la partie la plus dense de l'atmosphère, permet d'observer le cosmos sans subir les effets de distorsion causés par les gaz atmosphériques.

Assemblage de BLAST

Assemblage de BLAST (Source : Université de la Colombie-Britannique)

Dessin de la nacelle qui transporte le télescope

Dessin de la nacelle qui transporte le télescope (Source : Université de Toronto)

L'équipe qui fait fonctionner les rouages

Le Canada a assuré la conception et la construction de la nacelle, du système de pointage et du matériel électronique de commande. L'équipement a été mis à l'essai pour la première fois en septembre 2003 au cours d'un vol d'une trentaine d'heures.

Toutes ces tâches sont accomplies sous la supervision de Barth Netterfield (disponible en anglais seulement), chercheur principal pour le compte de l'Université de Toronto. Il enseigne la physique et l'astronomie et participe à plusieurs autres projets reliés à l'espace.

Son co-chercheur, Mark Halpern, est professeur adjoint au département de physique de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. M. Halpern a participé à diverses expériences réalisées à bord d'une fusée-sonde.

L'équipe de Barth Netterfield est formée de plusieurs chercheurs de haut calibre, dont Douglas Scott, de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, et Peter Martin, de l'Université de Toronto.

Il n'y a pas que le milieu universitaire qui contribue à BLAST. Parmi les partenaires de ce projet partiellement financé par l'Agence spatiale canadienne, on compte le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, la société AMEC et la NASA.