Studying the Earth's atmosphere using satellites

The Canadian Space Agency (CSA) is supporting twelve research teams from across Canada to advance scientific knowledge and understanding of the Earth's atmosphere. In analyzing data from instruments aboard Canadian and international satellites (sometimes combined with ground-based observations), they will investigate important issues like ozone depletion, greenhouse gases, air quality, and climate change.

What will researchers do with satellite data?

Ozone
Produce the most comprehensive data record to date and compare with numerical models.

Gas emissions
Quantify and validate harmful surface gas emissions that are reported in Canada's pollutant inventory.

Aerosols
Clarify and validate the impact of aerosols in the stratosphere on climate change.

Climate
Increase knowledge of the chemical processes affecting the earth's atmosphere.

Greenhouse gases
Increase understanding of global water vapour transport to improve climate models used in international reports.

Air quality
Evaluate how satellite-based gas measurements can improve surface pollution forecasting and air quality health index.

Data enhancement
Increase global measurements of harmful gases to improve knowledge of air pollution transport.

Air pollution
Identify pollution sources over Canada and North America to inform air quality regulations.

Snow
Combine data from multiple sources to improve snowfall predictions over Canada and the Arctic.

Carbon cycle
Investigate the impact of wildfires on the Canadian Boreal forest and quantify global urban pollution.

Arctic interactions
Analyze aerosol-cloud interactions over the Arctic and impact on northern sustainability.

Energy balance
Develop and compare global models of water vapour and atmospheric radiation to improve future climate predictions.

CSA Grants and Contributions

The projects are funded under the CSA Class Grant and Contribution Program following the Announcement of Opportunity: Earth System Science Data Analyses.

To know more about current CSA opportunities, visit the Funding opportunities at the Canadian Space Agency page.

The research grants awarded by the CSA for these projects represent a total value of approximately $2.6 million over three years to advance atmospheric and climate science using data collected by Canadian satellites and instruments like CloudSat, SCISAT, OSIRIS, and MOPITT. These Canadian datasets are complemented in many cases with new European Space Agency (ESA) satellites that gather measurements of the Earth's surface and atmosphere.

Earth system science project summaries

Ozone

Ozone Time Series Analysis using OSIRIS, ACE-FTS and MAESTRO satellite measurements, ozonesondes and the CMAM model

The Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer was negotiated and signed by Canada along with 23 other countries. Since then the World Meteorological Organization has had an ongoing mandate to monitor and assess its effectiveness. To do this, they rely on high fidelity data records such as those produced by Canadian satellite instruments. This project will combine satellite and ground based measurements with Canada's OSIRIS instrument time series to produce Canada's long term data record. Canadian model results will be used to better understand this time series.

Research team:

  • Doug Degenstein, University of Saskatchewan (principal investigator)
  • David Plummer, Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC)
  • David Tarasick, ECCC
  • Yves Rochon, ECCC
  • Adam Bourassa, University of Saskatchewan

Gas emissions

Improved estimates of nitrogen oxides (NOx) and carbon monoxide (CO) emissions through multi-species and multi-sensor chemical data assimilation

Over the past two decades space agencies around the world have made considerable investments in satellite instruments to measure the changing composition of the atmosphere. We now have a broad range of space-based measurements of atmospheric composition. This project will integrate observations from different satellite instruments to better quantify surface emissions of CO and NOx, which are harmful atmospheric contaminants. Atmospheric CO and NOx are also precursors of tropospheric ozone (O3), which is a harmful pollutant and a powerful greenhouse gas.

Research team:

  • Dylan Jones, University of Toronto (principal investigator)
  • Randall Martin, Dalhousie University
  • Adam Bourassa, University of Saskatchewan
  • Cristen Adams, Alberta Government, Environmental Monitoring and Science Division

Aerosols

Advanced multi-instrument record of stratospheric aerosol and the climate impact

Using measurements from Canadian satellite instruments, the objective of this project is to extend and improve the space-based aerosol data record for the lower stratosphere. This is a challenging region to measure, but important as it has been shown to contain a potentially significant portion of the total aerosol budget. An improved dataset will be used in combination with a Canadian coupled atmosphere-ocean climate model to understand the impact of aerosols on climate change.

Research team:

  • Adam Bourassa, University of Saskatchewan (principal investigator)
  • John Fyfe, ECCC
  • Christopher Sioris, ECCC
  • Doug Degenstein, University of Saskatchewan
  • Jason Cole, ECCC

Climate

Climatological, model evaluation and validation studies using data from Canadian satellite and ground-based measurements

Using data from three Canadian satellites, this research project will study the changing atmosphere and improve our ability to simulate these changes with atmospheric models, in three steps. First, the focus will be on understanding how different types of chlorine-containing gases, related to ozone depletion, are distributed in the atmosphere and vary from year-to-year. Second, the team will examine how different satellite instruments and models describe the region of the atmosphere that can have a significant influence on climate. And third, the quality of new measurements of greenhouse gases and air pollutants made from space will be assessed.

Research team:

  • Kaley Walker, University of Toronto (principal investigator)
  • David Plummer, ECCC
  • Kimberly Strong, University of Toronto
  • Christopher Sioris, ECCC
  • Gloria Manney, NorthWest Research Associates

Greenhouse gases

Understanding the role of deep convection in determining the humidity structure in the upper-troposphere and lower-stratosphere (UTLS) and improving model simulation of the process using satellite observations

Atmospheric water vapor plays a significant role in climate change, but its variation in the UTLS region is currently poorly understood and inadequately simulated by global weather and climate models. Satellite data will be used to quantify the impact of air mass circulation on UTLS water vapor. Operational global models of ECCC will be validated against the observations and high resolution cloud resolving simulations. This research will help improve Canada's ability to predict climate and weather and shed light on future climate monitoring missions.

Research team:

  • Yi Huang, McGill University (principal investigator)
  • Man Kong (Peter) Yau, McGill University
  • Kaley Walker, University of Toronto
  • Paul Vaillancourt, ECCC
  • Jason Cole, ECCC

Air quality

Assessing the impact of limb sounding on the forecasting of surface pollution and the Air Quality Health Index

It is generally assumed that stratospheric profile measurements from a space-based limb sounding instrument will lead to improved air quality forecasts (including the Air Quality Health Index). This project will conduct a thorough assessment using the ECCC air quality model and prediction system. Measurements of ozone and nitrogen dioxide from Canada's OSIRIS instrument will be assimilated, and validation and forecast evaluation will be performed using the ACE-FTS instrument on Canada's SCISAT and the North American surface monitoring network.

Research team:

  • Christopher McLinden, University of Saskatchewan (principal investigator)
  • Jean de Grandpré, ECCC
  • Doug Degenstein, University of Saskatchewan
  • Adam Bourassa, University of Saskatchewan
  • Yves Rochon, ECCC

Data enhancement

MOPITT Data Enhancements through Improved Cloud Clearing

Canada's MOPITT instrument measures global CO levels every three days. It has been in orbit since and continues to provide excellent data. This project aims to expand the coverage of the MOPITT data through its entire operational life by improving the scientific treatment of clouds in the field of view, thus increasing the amount of observations used to generate the data products. The results will improve the datasets made available by MOPITT and the resulting science coming from the research community around the world.

Research team:

  • James Drummond, University of Toronto (principal investigator)
  • Merritt Deeter, National Center for Atmospheric Research
  • Helen Worden, National Center for Atmospheric Research
  • Dylan Jones, University of Toronto

Air pollution

Modes of Pollution Transport from North America to Nova Scotia and Beyond

This project aims to quantify the long-term variability of different pollution sources (local, regional and continental) and how they affect air quality in Nova Scotia and other Canadian locations. The study will assess the impacts of weather on air pollution events. In doing so, it will inform policy regarding jurisdictional (provincial, federal, trans-boundary) pollutant reduction.

Research team:

  • Aldona Wiacek, Saint Mary's University (principal investigator)
  • Dylan Jones, University of Toronto
  • Kimberly Strong, University of Toronto

Snow

Investigation of snowfall and related climate processes from a space-based instrument suite

Seasonal snowfall is important to Canada's climate and water balance. Recent and rapid changes in the amount of falling snow and how long it stays on the ground have been observed. This project will combine observations from multiple sources of snow, and of the weather events during which snowfall occurs, to learn whether satellite instruments can be used to reliably detect and monitor snow and snowfall over Canada. This could improve weather and climate forecasts.

Research team:

  • Chris Fletcher, University of Waterloo (principal investigator)
  • Paul Kushner, University of Toronto
  • Stephen Howell, ECCC

Carbon cycle

CO in the Canadian boreal forest and urban centres

CO is an atmospheric gas that impacts urban air quality and the global carbon cycle. This project will combine atmospheric observations and modelling of CO to:

  • Validate Canada's MOPITT instrument measurements with data from the ground based Total Carbon Column Observing Network (TCCON).
  • Assess the impacts of wildfires on the carbon cycle of the boreal forest.
  • Quantify global urban ratios of CO to carbon dioxide (CO2) to estimate urban emissions.

MOPITT and ground-based datasets will be complemented by CO2 measurements from NASA's Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2 (OCO-2) and JAXA's Greenhouse Gases Observing Satellite (GOSAT).

Research team:

  • Debra Wunch, University of Toronto (principal investigator)
  • Ray Nassar, ECCC
  • Dylan Jones, University of Toronto

Arctic interactions

Analysis of remotely sensed, aerosol-cloud interaction over the Arctic

This project will analyze the aerosol-cloud interactions over the Arctic when aerosols like dust and smoke are predominant (in the upper troposphere during the polar winter; and in the lower troposphere during the polar spring). The analysis will be done using satellite-based instruments supported by ground-based measurements, microphysical surface measurements and transport model simulations.

Research team:

  • Norm O'Neill, Université de Sherbrooke (principal investigator)
  • Jean-Pierre Blanchet, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
  • Rachel Chang, Dalhousie University
  • Patrick Hayes, Université de Montréal

Energy balance

Observation and modeling of the tropical runaway- and super-greenhouse

Using satellite measurements of the Earth's tropics, this research will investigate the local runaway greenhouse and super greenhouse effect. These phenomena occur when there is high water vapour content in the atmosphere, which limits the amount of radiation the surface can give off to cool itself. Currently, this only affects the warmest areas of the tropics (e.g. the Pacific warm pool) but it is expected to spread, and potentially become more severe as the global climate warms.

Research team:

  • Colin Goldblatt, University of Victoria (principal investigator)
  • Norman McFarlane, University of Victoria

Étudier l'atmosphère de la Terre avec des satellites

L'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) appuie 12 équipes de recherche de partout au Canada qui visent à approfondir les connaissances scientifiques sur l'atmosphère de la Terre pour mieux la comprendre. Elles étudieront notamment l'appauvrissement de l'ozone, les gaz à effet de serre, la qualité de l'air et les changements climatiques en analysant des données tirées d'instruments embarqués sur des satellites canadiens et internationaux, et parfois en faisant aussi des observations au sol.

À quelles fins les chercheurs utilisent-ils les données satellitaires?

Couche d'ozone
Créer la base de données la plus exhaustive qui soit à ce jour et comparer les données avec les modèles numériques.

Émissions de gaz nocifs
Quantifier et valider les émissions de gaz nocifs en surface indiqués dans l'inventaire des polluants du Canada.

Aérosols
Préciser et valider les répercussions de la présence d'aérosols dans la stratosphère sur les changements climatiques.

Climat
Accroître les connaissances sur les processus chimiques ayant un effet sur l'atmosphère de la Terre.

Gaz à effet de serre
Mieux comprendre le transport de la vapeur d'eau à l'échelle mondiale afin d'améliorer les modèles climatiques utilisés dans les rapports internationaux.

Qualité de l'air
Évaluer de quelle façon les mesures des gaz prises par satellite peuvent permettre d'améliorer les prévisions relatives à la pollution de surface et la cote air santé.

Amélioration des données
Augmenter les mesures des gaz nocifs à l'échelle mondiale afin d'approfondir les connaissances sur les déplacements de la pollution de l'air.

Pollution de l'air
Déterminer les sources de pollution de l'air au Canada et en Amérique du Nord à l'appui de la réglementation sur la qualité de l'air.

Neige
Rassembler les données provenant de plusieurs sources afin de mieux prévoir les averses de neige au Canada et dans l'Arctique.

Cycle du carbone
Étudier l'impact des feux de forêt sur la forêt boréale canadienne et mesurer la pollution urbaine à l'échelle mondiale.

Effets dans l'Arctique
Étudier les interactions aérosols-nuages dans l'Arctique ainsi que les répercussions sur la viabilité nordique.

Bilan énergétique
Élaborer et comparer des modèles de vapeur d'eau et de rayonnement atmosphérique à l'échelle mondiale afin d'améliorer les prévisions sur les changements climatiques.

Subventions et contributions de l'ASC

Ces projets sont subventionnés dans le cadre du Programme de subventions et contributions de l'ASC, à la suite de l'avis d'offre de participation : Analyses des données scientifiques du système Terre.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les offres de participation actuelles à l'ASC, veuillez consulter la page Avis d'offre de participation.

Les subventions de recherche accordées par l'ASC pour ces projets représentent une valeur totale d'environ 2,6 millions de dollars sur une période de trois ans. Cette initiative vise à faire avancer les connaissances en sciences de l'atmosphère et en climatologie tout en maximisant l'utilisation des données recueillies par les satellites et les instruments canadiens tels que CloudSat, SCISAT, OSIRIS et MOPITT. Ces ensembles de données sont souvent complétés par des données de l'Agence spatiale européenne acquises par des satellites qui mesurent certaines caractéristiques de la surface et de l'atmosphère de la Terre.

Résumés des projets scientifiques sur le système Terre

Couche d'ozone

Analyse des séries chronologiques relatives à l'ozone basée sur les mesures satellitaires d'OSIRIS, d'ACE-FTS et de MAESTRO, les ozonesondes et le modèle CMAM

Le Protocole de Montréal relatif à des substances qui appauvrissent la couche d'ozone a été négocié et signé en par le Canada et 23 autres pays. Depuis, l'Organisation météorologique mondiale (OMM) est responsable d'en surveiller les progrès. À cette fin, l'OMM se fonde sur des données très fiables telles que celles produites par les instruments de satellites canadiens. Ce projet combinera les mesures satellitaires et prises au sol avec les séries chronologiques de l'instrument canadien OSIRIS afin de créer la base de données à long terme souhaitée. Les résultats des modèles canadiens serviront à mieux comprendre ces séries chronologiques.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Doug Degenstein, Université de la Saskatchewan (chercheur principal)
  • David Plummer, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC)
  • David Tarasick, ECCC
  • Yves Rochon, ECCC
  • Adam Bourassa, Université de la Saskatchewan

Émissions de gaz nocifs

Amélioration des estimations des émissions d'oxydes d'azote (NOx) et de monoxyde de carbone (CO) par l'assimilation des données acquises avec divers capteurs sur la composition chimique de multiples éléments

Au cours des vingt dernières années, les agences spatiales du monde entier ont effectué d'importants investissements dans les instruments satellitaires servant à mesurer la modification de la composition de l'atmosphère. Nous disposons maintenant d'un large éventail de mesures par satellite concernant la composition de l'atmosphère. Ce projet vise à réunir les observations provenant de différents instruments satellitaires afin de mieux quantifier les émissions en surface de CO et de NOx, des contaminants atmosphériques nocifs. Le CO et le NOx sont aussi des précurseurs de l'ozone troposphérique (O3), un polluant nocif et un puissant gaz à effet de serre.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Dylan Jones, Université de Toronto (chercheur principal)
  • Randall Martin, Université Dalhousie
  • Adam Bourassa, Université de la Saskatchewan
  • Cristen Adams, gouvernement de l'Alberta, Environmental Monitoring and Science Division

Aérosols

Données multi-instruments avancées liées aux aérosols dans la stratosphère et répercussions sur les changements climatiques

En se basant sur les mesures obtenues par les instruments satellitaires canadiens, ce projet vise à enrichir et améliorer l'ensemble de données spatiales sur la basse stratosphère. La prise de mesures dans cette zone est difficile mais importante, car il a été démontré qu'une large part des aérosols pouvait se trouver dans cette partie de l'atmosphère. Cet ensemble de données amélioré sera couplé à un modèle climatique canadien atmosphère-océan afin de comprendre les répercussions des aérosols sur les changements climatiques.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Adam Bourassa, Université de la Saskatchewan (chercheur principal)
  • John Fyfe, ECCC
  • Christopher Sioris, ECCC
  • Doug Degenstein, Université de la Saskatchewan
  • Jason Cole, ECCC

Climat

Étude du climat, évaluation de modèle et validation fondées sur les données satellitaires canadiennes et les mesures prises au sol

En utilisant les données provenant de trois satellites canadiens, la recherche portera sur les modifications de l'atmosphère et tentera d'améliorer notre capacité de simuler ces modifications à l'aide de modèles atmosphériques, et ce, en trois étapes. La première consistera à tenter de comprendre comment sont répartis dans l'atmosphère les différents types de gaz contenant du chlore par suite de l'appauvrissement de la couche d'ozone et s'ils varient d'année en année. À la deuxième étape, les chercheurs se pencheront sur la façon dont les différents instruments satellitaires et modèles décrivent la zone de l'atmosphère qui pourrait avoir un effet important sur les changements climatiques. À la troisième étape, ils évalueront la qualité des nouvelles mesures des gaz à effet de serre et des polluants atmosphériques obtenues depuis l'espace.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Kaley Walker, Université de Toronto (chercheuse principale)
  • David Plummer, ECCC
  • Kimberly Strong, Université de Toronto
  • Christopher Sioris, ECCC
  • Gloria Manney, NorthWest Research Associates

Gaz à effet de serre

Comprendre le rôle de la convection profonde au moment de déterminer la structure de l'humidité dans la zone de haute troposphère et de basse stratosphère (HTBS) et améliorer la simulation par modèle de ce processus en se servant des observations par satellite

La vapeur d'eau atmosphérique joue un rôle important dans les changements climatiques, mais on dispose actuellement de peu d'information sur ses variations dans la zone HTBS, et elle est incorrectement simulée par les modèles météorologiques et climatiques mondiaux. Les données satellitaires serviront à quantifier les répercussions de la convection profonde de la vapeur d'eau dans la zone HTBS. Les modèles climatiques d'ECCC seront validés par rapport aux observations et aux simulations à haute résolution des nuages. La recherche contribuera à améliorer la capacité du Canada à émettre des prévisions climatiques et météorologiques ainsi qu'à faire la lumière sur les prochaines missions de surveillance du climat.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Yi Huang, Université McGill (chercheur principal)
  • Man Kong (Peter) Yau, Université McGill
  • Kaley Walker, Université de Toronto
  • Paul Vaillancourt, ECCC
  • Jason Cole, ECCC

Qualité de l'air

Évaluer les répercussions des limbosondages sur les prévisions de pollution en surface et sur la cote air santé

Il est généralement admis que les profils stratosphériques d'un instrument de sondage au limbe généreront des prévisions améliorées de la qualité de l'air (notamment la cote air santé). Ce projet permettra d'effectuer une évaluation approfondie de cette hypothèse à l'aide des modèles de qualité de l'air et de prévisions météorologiques d'ECCC. Les mesures de l'ozone et du dioxyde d'azote provenant d'OSIRIS seront assimilées et la notation de la validation et des prévisions sera effectuée en utilisant l'ACE-FTS (SCISAT) et le réseau de surveillance de la surface de l'Amérique du Nord.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Christopher McLinden, Université de la Saskatchewan (chercheur principal)
  • Jean de Grandpré, ECCC
  • Doug Degenstein, Université de la Saskatchewan
  • Adam Bourassa, Université de la Saskatchewan
  • Yves Rochon, ECCC

Amélioration des données

Amélioration des données de MOPITT par un meilleur traitement des nuages

L'instrument canadien MOPITT mesure les concentrations de CO à l'échelle mondiale. Il est en fonction depuis et continue de fournir des données de grande qualité. Ce projet a pour objectif d'élargir la portée des données de MOPITT depuis sa mise en service en améliorant le traitement des nuages dans le champ de vision, ce qui accroît le nombre d'observations pouvant être utilisées pour générer des produits de données. Les résultats permettront d'améliorer les ensembles de données provenant de MOPITT et les travaux scientifiques des chercheurs du monde entier.

Équipe de recherche :

  • James Drummond, Université de Toronto (chercheur principal)
  • Merritt Deeter, National Center for Atmospheric Research
  • Helen Worden, National Center for Atmospheric Research
  • Dylan Jones, Université de Toronto

Pollution de l'air

Modes de déplacement de la pollution de l'Amérique du Nord à la Nouvelle-Écosse et au-delà

Ce projet vise à quantifier la variabilité à long terme des diverses sources de pollution (locales, régionales et continentales) ainsi que leur incidence sur la qualité de l'air en Nouvelle-Écosse et ailleurs au Canada. L'équipe étudiera les effets des conditions météorologiques sur différents épisodes de pollution. Elle permettra ainsi d'éclairer les orientations stratégiques à divers ordres de gouvernement (provincial, fédéral, transfrontalier) quant à la réduction des polluants.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Aldona Wiacek, Université Saint Mary's (chercheuse principale)
  • Dylan Jones, Université de Toronto
  • Kimberly Strong, Université de Toronto

Neige

Recherche sur les averses de neige et les processus climatiques connexes sur la base d'un ensemble d'instruments spatiaux

Les averses de neige saisonnières sont importantes pour l'équilibre du climat et de l'eau au Canada. Les récents et rapides changements climatiques liés à l'accumulation de neige et le temps qu'elle reste au sol ont fait l'objet d'observations. L'équipe de recherche se penchera sur les observations de la neige provenant de plusieurs sources ainsi que sur les épisodes météorologiques au cours desquels des averses de neige se produisent afin de découvrir si les instruments satellitaires peuvent servir à dépister de façon fiable et à surveiller la neige et les averses de neige dans l'ensemble du Canada. Ainsi, il sera possible d'améliorer les prévisions météorologiques et climatiques.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Chris Fletcher, Université de Waterloo (chercheur principal)
  • Paul Kushner, Université de Toronto
  • Stephen Howell, ECCC

Cycle du carbone

Le CO dans les forêts boréales canadiennes et les centres urbains

Le CO est un gaz atmosphérique qui a des répercussions sur la qualité de l'air en milieu urbain et le cycle du carbone à l'échelle mondiale. Dans le cadre de ce projet, les observations atmosphériques et la modélisation du CO seront combinés pour :

  • valider les mesures de l'instrument canadien MOPITT avec les données obtenues au sol par le réseau d'observation de la colonne de carbone total (TCCON);
  • évaluer les répercussions des feux de forêt sur le cycle de carbone dans la forêt boréale;
  • quantifier à l'échelle mondiale les ratios urbains entre le CO et le dioxyde de carbone (CO2) afin d'estimer les émissions provenant de centres urbains.

Les données de MOPITT et celles acquises au sol seront complétés par les mesures de CO2 provenant du satellite Orbiting Carbon Observatory 2 (OCO-2) (disponible en anglais seulement) de la NASA et du Greenhouse Gases Observing Satellite (GOSAT) (disponible en anglais seulement) de l'Agence d'exploration aérospatiale japonaise.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Debra Wunch, Université de Toronto (chercheuse principale)
  • Ray Nassar, ECCC
  • Dylan Jones, Université de Toronto

Effets dans l'Arctique

Analyse des interactions aérosols-nuages dans l'Arctique observées par télédétection

L'équipe de recherche analysera les interactions aérosols-nuages dans l'Arctique lorsque les aérosols, comme la poussière et la fumée sont prédominants (dans la haute troposphère au cours de l'hiver polaire et dans la basse troposphère pendant le printemps polaire). Aux fins de l'analyse, on utilisera les instruments satellitaires, appuyés par les mesures au sol, les mesures microphysiques en surface et des modèles de simulations de déplacement.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Norm O'Neill, Université de Sherbrooke (chercheur principal)
  • Jean-Pierre Blanchet, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
  • Rachel Chang, Université Dalhousie
  • Patrick Hayes, Université de Montréal

Bilan énergétique

Observation et modélisation de l'emballement de l'effet de serre tropical

À l'aide des mesures satellitaires des tropiques, la recherche portera sur l'emballement de l'effet de serre tropical. Ce phénomène se produit lorsque l'atmosphère contient de fortes concentrations de vapeur d'eau, ce qui limite la quantité de rayonnement que la surface peut libérer pour se refroidir. Actuellement, ce phénomène ne touche que les zones les plus chaudes des tropiques (par exemple, la masse d'eau chaude du Pacifique), mais il devrait de propager et pourrait devenir plus intense avec le réchauffement climatique mondial.

Équipe de recherche :

  • Colin Goldblatt, Université de Victoria (chercheur principal)
  • Norman McFarlane, Université de Victoria