Measuring atmospheric pollutants

Launch: December 18, 1999
Status: Active

MOPITT is one of five instruments launched December 18, 1999, aboard Terra, a NASA satellite orbiting 705 km above the Earth. It was designed by Jim Drummond of the University of Toronto and, with the help of his science team and CSA, prepared for NASA. Initially planned for a five-year term, the experiment has been prolonged because the data collected is still of high quality and the satellite is in good health. MOPITT was manufactured by COM DEV International, of Cambridge, Ontario.

Since 1999, the Canadian instrument MOPITT (measurements of pollution in the troposphere) has been continuously scanning the Earth's atmosphere to make long-term measurements of carbon monoxide concentrations. This instrument is a Canadian contribution to NASA's Earth Observing System (EOS), an international environmental study project.

Before MOPITT, measurements of carbon monoxide in the troposphere were limited and localized. The accurate and efficient MOPITT probes every part of the atmosphere in four days. The data it gathers are used in conjunction with other data gathered by the EOS project.

Information on the biosphere, atmosphere, and oceans is used by scientists to forecast the long-term effects of pollution, to understand the increase in ozone concentrations in the lower atmosphere and to orient the assessment and implementation of short-term pollution controls.

MOPITT could also be used to assess the impact of particular antipollution initiatives, such as vehicle emission reduction standards in some parts of the world. It also helps us understand the impact of other human activities, such as the combustion of biomass. The scientists analyzing MOPITT data are therefore making a great contribution to the study of environmental pollution.

Why study carbon monoxide?

Carbon monoxide is a colourless, odourless toxic gas. It is produced by the incomplete combustion of, for example, auto fuel or biomass. It plays a key role in the chemical processes at work in the lower atmosphere. The atmosphere's carbon monoxide content has increased since the 1970s, which gives an indication of the concentrations of other gaseous pollutants such as ozone, and MOPITT will attempt to find out why.

MOPITT is aboard the Terra satellite.  (Image: NASA)

MOPITT is aboard
the Terra satellite. 
(Image: NASA)

This map shows the average over four years (March 2000 to February 2004) of carbon monoxide concentrations in spring. (Illustration: MOPITT)

This map shows the average
over four years (March 2000 to February 2004)
of carbon monoxide concentrations in spring. 
(Illustration: MOPITT)

Mesurer les polluants dans l'atmosphère

Lancement : 18 décembre 1999
État : actif

MOPITT est un des cinq instruments lancés le 18 décembre 1999 à bord de Terra (anglais seulement), un satellite de la NASA qui orbite à 705 km au-dessus de la Terre. C'est Jim Drummond, de l'Université de Toronto (anglais seulement), qui a conçu MOPITT. Grâce à son équipe scientifique et à l'ASC, M. Drummond a proposé cet instrument à la NASA. La durée initiale de cinq ans de l'expérience a été prolongée en raison de la qualité des informations amassées et du bon fonctionnement du satellite. MOPITT, pour measurements of pollution in the troposphere (instrument de mesure de la pollution dans la troposphère), a été fabriqué par COM DEV International, une entreprise de Cambridge, en Ontario.

Depuis 1999, l'instrument canadien MOPITT balaie continuellement l'atmosphère terrestre pour recueillir des mesures à long terme des concentrations de monoxyde de carbone. Cet instrument est une contribution canadienne au Système d'observation de la Terre (EOS) de la NASA, un projet d'étude environnementale international.

Avant MOPITT, les mesures du monoxyde de carbone dans la troposphère étaient limitées et localisées. MOPITT, un instrument très précis et très performant, sonde tous les coins de la planète en quatre jours. Les données qu'il recueille sont utilisées en complémentarité avec d'autres données accumulées dans le cadre du projet EOS.

MOPITT pourrait également servir à évaluer la portée de certaines initiatives de dépollution, notamment les normes sur la réduction des émissions polluantes des véhicules dans certaines régions du monde. En outre, il aide à comprendre les effets d'autres activités humaines comme la combustion de la biomasse. Les scientifiques qui analysent les données de MOPITT contribuent donc grandement à l'étude de la pollution environnementale.

Les informations sur la biosphère, l'atmosphère et les océans sont utilisées par les scientifiques pour prévoir les effets à long terme de la pollution, pour comprendre l'accroissement des concentrations d'ozone dans la basse atmosphère et pour orienter l'évaluation et l'application des contrôles de la pollution à court terme.

Pourquoi étudier le monoxyde de carbone?

Le monoxyde de carbone (CO) est un gaz toxique incolore et inodore. La production de ce gaz résulte directement et essentiellement d'une combustion incomplète, par exemple, des carburants dans les véhicules automobiles ou de la biomasse. Il joue un rôle clé dans les processus chimiques de la basse atmosphère. Depuis les années 1970, les teneurs en CO, qui sont révélatrices des concentrations d'autres gaz polluants tels l'ozone, ont augmenté dans l'atmosphère, et MOPITT tentera d'en cerner la cause.

MOPITT se trouve à bord du satellite Terra. (Image : NASA)

MOPITT se trouve à bord
du satellite Terra. (Image : NASA)

Cette carte montre une moyenne sur quatre ans (mars 2000 à février 2004) des concentrations de monoxyde de carbone au printemps. (Illustration : MOPITT)

Cette carte montre une moyenne
sur quatre ans (mars 2000 à février 2004)
des concentrations de monoxyde
de carbone au printemps.
(Illustration : MOPITT)