Canadian Contributions

Three Canadian space companies are contributing their technology and expertise to the Proba-2 satellite: MPB Communications Inc.; Microsat Systems Canada Inc. (MSCI) and NGC Aerospace Ltd.

MPB Communications Inc. is providing a Fiber Sensor Demonstrator, which will be the first demonstration of a full fibre-optic sensor network used in a space environment. The sensors measure temperatures at different locations in the propulsion system and the spacecraft, as well as the xenon tank pressure. MPB is leveraging technological expertise developed through its terrestrial fiber-optic communication business. The successful demonstration of this advanced fiber-optic sensor network will provide spacecraft operators with a lighter, more compact and lower power-consuming centralized sensor system - critical for the monitoring of temperature and pressure.

Microsat Systems Canada Inc. has supplied four micro-reaction wheels, which are important to assure the accurate orientation of the spacecraft. These are an integral part of the spacecraft attitude control subsystem and are used in maintaining three-axis stabilized operation. The micro-reaction wheels represent part of MSCI's core business, which started with the development of the microsatellite reaction wheel onboard Canada's space telescope MOST.

NGC Aerospace Ltd of Sherbrooke Quebec is expanding on experience gained in the earlier flight of Proba-1, which used on-board intelligent software to support the autonomous guidance, navigation, control and failure detection of the spacecraft. This specialized software also supported the fine-pointing of remote-sensing cameras focusing on terrestrial sites of interest. Proba-1 was the first ESA spacecraft to fly the guidance, navigation and control software completely generated using automatic code-generation tools. It was also the first spacecraft to perform accurate pointing during large maneuvers without the use of a gyro to maintain stability. Launched 8 years ago in October 2001, Proba-1 is still operating successfully today. NGC Aerospace Ltd. is leveraging this flight heritage by deploying several elements on Proba-2, including: the design, implementation and validation of the autonomous guidance-navigation-control algorithms implemented as part of the attitude-and-orbit-control-system software; the design and implementation of the ground-based attitude-and-orbit-control-system telemetry analysis and calibration tool software; the design, implementation and validation of six innovative flight software experiments; and, the software-independent validation campaign on the system simulator.

La contribution du Canada

Trois entreprises canadiennes ont contribué leur expertise et leurs technologies au satellite Proba-2 : MPB Communications Inc., Microsat Systems Canada Inc. (MSCI) et NGC Aerospace Ltd.

MPB Communications Inc. a fourni un modèle de démonstration de capteur à fibres optiques, qui sera le premier réseau entièrement constitué de capteurs à fibre optique mis à l'essai dans un environnement spatial. Les capteurs mesureront la température à différents endroits de l'engin spatial et de son système de propulsion, ainsi que la pression dans le réservoir de xénon. MPB a mis à profit l'expertise qu'elle a acquise grâce à son expérience dans l'industrie de la communication terrestre par fibre optique. Si l'essai de ce réseau évolué de capteurs à fibres optique s'avère un succès, les opérateurs d'engins spatiaux bénéficieront d'un système de capteurs centralisé léger, compact et consommant peu d'énergie - essentiel pour le suivi de la température et de la pression.

Microsat Systems Canada Inc. a fourni 4 micro-roues de réaction, importantes pour assurer une orientation précise de l'engin spatial. Ces roues font partie intégrante du sous sytème de commande d'attitude du satellite et servent à maintenir sa stabilisation sur trois axes. Les micro-roues font partie des activités de base de MSCI, lesquelles ont commencé avec le développement de la roue de réaction destinée au télescope spatial canadien MOST.

NGC Aerospace Ltd de Sherbrooke, au Québec, met à profit l'expérience qu'elle a acquise dans le cadre de la mission Proba-1, qui faisait appel à un logiciel intelligent embarqué assurant le guidage, la navigation et le contrôle de l'engin ainsi que la détection de pannes en mode autonome. Ce logiciel spécialisé commandait aussi le pointage de précision de caméras de télédétection vers des sites terrestres présentant un intérêt. Proba-1 a été le premier satellite de l'ESA équipé d'un logiciel de guidage, de navigation et de contrôle entièrement produit à l'aide d'outils générateurs automatiques de codes. C'était aussi le premier satellite à réaliser un pointage précis au cours de manœuvres d'envergure sans recourir à un gyroscope pour assurer sa stabilité. Lancé en octobre 2001, il y a donc huit ans, Proba-1 est encore opérationnel aujourd'hui. NGC Aerospace Ltd. exploite son expérience de vol en déployant divers éléments sur Proba-2. L'entreprise assure notamment la conception, la mise en œuvre et la validation des algorithmes de guidage, de navigation et de contrôle automatiques qui sont intégrés au logiciel du système de commande d'attitude et d'orbite. De plus, elle conçoit et met en application l'outil logiciel au sol servant à l'étalonnage et à l'analyse des données de télémesure du système de commande d'attitude et d'orbite. Elle se charge aussi de la conception, de la mise en œuvre et de la validation de six expériences novatrices sur des logiciels de vol ainsi que de la campagne de validation, non tributaire de logiciels, du simulateur du système.