Applications

The many advances in RADARSAT-1 technology were developed to respond to specific needs for radar data in hundreds of environmental monitoring applications in Canada and around the world. Through programs, conferences and funding opportunities, applications are being developed all the time. This is an overview of the main RADARSAT-1 Earth observation data applications.

Ice

Larger image of RADARSAT-1 imagery: Monitoring ice.

RADARSAT data © Canadian Space Agency (CSA) 1996. Received by the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing. Processed and distributed by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

RADARSAT-1 provided routine surveillance of the entire Arctic region. This helped to track sea ice distribution, identify various types of ice, and produce daily ice charts. The information was used for planning safe shipping routes and supply operations for offshore exploration platforms or ocean research stations. RADARSAT has also helped update maps of Antarctica and monitor Antarctic ice fields.

Environment Monitoring

Larger image of RADARSAT-1 imagery: Monitoring the environment.

RADARSAT data © Canadian Space Agency (CSA) 1996. Received by the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing. Processed and distributed by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Because the RADARSAT-1 SAR penetrated heavy cloud cover, many of the world's rain forests and coastal regions could be mapped effectively. RADARSAT-1 could also monitor the extent of marine oil spills, providing vital information for spill control and clean up operations, and have considerable value in settling legal questions related to oil spills.

Disaster management

Radar satellites are key resources in a variety of disaster management scenarios. The coordination of international satellite resources for disaster response efforts is managed by the International Charter on Space and Major Disasters, of which Canada is a long-time member and data contributor.

The data has been used effectively in disaster responses such as earthquakes, tsunamis, floods, landslides, forest fires, and other natural or technological disasters. The ability to deliver data in near-real time is essential for relief operations to map and monitor damage and for assessing the impact on the future.

RADARSAT-2 reduces planning lead times for data acquisition, and its left- and right-looking modes provide more revisits and up-to-date data.

Hydrology

Larger image of RADARSAT-1 imagery: Hydrology.

RADARSAT data © Canadian Space Agency (CSA) 1996. Received by the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing. Processed and distributed by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Many applications were developed to take advantage of RADARSAT-1 capacity for detecting the presence of water. These included monitoring flooding and the build-up of river ice, and mapping the melting of snow-covered areas.

As the image shows, RADARSAT-1 provided excellent land/water delineation. In this image, the forest cover and floodplain appear in tones of grey, while the water is distinctly black. The forests along the Amazon River and nearby lakes in Brazil experience seasonal flooding, and with the use of multi-temporal RADARSAT-1 images, these areas could be mapped.

When used for flood monitoring, RADARSAT-1 data helped assess the impact of flooding, predicted the extent and duration of floodwaters, analyzed the environmental impact of water diversion projects, and developed flood mitigation measures.

Geology

Larger image of RADARSAT-1 imagery: Geology.

RADARSAT data © Canadian Space Agency (CSA) 1996. Received by the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing. Processed and distributed by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Many significant geological structural features were mapped using RADARSAT-1. By mapping features such as faults, folds, and lineaments we obtained new information on groundwater distribution, economic mineral deposits, and the potential for oil and gas deposits. RADARSAT-1 imagery also helped to identify appropriate sites for hazardous waste. In addition, seismic and fault data from RADARSAT-1 imagery was used for studies on the nature and causes of earthquakes.

The many alluvial fans found in the Balochistan Desert in western Pakistan show in very light tones in the lower part of this RADARSAT image. The dark area is the structural depression that separates the Chagai Hills from the Ras Koh Range. Wet flood plains and areas covered with thin layers of salt also have a dark appearance.

Agriculture

Larger image of RADARSAT-1 imagery: Agriculture.

RADARSAT data © Canadian Space Agency (CSA) 1996. Received by the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing. Processed and distributed by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Using RADARSAT-1 imagery, agricultural planners could examine and assess crop characteristics and planting practices and could better forecast crop yields. Under favourable conditions, soil characteristics such as moisture content and surface roughness could be identified. These help determined crop conditions, susceptibility to erosion, and irrigation needs.

This RADARSAT-1 image of Zhaoqing, China is an integration of Standard and Fine beam mode images. The colours show different types of vegetation and various crop growth stages. Aquaculture sites and flooded rice paddies appear as very dark and black, while the village areas and banana fields are very light coloured.

Forestry

Larger image of RADARSAT-1 imagery: Forestry.

RADARSAT data © Canadian Space Agency (CSA) 1996. Received by the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing. Processed and distributed by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Text description of image - Forestry

RADARSAT-1 provided valuable data to help map and monitor the world's forests. Using these data, accurate maps of clear cuts in boreal and tropical forests could be created to assess environmental impacts and measure the success of replanting operations.

This RADARSAT-1 image of Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada shows the extensive clearcutting of boreal forest that has occurred in this region. Recent clearcuts are quite visible as dark areas, while regenerating clearcuts, seen as grey tones, are harder to distinguish from the light tones of the remaining boreal forest.

Coastal waters and open oceans

Larger image of RADARSAT-1 imagery: Oceans and coastal waters.

RADARSAT data © Canadian Space Agency (CSA) 1996. Received by the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing. Processed and distributed by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Text description of image - Coastal waters and open oceans

RADARSAT-1 imagery was an important source of new data for the world's oceans and coastal regions. Regardless of cloud, fog, or darkness, RADARSAT-1 could accurately measure changes in ocean waves and winds—information that was useful for offshore oil exploration, ocean research operations, and locating potentially productive fishing areas.

The dark tones in this RADARSAT-1 image, taken off the coast of Callao, Peru, are due to the decreased surface roughness by the wind lee effects. The lighter patches show where the wind has increased the surface roughness of the water. Ships appear as very bright spots in this image.

Applications

Les nombreuses technologies sophistiquées dont était doté RADARSAT-1 ont été élaborées dans le but de répondre aux demandes de la clientèle qui disait avoir besoin de données radar spécifiques pour des centaines d'applications de surveillance environnementale au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Par le biais de programmes, de conférences et d'occasions de financement, des applications étaient constamment mises au point. Voici un bref aperçu des principales applications RADARSAT-1 touchant au domaine de l'observation de la Terre.

Surveillance des glaces

Image plus grande d'imagerie RADARSAT-1 : Surveillance des glaces.

Données RADARSAT © Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) 1996. Reçues par le Centre canadien de télédétection. Traitées et distribuées par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

RADARSAT a assuré la surveillance régulière de l'ensemble de la région arctique. Grâce à lui, on a pu cartographier la répartition des glaces de mer, identifier les divers types de glaces et produire quotidiennement des cartes des glaces. L'information ainsi obtenue permettait la planification de voies navigables sûres et le ravitaillement des plateformes d'exploration en haute mer ou des stations de recherches océaniques. RADARSAT-1 a également contribué à la mise à jour des cartes de l'Antarctique et à la surveillance des champs de glace dans cette région.

Surveillance de l'environnement

Image plus grande d'imagerie RADARSAT-1 : Surveillance de l'environement

Données RADARSAT © Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) 1996. Reçues par le Centre canadien de télédétection. Traitées et distribuées par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

La capacité du SAR de RADARSAT-1 de pénétrer d'épaisses couvertures nuageuses permettait de cartographier efficacement de nombreuses forêts tropicales et zones côtières de la planète. RADARSAT-1 pouvait également cartographier l'étendue de déversements d'hydrocarbures dans la mer en fournissant des données essentielles aux opérations de contrôle et de nettoyage. Ces mêmes données s'avéraient très utiles dans le règlement des litiges associés à ce type de catastrophe.

Gestion des catastrophes

Les satellites radar constituent désormais des ressources clés lorsque vient le temps de gérer divers types de catastrophes. La coordination des ressources satellitaires internationales, dans le cas d'une mobilisation en marge d'une catastrophe, se fait dans le cadre de la Charte internationale « Espace et catastrophes majeures », charte à laquelle le Canada adhère depuis longtemps. Notre pays fournit d'ailleurs régulièrement des données dans le cadre de cette initiative.

Les données fournies sont utilisées pour faciliter l'organisation des secours lors de catastrophes telles des tremblements de terre, des tsunamis, des inondations, des glissements de terrain, des feux de forêt et d'autres catastrophes naturelles ou technologiques. Les données fournies en temps quasi réel sont essentielles à l'organisation des secours, aux activités de cartographie et de surveillance des dommages causés par la catastrophe, et à l'évaluation de leur incidence pour l'avenir.

Le satellite RADARSAT-1 a permis de réduire les délais de planification des acquisitions de données, et grâce à ses modes de visée à gauche et à droite, il était en mesure de réobserver plus fréquemment une même cible et de produire des données à jour.

Hydrologie

Image plus grande d'imagerie RADARSAT-1 : Hydrologie.

Données RADARSAT © Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) 1996. Reçues par le Centre canadien de télédétection. Traitées et distribuées par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

De nombreuses applications ont pu tirer profit de la capacité de RADARSAT-1 de détecter la présence d'eau. Ces applications englobaient notamment la surveillance des inondations et de l'accumulation des glaces dans les rivières ainsi que la cartographie de la fonte des neiges.

Comme le montre l'image, RADARSAT-1 s'est avéré très utile pour la délimitation de l'eau et des terres. La couverture forestière et la plaine inondable apparaissent en teintes de gris, tandis que l'eau se distingue en noir. Les forêts le long de l'Amazone et entourant les lacs à proximité, au Brésil, ont été touchées par des inondations saisonnières. Le recours aux images multitemporelles de RADARSAT-1 a permis de cartographier ces zones.

Lorsqu'elles ont été utilisées pour surveiller les inondations, les données RADARSAT-1 ont contribué à en évaluer les impacts, à prévoir l'ampleur et la durée du phénomène, à analyser les répercussions environnementales des projets de dérivation des cours d'eau et à élaborer des meures d'atténuation des inondations.

Géologie

Image plus grande d'imagerie RADARSAT-1 : Géologie.

Données RADARSAT © Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) 1996. Reçues par le Centre canadien de télédétection. Traitées et distribuées par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Les données de RADARSAT-1 ont permis de cartographier de nombreuses caractéristiques géologiques structurales. La cartographie des failles, des plissements et des linéaments nous fournit de nouvelles informations sur la distribution de la nappe phréatique, des gisements minéraux exploitables et du potentiel d'exploitation des gisements pétrolifères et gaziers. L'imagerie RADARSAT-1 a pu également servir à repérer les sites convenant à l'enfouissement de déchets dangereux. De plus, les données acquises par RADARSAT-1 sur les séismes et les failles ont contribué aux études sur la nature et les causes des tremblements de terre.

Les nombreux cônes de déjection que l'on peut observer dans le désert du Baloutchistan, dans l'ouest du Pakistan, apparaissent en teintes très pâles dans la portion inférieure de cette image RADARSAT-1. La zone foncée est une dépression structurale qui sépare les collines Chagai de la chaîne Ras Koh. Les plaines inondées et les zones recouvertes de minces couches de sel apparaissent également en couleur foncée.

Agriculture

Image plus grande d'imagerie RADARSAT-1 : Agriculture.

Données RADARSAT © Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) 1996. Reçues par le Centre canadien de télédétection. Traitées et distribuées par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

À l'aide de l'imagerie RADARSAT-1, les planificateurs agricoles ont été en mesure d'examiner et d'évaluer les caractéristiques de diverses cultures et méthodes de plantation. Ils ont pu également mieux prévoir les rendements. Dans des conditions favorables, il est possible de déterminer les particularités du sol, comme la teneur en eau et la rugosité de surface, qui permettent de définir l'état des cultures, la susceptibilité des terres à l'érosion et les besoins en matière d'irrigation.

Cette image RADARSAT-1 de Zhaoqing (Chine) a été composée à partir d'images acquises dans les modes standards et haute résolution. Les différentes couleurs correspondent à divers types de végétation et aux divers stades de croissance des cultures. Les sites d'aquaculture et les rizières inondées apparaissent en teintes très foncées et noires, tandis que les secteurs du village et les bananeraies sont en teintes très pâles.

Foresterie

Image plus grande d'imagerie RADARSAT-1 : Foresterie.

Données RADARSAT © Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) 1996. Reçues par le Centre canadien de télédétection. Traitées et distribuées par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Description texte de l'image - Foresterie
(version anglaise)

RADARSAT-1 a fourni des données valables qui ont servi à cartographier et à surveiller les forêts dans le monde. Grâce à ces données, les spécialistes ont pu produire des cartes précises des coupes à blanc dans les forêts boréales et tropicales en vue d'évaluer les impacts environnementaux et de mesurer le succès des activités de reboisement.

Cette image de Whitecourt, en Alberta (Canada), prise par RADARSAT-1 montre les coupes à blanc intensives qui ont été pratiquées dans cette région de la forêt boréale. Les dernières coupes à blanc sont très visibles en foncé, tandis que les secteurs en régénération dans les tons de gris sont plus difficiles à distinguer des tons plus pâles correspondant au reste de la forêt boréale.

Océans et eaux côtières

Image plus grande d'imagerie RADARSAT-1 : Océans et eaux côtières.

Données RADARSAT © Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) 1996. Reçues par le Centre canadien de télédétection. Traitées et distribuées par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

Description texte de l'image - Océans et eaux côtières
(version anglaise)

L'imagerie RADARSAT-1 a été une importante source de nouvelles données sur les océans et les régions côtières du monde. Indépendamment de la couverture nuageuse, du brouillard ou de l'obscurité, RADARSAT-1 a mesuré avec précision les changements dans les vents et les vagues océaniques, changements qui fournissent des informations utiles pour les activités d'exploration pétrolière en mer, les opérations de recherche en mer ainsi que pour la délimitation des zones de pêche potentiellement productives.

Les zones apparaissant en teintes foncées sur cette image prise par RADARSAT-1 au large des côtes de Callao (Pérou) représentent une atténuation de la rugosité de surface attribuable aux effets du vent. Les taches de teintes claires correspondent aux zones où le vent a amplifié la rugosité de la surface de l'eau. Les points très brillants apparaissant sur cette image sont des navires.