Viking Ultraviolet Imager (UVI)

Launch: February 22, 1986
Status: Inactive

Viking Ultraviolet Imager (UVI)

Viking Ultraviolet Imager (UVI)

Sweden's Viking (pronounced VEE-king) satellite was launched into orbit on February 22, 1986 with a payload designed to make detailed measurements of energy processes in the auroral region.

A Canadian instrument, called the Ultraviolet Imager (UVI) comprised part of that payload. It provided Canadian scientists with their first photographs of the entire aurora region. The images, used in conjunction with Canada's ground-based CANOPUS network, were studied and used to determine the behaviour of the auroral oval, polar arcs, and magnetic substorms.

The UVI instrument, designed and built by CAL Corp. of Ottawa, consisted of a pair of small telescopes used to image ultra-violet auroral.

The UVI instrument, designed and built by CAL Corp. of Ottawa consisted of a pair of small telescopes used to image ultra-violet auroral emissions generated by molecular nitrogen and atomic oxygen. The novel camera system was able to take pictures at a rate of three a minute - thirty times faster than an earlier American imager. And since it measured ultra-violet rays rather than the visible-light spectrum, UVI was able to take photographs both day and night.

The UVI imager provided continuous data to a receiving station in Esrange near Kiruna, Sweden until the completion of the Viking mission on January 28, 1987.

Canada's international UVI scientific team was led by Dr. C.D. Anger of the University of Calgary. The team represented, among others, over 20 scientists from Canadian universities and various government agencies.

Imageur auroral UV de Viking

Lancement : 22 février 1986
État : inactif

Imageur auroral UV de Viking

Imageur auroral UV de Viking

Lancé en orbite le 22 février 1986, le satellite suédois Viking transportait une charge utile destinée à prendre des mesures détaillées des processus énergétiques dans la région aurorale.

L'imageur auroral UV (UVI pour Ultraviolet Imager) de conception canadienne, qui faisait partie intégrante de cette charge, a fourni aux chercheurs canadiens les premières photographies de toute la région aurorale. Utilisées de concert avec les données du réseau terrestre canadien CANOPUS, ces images ont servi à étudier le comportement de l'ovale auroral, des arcs polaires et des sous orages magnétiques.

L'instrument UVI, conçu et construit par la société CAL Corp. d'Ottawa, comprenait deux petits télescopes capables de capter les rayonnements auroraux dans l'ultraviolet qui sont générés par l'azote moléculaire et l'oxygène atomique. L'appareil photographique novateur était en mesure de capter trois images à la minute, soit trente fois plus rapidement qu'un de ses prédécesseurs américains. Comme il mesurait le rayonnement dans ultraviolet plutôt que dans la partie visible du spectre, l'UVI a pu prendre des photographies de jour, comme de nuit.

L'imageur UVI a continué d'envoyer des données à la station réceptrice d'Esrange, près de Kiruna en Suède, jusqu'à la fin de la mission, le 28 janvier 1987.

L'équipe scientifique canadienne, qui participait au projet international de l'UVI, était dirigée par C.D. Anger de l'Université de Calgary et regroupait plus de 20 chercheurs issus d'universités canadiennes et de divers organismes gouvernementaux.