INTERBALL-2: Capturing the aurora borealis with UVAI

Launch: August 29, 1996
Status: Inactive

 

In 1996, Canada placed a highly specialized camera, the auroral ultra-violet imager ((UVAI)), aboard the Russian satellite Interball-2 to study the aurora borealis. UVAI's mission was to take photos of the Arctic region to improve our understanding of space weather and the aurora borealis. Leroy Cogger of the University of Calgary's Institute for Space Research was in charge of the Canadian team that gathered and analyzed the ultraviolet images acquired by UVAI. The camera was built by Cal Corporation of Ottawa.

Interball-2 had an elliptical orbit some 20,000 km above the Earth, so scientists photographed the entire region where auroras occurred, rather than just part of it. And they were able to take photos even when the weather was bad.

Interball was a program of the Russian Space Agency (Roscosmos), part of active international cooperation in the mid 90s. Its objective was to study the Sun's influence on magnetic phenomena around the Earth by observing the surrounding region of space.

There are many potential benefits in studying the northern lights. Space storms cause various problems: they can garble long-distance communications and damage orbiting satellites. Storms often cause heavy financial and technological losses. In 1994, a violent magnetic storm put Canada's Anik satellites out of commission for several days, cutting off information transmission to Canada's print and electronic media. In 1989, a magnetic storm caused a massive power outage that plunged Quebec into darkness for several hours.

Larger image magnetic storm.

A magnetic storm over Northern Canada and Greenland. This figure shows the relative fields of view of the two cameras of UVAI. By superimposing the images, we get a scaled view of the storm and the whole auroral oval.
(Credit : Greg Enno, University of Calgary)

[D]

Graphic images expressing some of the data collected by UVAI. The scientists can analyze them and compare them with other images.
(Credit : Greg Enno, University of Calgary)

Larger image showing auroras and magnetic storms over northern Canada.

Composite image of the Northern Lights oval with a magnetic space storm over northern Canada. The inset was photographed on March 1, 1997. It has been colour-coded to show the intensity of the aurora.
(Credit : Greg Enno, University of Calgary)

INTERBALL-2 : pour capturer les aurores boréales avec UVAI

Lancement : 29 août 1996
État : inactif

 

En 1996, le Canada a placé une caméra ultra-spécialisée, un imageur auroral dans l'ultraviolet (UVAI), à bord du satellite russe Interball-2 dans le but de d'étudier les aurores boréales. L'UVAI avait pour mission de prendre des photos de la région arctique pour améliorer notre compréhension de la météo spatiale et des aurores boréales. Leroy Cogger de l'Institute for Space Research de l'Université de Calgary (anglais seulement) dirigeait l'équipe canadienne qui a recueilli et analysé les images ultraviolettes acquises par UVAI. La caméra a été construite par Cal Corporation, une entreprise d'Ottawa.

Placé sur une orbite elliptique à environ 20 000 km de la Terre, Interball-2 a permis aux scientifiques de photographier la région entière où se produisaient les aurores au lieu de n'observer qu'une fraction du phénomène. Ils ont aussi pu prendre des photos même lorsque les conditions météorologiques étaient mauvaises.

Interball était un programme de l'Agence spatiale russe (Roscosmos). Celui-ci qui a fait partie prenante d'une coopération internationale des plus actives au milieu des années 1990. L'initiative avait pour objectif d'étudier l'influence du Soleil sur les phénomènes magnétiques autour de la Terre par le biais de l'observation de l'espace environnant.

Il y a de multiples avantages à étudier les aurores puisque les orages spatiaux entraînent divers problèmes : ils peuvent brouiller les communications à longue distance et endommager des satellites en orbite, ce qui occasionne souvent de lourdes pertes financières et technologiques. En 1994, un violent orage magnétique a paralysé pendant plusieurs jours les satellites canadiens Anik, interrompant la transmission de l'information à la presse écrite et électronique du pays. Auparavant, en 1989, un orage magnétique avait causé une panne générale d'électricité qui a plongé le Québec dans le noir pendant plusieurs heures.

Image plus grande d'orage magnétique.

Orage magnétique au-dessus du Canada et du Groenland. Cette image montre les deux champs de vision relatifs des deux caméras de UVAI. En superposant les images, on obtient une illustration à l'échelle de l'orage et de l'ovale de l'aurore.
(Source : Greg Enno, University of Calgary)

[D]

Images graphiques illustrant des données recueillies par UVAI. Les scientifiques peuvent les analyser et les comparer à d'autres images.
(Source : Greg Enno, University of Calgary)

Image plus grande montrant des aurores boréales et un orage magnétique au-dessus du Nord du Canada.

Image composite montrant des aurores boréales et un orage magnétique au-dessus du Nord du Canada. La photo insérée a été prise le 1er mars 1997. Le codage couleur démontre l'intensité de l'aurore.
(Source : Greg Enno, University of Calgary)