Mission requirements are tailored to respond to the needs identified by government users and to cover the Canadian and international areas of interest.

The following points list the main areas where the RADARSAT Constellation system will be different from RADARSAT-2:

  • The Constellation is conceived as a government-owned system, providing a large amount of data to government departments for operational monitoring over wide areas.
  • The ground segment is driven by requirements for fast data delivery of images acquired over Canada, and for fast tasking over international areas.
  • The majority of acquisitions in Canada concern large areas to be covered on a seasonal basis and therefore most of the acquisitions can be pre-planned.
  • Conflicts between main users can be resolved in advance.

Main Operational Modes

The system is designed as a medium resolution mission primarily dedicated to regular monitoring of broad geographic areas. This provides a 'big picture' overview of Canada's land mass and proximate water areas. Combined with higher resolution imagery, the data are expected to dramatically enhance Canada's ability to manage resources and the environment, and to improve security by providing an operational surveillance system. The system also includes high resolution modes at 1 m x 3 m, 3 m and 5 m, primarily designed for disaster management.

Mode Res.
rng x az
Swath Width
Polarization Options
HH, VV, HV or VH VV or HH +HV HH+VVFootnote 1 Compact HH+VV+
Low Resolution 100 m 100 8x1 500 (500) -22 Yes Yes Yes Yes
Medium Resolution 50 m 50 4x1 350 (500) -22 Yes Yes Yes Yes
Medium Resolution 30 m 30 2x2 125 (350) -24 Yes Yes Yes Yes
Medium Resolution 16 m 16 1x4 30 (350) -25 Yes Yes Yes Yes
High Resolution 5 m 5 1 30 (500) -19 Yes Yes Yes Yes
Very High Resolution 3 m 3@35o 1 20 (500) -17 Yes Yes Yes Yes
Low Noise 100 4x2 350 (500) -25 Yes Yes Yes
Ship Detection var. 5x1 350 (350) variable Yes Yes Yes
Spotlight 1 x 3@35o 1 14 (350)
[5 km in az]
-17 Yes Yes Yes
Quad-PolarizationFootnote 2 9 1 20 (250) -24 Yes

Beam Modes

RCM Imaging Modes

Text description of image of the RCM Imaging Modes

(Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

The three-satellite configuration will provide on average daily coverage of Canada's maritime approaches and frequent coverage of Canada's land, as well as on average daily access to 95% of the world to Canadian and international users. The satellites will be equally spaced, 32 minutes apart within 100 m radius orbit maintenance at a 600 km low earth orbit.

Data Availability

One of the most important project objectives is to increase data availability to the main operational users of SAR data in Canada. The system will be available as soon as all the satellites are in orbit and declared operational. The mission will provide data continuity to RADARSAT-1 and RADARSAT-2 users, but the system is not designed to be identical. The mission focuses on core applications and products and the provision of best value for money for the government of Canada. Some advanced features, such as RADARSAT-2's Ground Moving Target Indication (GMTI) mode, are not included. The system performance requirements and data quality (radiometric accuracy) specified for RADARSAT-1 and 2 are maintained. Some aspects of the data quality that were not originally specified for RADARSAT (like ScanSAR beam discontinuities) are now specified based on experience gained through the RADARSAT mission.

For the main system users, the operations should be simplified. Most of the acquisitions in Canada should be pre-planned and data made available to the users in near real-time. In some cases users will process the data; in other cases, specific products will be made available to user organizations.

Coverage, Access and Imaging Time

The mission is designed to respond to core needs at the highest level which can be summarized as:

  • Daily coverage of Canada's territorial and adjacent waters to support maritime surveillance, including ice monitoring, marine wind monitoring, oil pollution monitoring and ship detection; and,
  • Ability to monitor all of Canada for disaster mitigation on a regular basis (monthly to twice-weekly) to assess risks and identify damage prone areas; and,
  • Regular coverage of Canada's land mass and inland waters, up to several times weekly in critical periods, for resource and ecosystem monitoring.

The RADARSAT Constellation will provide on average 15 minutes of imaging time per orbit per satellite, with peak imaging of 25 minutes per orbit per satellite outside the eclipse season.

Revisit and Re-look

The RADARSAT Constellation will provide a four-day exact revisit, allowing coherent change detection using an InSAR mode. It will also provide an average daily global re-look capability in medium 50 m resolution mode. Most of the applications considered require re-look at least daily and an exact revisit once to twice weekly (interferometric change detection applications). Very frequent re-look capability is critical to certain disaster management applications.

Timeliness and Data Latency

The timelines and data latency requirement is highly variable according to the application area. For many ecosystem monitoring applications, data delivered several days or in some cases several weeks later may be sufficient. However, maritime surveillance and disaster monitoring have much more demanding timeliness requirements. For ship detection in Canadian and adjacent waters within Canadian ground station masks, RADARSAT Constellation will provide 10 minute data latency from acquisition to delivery of data, and 30 minutes for other maritime surveillance applications. For global and Canadian disaster management applications, the Constellation will provide 2 hour data latency from downlink to data delivery, and for ecosystem monitoring applications, 24 hour data latency from downlink to data delivery will be provided.


Footnote 1

Some performance parameters will be degraded for the HH+VV polarization: swath width is reduced by half for the Low Resolution 100 m and Medium Resolution 50 m modes; number of looks in azimuth is reduced by half for the Medium Resolution 30 m and 16 m modes; azimuth resolution is degraded for the High Resolution 5 m and Very High Resolution 3 m modes.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

There are no performance requirements for the quad-polarization mode: expected performance is shown.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Description

Les exigences de la mission sont définies pour répondre aux besoins cernés par les utilisateurs gouvernementaux et pour couvrir les secteurs d'intérêt canadiens et internationaux.

Les éléments ci-dessous indiquent en quoi la Constellation RADARSAT sera différente de la mission RADARSAT-2 :

  • La Constellation RADARSAT appartiendra au gouvernement. Elle fournira une grande quantité de données aux ministères à des fins de surveillance opérationnelle de vastes superficies.
  • Le segment au sol devra livrer rapidement les données d'images recueillies au-dessus du Canada et exécuter rapidement ses tâches au-dessus des zones internationales.
  • La majorité des acquisitions au Canada visent de grandes étendues nécessitant une couverture saisonnière, ce qui signifie que la plupart des activités d'acquisition peuvent être planifiées d'avance.
  • Les conflits entre les demandes des utilisateurs principaux peuvent être résolus d'avance.

Principaux modes d'exploitation

Le système est conçu pour convenir à une mission de collecte de données de moyenne résolution principalement vouée au suivi régulier de vastes zones géographiques. Il donne une vue d'ensemble de la masse terrestre du Canada et des eaux à proximité. Jumelées à l'imagerie de résolution plus élevée fournie dans le cadre de missions étrangères concomitantes, les données de la Constellation RADARSAT sont censées rehausser de façon spectaculaire la capacité du Canada à gérer les ressources et l'environnement et améliorer la sécurité grâce à un système de surveillance opérationnelle. Le système fonctionne également en modes haute résolution de 1 m x 3 m, de 3 m et de 5 m particulièrement adaptés à la gestion des catastrophes.

Mode Rés.
(en m)
Visées
portée x az
Largeur de fauchée
(accessible)
en km
NESZ
nominale
(en dB)
Polarisations possibles
HH, VV, HV ou VH VV ou HH +HV HH+VVNote de bas de page 1 Compacte HH+VV+
HV+VH
Faible résolution 100 m 100 8x1 500 (500) -22 Oui Oui Oui Oui
Résolution moyenne 50 m 50 4x1 350 (500) -22 Oui Oui Oui Oui
Résolution moyenne 30 m 30 2x2 125 (350) -24 Oui Oui Oui Oui
Résolution moyenne 16 m 16 1x4 30 (350) -25 Oui Oui Oui Oui
Haute résolution 5 m 5 1 30 (500) -19 Oui Oui Oui Oui
Très haute résolution 3 m 3@35o 1 20 (500) -17 Oui Oui Oui Oui
Faible bruit 100 4x2 350 (500) -25 Oui Oui Oui
Détection de navires var. 5x1 350 (350) variable Oui Oui Oui
Spotlight 1 x 3@35o 1 14 (350)
[5 km en az]
-17 Oui Oui Oui
Polarisation quadrupleNote de bas de page 2 9 1  20 (250) -24 Oui

Modes d'acquisition

Modes d'acquisition de la MRC

Description texte de l'image des modes d'acquisition de la MRC

(Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)

La configuration à trois satellites permettra de couvrir en moyenne quotidiennement les approches maritimes du Canada et de couvrir fréquemment la masse continentale canadienne. Elle offrira aussi, en moyenne, un accès quotidien à 95 % de la surface du globe. Les satellites seront équidistants, évoluant à 32 minutes de distance les uns par rapport aux autres dans un rayon orbital de 100 m à 600 km d'altitude sur une orbite basse terrestre.

Disponibilité des données

L'un des objectifs les plus importants de la mission consiste à accroître la disponibilité des données pour les principaux utilisateurs opérationnels de données SAR au Canada. Le système sera mis à disposition dès que les trois satellites auront été mis sur orbite et qu'ils auront été déclarés opérationnels. La mission assurera la pérennité des données pour les utilisateurs de RADARSAT-1 et RADARSAT-2, mais le système n'est pas conçu pour être identique à ses deux prédécesseurs. La mission vise principalement la mise en œuvre d'applications et de produits de base au meilleur rapport qualité-prix pour le gouvernement canadien. La Constellation RADARSAT n'offrira pas certaines des caractéristiques de pointe de RADARSAT-2, comme le mode (Éliminateur d'échos fixes au sol (EEFS). Les exigences relatives à la performance du système et à la qualité des données (précision radiométrique) établies pour RADARSAT-1 et RADARSAT-2 sont maintenues. À la lumière de l'expérience acquise grâce à la mission RADARSAT, certains aspects de la qualité des données qui n'avaient pas été abordés dans les spécifications de cette mission (les discontinuités du faisceau ScanSAR, par exemple) le sont maintenant.

Pour ce qui concerne les principaux utilisateurs, l'exploitation du système devrait être simplifiée. La plupart des acquisitions au Canada devraient être planifiées à l'avance et les données devraient être fournies aux utilisateurs en temps quasi réel. Dans certains cas, les utilisateurs devront traiter les données, alors que dans d'autres, des produits spécifiques seront mis à la disposition des organismes utilisateurs.

Couverture, accès et durée des observations

La mission est conçue pour répondre aux besoins de base au plus haut niveau, c'est-à-dire :

  • Observation quotidienne du territoire canadien et des eaux environnantes afin d'appuyer la surveillance des glaces, la surveillance des vents marins, la pollution par les hydrocarbures et la détection des navires;
  • Surveillance de l'ensemble du territoire canadien sur une base régulière (fréquence allant d'une observation par mois à une observation toutes les deux semaines) afin d'atténuer les catastrophes, d'évaluer les risques et d'identifier les zones susceptibles d'être touchées par les catastrophes;
  • Observation régulière de la masse continentale canadienne et de ses eaux intérieures (jusqu'à plusieurs fois par semaine en périodes critiques) aux fins de surveillance des ressources et des écosystèmes.

La Constellation RADARSAT pourra assurer une durée d'enregistrement des données de 15 minutes en moyenne, par orbite et par satellite, et atteindre un maximum de 25 minutes par orbite et par satellite, en dehors de la saison des éclipses.

Intervalles de survol et de réobservation

Grâce à son intervalle précis de survol de quatre jours, la Constellation RADARSAT permettra la détection des changements de façon cohérente en mode InSAR. La constellation offrira également une capacité moyenne de réobservation quotidienne en mode de résolution moyenne de 50 m. La plupart des applications envisagées exigent au moins un intervalle de réobservation quotidien et un intervalle de survol précis hebdomadaire ou aux deux semaines (applications de détection des changements par interférométrie). Un intervalle très court de réobservation est essentiel au succès de certaines applications de gestion des catastrophes.

Délai d'exécution et latence des données

Les exigences en matière de délai d'exécution et de temps de latence des données varient énormément d'une application à l'autre. En ce qui concerne le suivi des écosystèmes, la livraison des données quelques jours après la saisie ou, dans certains cas, plusieurs semaines plus tard peut suffire bien souvent. Cependant, les exigences relatives au délai d'exécution sont beaucoup plus serrées pour la surveillance maritime et le suivi des catastrophes. Pour ce qui est de la détection des navires dans les eaux canadiennes et adjacentes à l'intérieur des masques des stations au sol canadiennes, la Constellation RADARSAT transmettra les données avec une latence de 10 minutes, et une latence de 30 minutes pour les autres applications de surveillance maritime. Pour ce qui est des applications de gestion des catastrophes à l'échelle nationale et mondiale, la Constellation aura un temps de latence de 2 heures entre la liaison descendante et la livraison des données, et pour ce qui est des applications de surveillance des écosystèmes, il y aura un temps de latence de 24 heures entre la liaison descendante et la livraison des données.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Certains paramètres de rendement seront réduits pour la polarisation HH+VV : La largeur de la fauchée est réduite de moitié pour les modes faible résolution 100 m et résolution moyenne 50 m; le nombre de visées en azimut est réduit de moitié pour les modes résolution moyenne 30 m et 16 m; la résolution en azimut est aussi réduite pour les modes haute résolution 5 m et très haute résolution 3 m.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le mode de polarisation quadruple ne fait l'objet d'aucune exigence sur le plan du rendement : le rendement attendu est illustré.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2