About ENVISAT Satellite

The ENVISAT-1 Satellite is composed of the payload complement embarked on the Polar Platform.

The Payload comprises a set of seven ESA Developed Instruments (EDI's), complemented by three Announcement of Opportunity Instruments (AOI's). The Polar Platform is constituted of two major assemblies:

  • the Service Module (SM) which accommodates most of the satellite support subsystems such as
    • power generation, storage and distribution,
    • Attitude and Orbit Control System (AOCS),
    • communication on S-band,
    • support structure and launcher interface,
  • the Payload Module (PLM) carrying the instruments and the payload dedicated support subsystems
    • instrument control and data handling,
    • communication on X- and Ka-band,
    • power distribution,
    • support structure.

Orbit

To fulfill its mission objectives, the orbit selected for the ENVISAT-1 satellite is sun synchronous, with a mean altitude of 800 km. This is a similar orbit as that of RADARSAT-1 and later RADARSAT-2. It allows for timely and repeated coverage of various regions of the globe. The satellite over-passes are always at the same local time. This is particularly important in obtaining multi-temporal data sets, minimizing the influence of effects due to diurnal variations.

This orbit will be maintained such to ensure that the deviation of the actual ground track is kept within 1 km of the reference orbit track and the mean local solar time is maintained within 1 minute.

Synthetic Radar Aperture (SAR) vs. Advanced Synthetic Radar Aperture (ASAR)

  RADARSAT-1
(1995- ) SAR
ENVISAT
(2002- ) ASAR
RADARSAT-2
(2003- ) SAR
Spatial resolution 10 to 100 metres 30 to 1000 metres 3 to 100 metres
Polarization HH HH, VV, HV or VH HH, HV, VV and VH
Look direction Right-looking (Left-looking for Antarctic missions) Routine left- and right-looking operation Routine left- and right-looking operation
Onboard recording device Analogue recorders Solid-state recorders Solid-state recorders
Location Accuracy Device None Three instruments for corrections and precise orbit provision (MWR, DORIS, and LRR) GPS receivers onboard
Yaw-steering None Yes Yaw-steering for zero Doppler shift at beam centre
Polarimetry No No Yes

Products calibration

Data products

As part of the ground segment concept, ESA has approved the following type of products:

  • Level 0 products: time-ordered instrument source packets formatted as PDS products
  • Level 1 products: geolocated and calibrated engineering parameters
  • Level 2 products: geolocated geophysical quantities

In-flight calibration

The in-flight calibration requires processing of data acquired via:

  • use of instrument-internal calibration loops, the instrument carrying its own stimuli
  • use of instrument-external well characterized stimuli, natural targets (e.g. stars, rain forests, deserts or ice sheets) or specific artificial targets (ASAR transponders). One such series of target, located in The Netherlands, was built MPB Technologies.

The corresponding results will be processed off-line in the Instrument Engineering Calibration Facility (IECF), specifically equipped for handling these data and for generating the calibration tables to be delivered to the FDS for the corresponding level in the processing chains.

Level 2 Algorithm Validation

The Level 2 processing algorithm use numerous models to concept engineering quantities into geophysical parameters (absorption lines into atmospheric species, brightness temperature into surface temperatures, radar cross-section return echo into wind or wave). Wherever possible, these models are being validated using the experience acquired before ENVISAT launch, using in particular data acquired in-flight (when available) or airborne campaign data.

Preparation for in-orbit commissioning

As shown above, the provision of Level 1-B and Level 2 products to users requires the setting up of a comprehensive list of complementary archives in parallel with the satellite development phase. These archives aim at preparing the in-orbit Commissioning Phase; all processing chains have to be operable with corresponding mechanisms for updating the tunable parameters. Throughout the 6-month Commissioning Phase, the calibration activities will allow delivery of level 1-B products.

The validation of Level 2 products occurs at the end of the Commissioning Phase. Products will be delivered to the users. However, for the entirely new instruments, it is expected that the products will start to be released with warnings concerning error bars. The validation of these products will be completed after the end of the Commissioning Phase.

Calibration / Validation throughout the Operation Phase

At the end of the Commissioning Phase, the mission will enter in its Operation Phase, which is planned for four and a half years. The monitoring of the products and the corresponding calibration and validation will be maintained throughout the Operation Phase.

Main difference between RADARSAT-1, ENVISAT and RADARSAT-2 data products

Signal polarization

RADARSAT-1 provided single polarization data. The signal was sent and received in a horizontal (HH) polarization state antenna. This provided HH products.

The ASAR sensor on ENVISAT has multi-polarization capability. It will provide:

  • 2 choices of selective single polarization (HH or VV); or
  • 3 choices of dual-polarized data products (HH/VV or HH/HV or VV/VH). The dual-polarized products are delivered as an image with 2 layers of information.

RADARSAT-2 will have complete polarimetric capability. It will provide the choice of:

  • 2 choices of selective single polarization (HH or VV);
  • 2 choices of dual-polarized data (HH/HV or VV/VH). The dual-polarized products are delivered as an image with 2 layers of information; or
  • Complete set of quad-polarized data (HH/VV/HV/VH). The polarimetric data are measured coherently, this means the quad-polarized data are not only a four-layer image. This product is delivered in a matrix format that gives full information of the received signal (amplitude and relative phase). This opens up the possibility of extracting unique information in the image in a way that is not possible with other space borne civilian SAR sensors.

À propos du satellite ENVISAT

Le satellite ENVISAT-1 comprend un complément de charge utile embarqué sur la plate-forme polaire.

La charge utile est constituée d'un jeu de sept instruments mis au point par l'ESA auxquels viennent se greffer trois instruments mis au point dans le cadre d'un avis d'offre de participation. La plate-forme polaire est constituée de deux principaux ensembles :

  • Le module de service (SM) qui comprend la plupart des sous-systèmes d'appui du satellite, notamment :
    • celui de la production, du stockage et de la distribution de l'alimentation électrique;
    • le Système de commande d'attitude et d'orbite (AOCS pour Attitude and Orbit Control System);
    • le système de communication en bande S;
    • la structure d'appui et l'interface du lanceur.
  • Le module de charge utile (PLM) qui transporte les sous-systèmes d'appui dédiés aux instruments et à la charge utile :
    • commande des instruments et traitement des données;
    • communication en bande X et en bande Ka;
    • distribution de l'alimentation électrique;
    • structure d'appui.

Orbite

Pour pouvoir remplir les objectifs de la mission, les concepteurs du satellite ENVISAT-1 ont choisi une orbite héliosynchrone à une altitude moyenne de 800 km. Il s'agit d'une orbite similaire à celle de RADARSAT-1 et du futur RADARSAT-2. Une telle orbite permet la couverture opportune et répétée de diverses régions du globe. Le satellite passe au même endroit toujours à la même heure locale. Cette caractéristique est particulièrement importante pour l'obtention de jeux de données multitemporelles, car cela réduit l'influence des effets causés par les variations diurnes.

Cette orbite sera maintenue de manière à ce que la déviation de la fauchée au sol soit maintenue en deçà de 1 km de l'orbite de référence et que l'heure solaire locale moyenne se situe à l'intérieur d'une minute.

Comparaison entre le radar à synthèse d'ouverture (SAR) et le radar à synthèse d'ouverture de pointe (ASAR)

  ENVISAT
(2002- ) ASAR
RADARSAT-2
(2003- ) SAR
RADARSAT-2
(2003- ) SAR
Résolution spatiale 10 à 100 mètres 30 à 1000 mètres 3 à 100 mètres
Polarisation HH HH, VV, HV ou VH HH, HV, VV et VH
Direction de visée À droite (à gauche pour les missions au-dessus de l'Antarctique) Visée habituelle à gauche et à droite Visée habituelle à gauche et à droite
Appareils d'enregistrement embarqués Enregistreurs analogiques Enregistreurs à semi-conducteurs Enregistreurs à semi-conducteurs
Dispositif de localisation Aucun Trois instruments servant aux corrections et à la détermination précise de l'orbite (MWR, DORIS, et LRR) Récepteurs GPS embarqués
Guidage en lacet Aucun Oui Guidage en lacet pour la variation Doppler nulle au centre du faisceau
Polarimétrie Non Non Oui

Étalonnage des produits

Produits de données

Pour ce qui est de la conception du secteur terrestre, l'ESA a approuvé les types de produits suivants :

  • Produits de niveau 0 : paquets provenant des sources instrumentales en suites ordonnées et formatés en produits PDS;
  • Produits de niveau 1 : paramètres techniques géopositionnés et étalonnés;
  • Produits de niveau 2 : quantités géophysiques géopositionnées.

Étalonnage en vol

L'étalonnage en vol nécessite le traitement des données acquises par l'entremise de :

  • l'utilisation de boucles d'étalonnage à l'intérieur des instruments, ces derniers étant porteurs de leur propre stimuli;
  • l'utilisation de stimuli bien caractérisés à l'extérieur des instruments, de cibles naturelles (étoiles, forêts tropicales, déserts ou couvertures de glace) ou des cibles artificielles spécifiques (transpondeurs ASAR). Une série de ces cibles, située au Pays-Bas, a été construite par MPB Technologies.

Les résultats correspondants seront traités en différé dans l'Installation d'étalonnage technique de l'instrument (IECF pour Instrument Engineering Calibration Facility) qui est spécifiquement équipée pour traiter ces données et pour générer des tables d'étalonnage qui seront livrées au FDS pour obtenir le niveau correspondant dans les chaînes de traitement.

Validation de l'algorithme de niveau 2

L'algorithme de niveau 2 utilise de nombreux modèles pour transformer des quantités techniques en paramètres géophysiques (lignes d'absorption dans les espèces atmosphériques, température de luminosité en température de surface, écho de retour ou onde de la section efficace radar). Dans la mesure du possible, ces modèles sont validés en s'appuyant sur l'expérience acquise avant le lancement d'ENVISAT au moyen de données particulières acquises en vol (si disponibles) ou de données recueillies dans le cadre d'une campagne de collecte aéroportée.

Préparation de la phase d'essais en orbite

Comme on peut le voir plus haut, l'offre de produits de niveau 1-B et de niveau 2 aux utilisateurs nécessite la mise sur pied d'une liste exhaustive d'archives complémentaires parallèlement à la phase de mise au point du satellite. Ces archives servent à la préparation de la phase d'essais en orbite : toutes les chaînes d'exécution doivent être utilisables avec les mécanismes correspondants pour faire la mise à jour des paramètres ajustables. Au cours de la phase d'essais de six mois, les activités de calibrage permettront d'offrir des produits de niveau 1-B.

La validation des produits de niveau 2 a lieu à la fin de la phase d'essais. Ces produits seront offerts aux utilisateurs. Cependant, dans le cas des tout nouveaux instruments, les produits seront offerts au début avec des avertissements sur la présence de lignes d'erreur. La validation de ces produits sera complétée après la fin de la phase d'essais en service.

Calibrage/validation durant la phase d'exploitation

À la fin de la phase d'essais en service, la mission débutera sa phase d'exploitation, dont la durée prévue est de quatre ans et demi. Le contrôle des produits ainsi que le calibrage et la validation correspondants seront exécutés tout au long de la phase d'exploitation.

Principales différences entre les données de RADARSAT-1, d'ENVISAT et de RADARSAT-2

Polarisation du signal

RADARSAT-1 fournit des données à polarisation simple. Le signal est envoyé et reçu par une antenne à polarisation horizontale (HH). Il en résulte des produits HH.

Le capteur ASAR d'ENVISAT offre des capacités de polarisation multiple. Il propose :

  • 2 choix de polarisation sélective unique (HH ou VV) ou
  • 3 choix de données à double polarisation (HH/VV ou HH/HV ou VV/VH). Les produits à double polarisation sont livrés sous forme d'image avec deux couches d'information.

RADARSAT-2 aura des capacités polarimétriques complètes. Il proposera :

  • 2 choix de polarisation sélective unique (HH ou VV) ou
  • 2 choix de données à double polarisation (HH/VV ou HH/HV ou VV/VH). Les produits à double polarisation sont livrés sous forme d'image avec deux couches d'information ou
  • Un ensemble complet de données à quadruple polarisation (HH/VV/HV/VH). Les données polarimétriques sont mesurées de façon cohérente, c'est-à-dire que les données à quadruple polarisation ne constituent pas seulement une image à quatre couches. Ce produit est livré en format matriciel qui fournit toute l'information du signal reçu (amplitude et phase relative). Ceci permet d'extraire une information unique d'une image, ce qui n'est possible avec aucun autre capteur spatial SAR civil.