Atmospheric science

Our atmosphere, the invisible layer of gas surrounding the Earth, sustains life as we know it. It provides the air that we breathe, redistributes water and warmth, and shields us from harmful radiation. It is important that we understand and monitor the atmosphere – what it is made of, how it interacts with different ecosystems, and how it is changing and influencing Earth's climate.

Studying the atmosphere with space technology

Satellites are essential for studying Earth's atmosphere. From space, we are able to measure and monitor ozone, water vapour, pollution, aerosols and clouds on a global scale. This information supports research and international efforts to ensure a more sustainable future by:

Discover 12 research projects that are using satellite data to study the atmosphere

The Canadian Space Agency (CSA) is supporting 12 research teams who will use space-based observations to advance their work. They will investigate hot issues like air quality, ozone depletion and greenhouse gases.

The results of their work will contribute to our understanding of the atmosphere and could improve environment forecasting and prediction capabilities to help increase our resilience to climate change.

Satellites and instruments

Explore further

Date modified:

Sciences de l'atmosphère

Notre atmosphère, cette couche de gaz invisible entourant la Terre, permet la vie telle que nous la connaissons. Elle fournit l'air que nous respirons, assure la redistribution de la chaleur et de l'eau, et nous protège des radiations nocives. Il est important de comprendre et de surveiller l'atmosphère : de quoi est-elle composée, comment interagit-elle avec différents écosystèmes, et comment change-t-elle et influence-t-elle le climat de la Terre?

Étude de l'atmosphère au moyen de technologies spatiales

Les satellites sont essentiels à l'étude de l'atmosphère de la Terre. Depuis l'espace, il est possible de mesurer et de surveiller l'ozone, la vapeur d'eau, la pollution, les aérosols et les nuages à l'échelle de la planète. Ces renseignements appuient la recherche et les efforts internationaux pour assurer un avenir plus durable en :

Découvrez 12 projets de recherche qui utilisent des données satellitaires pour étudier l'atmosphère

L'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) appuie 12 équipes de recherche qui utiliseront des données d'observations spatiales pour faire progresser leurs travaux. Ils étudieront des questions d'actualité comme la qualité de l'air, l'appauvrissement de l'ozone et les gaz à effet de serre.

Les résultats de leur travail contribueront à notre compréhension de l'atmosphère et pourraient améliorer les capacités de prévisions environnementales et la précision de ces prévisions et ainsi aider à accroître notre résilience aux changements climatiques.

Satellites et instruments

Poursuivez l'exploration

Date de modification :