Canada Partners on Upcoming Japanese X-ray Space Observatory

Launch: 2015
Status: In development

New X-ray Eyes Will Reveal the Most Cataclysmic Events in the Cosmos

Artist's illustration of ASTRO-H

Artist's illustration of ASTRO-H. (Credit: JAXA)

Imagine being able to peer into the innermost sanctums of monster-sized black holes and the remains of titanic explosions of stars. That is exactly the mission of ASTRO-H, an ambitious next-generation X-ray space telescope currently under development by the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) with contributions from the United States, Europe and now Canada, through the Canadian Space Agency (CSA).

Slated for launch in 2015, ASTRO-H will include five specialized X-ray telescopes and detectors. Together, these instruments will look at cosmic sources of X-rays at unprecedented resolution. With this superb sensitivity, ASTRO-H will explore the most energetic and mysterious phenomena in the Universe, involving particles at energies that can't be readily produced in Earth-based labs.

Canadian precision technology on board

Canada is involved in one of the spacecraft's key instruments, the Hard X-ray Telescope. It will be deployed at the end of a six-metre mast that is expected to twist and bend; this is due to on-orbit vibrations and the extreme day-night transitions the spacecraft will experience as it orbits the Earth at 550 km, where temperatures swing from -30°C to +40°C.

Recognizing Canadian expertise in space optical and vision systems, JAXA approached the CSA in 2009 to explore the possibility of Canada providing an innovative measurement system for the mission's Hard X-ray Telescope. Following a mission concept design phase, Neptec Design Group of Ottawa, Ontario, was awarded a CSA contract to develop a Canadian ASTRO-H Metrology System, or CAMS. ASTRO-H Metrology System, or CAMS will be able to precisely measure the mast's distortions to a level of accuracy equivalent to the width of a human hair, allowing mission operators to calibrate the data of the Hard X-ray Telescope and significantly enhance the telescope's performance.

In return for this critical piece of hardware, Canada secures positions from Canadian institutions on the mission's Science Working Group, involving top scientists from around the world, notably from Japan, the US and Europe. Members of the group will be offered prime observing time on the space observatory soon after launch, for a period of approximately nine months. Data will then be made available to all scientists, including Canadian astronomers.

The CSA has selected three University astronomers to represent Canada on the Science Working Group and support Canada's ASTRO-H Metrology System, or CAMS Project:

  • Dr. Luigi Gallo, Principal Investigator for ASTRO-H Metrology System, or CAMS, of Saint Mary's University;
  • Dr. Brian McNamara of the University of Waterloo; and
  • Dr. Samar Safi-Harb of the University of Manitoba.

The funding support provided by the CSA will allow these scientists to pursue advanced astronomical research with the ASTRO-H mission as well as participate in the International ASTRO-H Science Working Group meetings in Japan and in other parts of the world.

Illustration of CAMS onboard ASTRO-H

Illustration of ASTRO-H Metrology System, or CAMS onboard ASTRO-H. The ASTRO-H Metrology System, or CAMS consists of two laser units (each approx. 15 cm cube) mounted on the satellite and a corner cube optical reflector installed at the end of the space observatory's 6 metre mast where the hard X-ray telescope sensors are located. Laser beams rapidly pulsate from the ASTRO-H Metrology System, or CAMS units onto the corner cube that reflect the beam back into the unit where lateral displacements are measured down to a level of accuracy equivalent to the width of a human hair (approximately 60 micrometers). By comparing the measured lateral displacement on each sensor, the rotation about the telescope's main axis can be determined and the data acquired at the time of observation can be calibrated to a much higher level of accuracy than in the absence of the Canadian measurement system. (Credit: CSA)

Leading-edge astronomy: Hunting down cosmic predators

ASTRO-H will peer down the throat of super-massive black holes that lurk at the heart of distant, young galaxies. Astronomers hope to get an unprecedented peek into the inner clockwork of the largest of these galactic predators that are billions of times more massive than our Sun.

ASTRO-H will also focus on unraveling the mysteries behind the remnants of star blasts known as supernovae. Astronomers believe that everything in the cosmos–even humans–was made from heavy elements forged in large part inside ancient supernovae. By using unmatched spectral resolution, combined with the ability to focus high-energy X-rays, ASTRO-H will make the most precise measurements ever obtained of the chemical ingredients that go into making these colossal cosmic explosions, and will probe the sites of particle acceleration to the highest energies.

According to the Canadian Principal Investigator for ASTRO-H mission, Dr. Luigi Gallo, this mission is a unique opportunity for Canada. ASTRO-H will mark the first time Canada is part of an X-ray astronomy mission that will explore the unseen Universe in unprecedented detail. Because of the CSA's contribution to ASTRO-H, "Canadian scientists get a chance to go to the front of the line in getting time to use this unique astronomical telescope," said Gallo, Professor of Astronomy at St. Mary's University, Halifax, Nova Scotia. "There is no doubt that we will be making big discoveries when it opens for business in three years time."

Dr. Gallo will be making good use of his time on board ASTRO-H to study the ebb and flow in the X-rays belched out by the supermassive blackholes. These fluctuations in the amount of X-rays are thought to be directly correlated to the amount of material being gobbled up by the black hole: any nearby stars, gas and dust clouds get swept up from the plane of the surrounding inner region of the galaxy. As matter is sucked in by the gravitational pull of the black hole, it gets torn apart and superheated, shooting radiation back out in space, which ASTRO-H will detect.

Astronomers believe early on in a galaxy's life, supermassive black holes sweep up most of the surrounding material in the galactic core. The black hole eventually quiets down as it runs out of cosmic things to eat; these voracious cosmic predators then calm down, allowing their host to become a normal galaxy (much like our own Milky Way).

ASTRO-H will be able to look at the very closest region around these giant black holes where the most intense X-ray radiations are being emitted. Not only will this give astronomers a clearer picture of how these cosmic predators evolve, but also how galaxies like our own came to be.

Dr. Samar Safi-Harb of the University of Manitoba will be investigating with ASTRO-H the high-energy phenomena associated with the supernova explosions of massive stars that form some of the most exotic compact objects in the Universe: neutron stars. These phenomena include particle acceleration of cosmic rays to extremely high energies, the formation of the heavy elements essential for life, and the physics of the extreme associated with neutron stars and their associated high-energy nebulae. Such studies will be enabled by ASTRO-H's combination of its broadband X-ray spectroscopic coverage, hard X-ray focusing capability, and the unprecedented spectral resolution offered by its X-ray micro-calorimeter.

Dr. Brian McNamara, Professor of Physics and Astronomy and University Research Chair in Astrophysics at the University of Waterloo, will use ASTRO-H to study powerful outbursts from massive black holes located at the centers of galaxy clusters. The energy released by matter falling onto supermassive black holes weighing more than one billion suns is equivalent to the mechanical energy of ten billion supernova explosions. This energy drives outflows of chemically-enriched gas hundreds of thousands of light years into space. ASTRO-H will measure the mass and speed of the outflowing gas, allowing McNamara's team to determine the rate at which supermassive black holes are growing. The measurements will also help to unravel the nature of the mysterious extragalactic "radio jets," which are streams of energetic particles flowing from the centres of galaxies at nearly the speed of light. ASTRO-H will advance our understanding of energetic feedback from supermassive black holes, an area in which Dr. McNamara is a recognized expert.

Le Canada, partenaire dans la construction du futur observatoire spatial à rayons X japonais

Lancement : 2015
État : en phase de développement

De nouveaux yeux dotés de rayons X révèleront les événements les plus cataclysmiques à se produire dans le cosmos

Illustration d'artiste de l'observatoire ASTRO-H

Illustration d'artiste de l'observatoire ASTRO-H. (Source : JAXA)

Imaginez-vous être capable de scruter les recoins les plus profonds de gigantesques trous noirs et les vestiges d'explosions stellaires titanesques. Voilà exactement la mission du satellite ASTRO-H, un imposant télescope spatial à rayons X de nouvelle génération qui est actuellement en cours d'élaboration par l'Agence d'exploration aérospatiale japonaise (JAXA) (anglais seulement) en collaboration avec les États-Unis, l'Europe et, désormais, le Canada, par le biais de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC).

L'observatoire ASTRO-H, dont le lancement est prévu pour 2015, sera équipé de cinq télescopes et détecteurs à rayons X spécialisés. Ensemble, ces instruments observeront des sources cosmiques de rayons X à une résolution sans précédent. Grâce à cette grande sensibilité, ASTRO-H explorera les phénomènes les plus énergétiques et les plus mystérieux de l'univers, lesquels impliquent des particules à haute énergie ne pouvant pas être facilement produites dans les laboratoires terrestres.

Une technologie de précision canadienne à bord

Le Canada participe à la conception de l'un des plus importants instruments de l'engin spatial, soit le télescope à rayons X durs. Celui-ci sera déployé à l'extrémité d'un mât de six mètres qui devra posséder la capacité de pivoter et de plier, en raison des vibrations en orbite et des transitions jour-nuit extrêmes que subira l'engin spatial dans son orbite à 550 km de la Terre, où les températures oscillent entre -30 °C et +40 °C.

Reconnaissant l'expertise canadienne en systèmes optiques et de vision spatiaux, la JAXA a approché l'ASC en 2009 pour étudier la possibilité que le Canada fournisse un système de mesure novateur pour le télescope à rayons X durs de la mission. Après la phase de définition conceptuelle de la mission, Neptec Design Group, une entreprise d'Ottawa, en Ontario, s'est vue attribuer un contrat par l'ASC pour la conception du Système canadien de métrologie du satellite ASTRO-H (CAMS). Le CAMS servira à mesurer les déformations du mât avec un degré d'exactitude équivalent à la largeur d'un cheveu humain, ce qui permettra aux opérateurs de la mission de calibrer les données du télescope à rayons X durs et d'améliorer de manière importante les performances de celui-ci.

En échange de cette pièce d'équipement essentielle, le Canada assure la place d'institutions canadiennes au sein du groupe de travail scientifique de la mission, qui comprend des scientifiques de renom provenant de partout sur la planète, en particulier du Japon, des États-Unis et de l'Europe. On offrira aux membres du groupe un accès prioritaire au temps d'observation avec le télescope spatial peu après son lancement pour environ neuf mois. Par la suite, tous les scientifiques, y compris les astronomes canadiens, auront accès aux données recueillies.

L'ASC a sélectionné trois astronomes canadiens pour représenter le Canada au sein du groupe de travail scientifique et appuyer le projet du CAMS :

  • Luigi Gallo, chercheur principal pour le CAMS, Université Saint Mary's;
  • Brian McNamara, Université de Waterloo;
  • Samar Safi-Harb, Université du Manitoba.

Le soutien financier offert par l'ASC permettra à ces scientifiques de poursuivre et d'approfondir leurs recherches en astronomie spatiale dans le cadre de la mission ASTRO-H, ainsi que de participer aux réunions du groupe de travail scientifique international de la mission ASTRO-H au Japon et ailleurs dans le monde.

Illustration du CAMS à bord d'ASTRO-H

Illustration du CAMS à bord d'ASTRO-H. Le CAMS est composé de deux modules (d'environ 15 centimètres cube chacun) comportant des lasers montés sur le satellite et d'un réflecteur prismatique installé à l'extrémité du mât de six mètres de l'observatoire spatial, où se trouvent aussi les capteurs du télescope à rayons X durs. Les modules du CAMS émettent des rayons laser par impulsion rapide vers le réflecteur prismatique qui renvoie le rayon vers les modules, permettant ainsi de calculer les déplacements latéraux à un degré d'exactitude équivalent à la largeur d'un cheveu humain (soit environ 60 micromètres). En comparant les déplacements latéraux mesurés par chaque capteur, il est possible de déterminer la rotation du télescope autour de son axe principal et les données recueillies pendant le temps d'observation peuvent être calibrées à un degré d'exactitude beaucoup plus élevé que si le système de mesure canadien n'était pas en place. (Source : ASC)

Astronomie de pointe : la chasse aux prédateurs cosmiques

ASTRO-H permettra d'examiner attentivement les profondeurs de trous noirs super massifs qui se cachent au cœur des jeunes galaxies éloignées. Les astronomes espèrent pouvoir jeter un coup d'œil pour la première fois au fonctionnement interne du plus gros de ces prédateurs galactiques, lesquels sont des milliards de fois plus massifs que notre soleil.

Au moyen d'ASTRO-H, on cherchera aussi à éclaircir les mystères entourant les vestiges des explosions stellaires, aussi appelées supernovae. Les astronomes croient que tout ce qui se trouve dans le cosmos, même les humains, a été créé à partir d'éléments lourds formés en grande partie à l'intérieur d'anciennes supernovae. Grâce à son incomparable résolution spectrale et à sa capacité de concentrer des rayons X de haute énergie, ASTRO-H permettra d'obtenir les mesures les plus précises jamais obtenues des ingrédients chimiques qui sont à l'origine de ces colossales explosions cosmiques, et il sondera les sites d'accélération des particules à haute énergie.

Selon le chercheur principal du Canada pour la mission ASTRO-H, Luigi Gallo, la mission représente une occasion unique pour le Canada. En effet, ce sera la première fois que le Canada participera à une mission d'astronomie qui permettra d'explorer l'univers invisible à un niveau de détail sans précédent à l'aide des rayons X. En raison de la participation de l'ASC à la mission ASTRO-H, « les scientifiques canadiens ont la chance d'être parmi les premiers à pouvoir utiliser ce télescope astronomique unique », a affirmé Gallo, professeur d'astronomie à l'Université St. Mary's, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. « Il ne fait aucun doute que nous ferons des découvertes majeures lorsque le télescope sera fonctionnel dans trois ans. »

M. Gallo utilisera à bon escient le temps d'observation du télescope ASTRO-H qui lui sera alloué pour étudier les fluctuations des rayons X émis par les trous noirs super massifs. On pense que ces fluctuations dans les quantités de rayons X correspondent exactement à la quantité de matière engloutie par les trous noirs : les étoiles, gaz et nuages de poussière avoisinants balayés de la région interne de la galaxie. À mesure que la matière est aspirée par la force gravitationnelle du trou noir, elle est détruite et chauffée à des températures considérables, renvoyant ainsi des rayonnements dans l'espace, lesquels seront détectés par ASTRO-H.

Les astronomes pensent qu'au début de la vie d'une galaxie, un trou noir super massif avale la majorité de la matière qui l'entoure au cœur de la galaxie. L'activité du trou noir diminue lorsqu'il n'y a plus de matière cosmique à happer. Ce vorace prédateur cosmique permet donc à son hôte de devenir une galaxie normale (à l'instar de notre Voie lactée).

ASTRO-H permettra d'observer les régions les plus proches des trous noirs géants, où les émissions de rayons X sont les plus importantes. Ainsi, non seulement les astronomes comprendront mieux la façon dont ces prédateurs cosmiques évoluent, mais aussi la façon dont les galaxies comme la nôtre prennent forme.

Pour sa part, Samar Safi-Harb, de l'Université du Manitoba, se servira d'ASTRO-H pour étudier les phénomènes de haute énergie associés aux explosions d'étoiles massives qui entraînent la formation des objets compacts les plus exotiques de l'univers : les étoiles à neutrons. Ces phénomènes incluent l'accélération des particules des rayons cosmiques à de très hautes énergies, la formation d'éléments lourds essentiels à la vie et la physique des extrêmes liée aux étoiles à neutrons et aux nébuleuses de haute énergie connexes. Ces études pourront être réalisées grâce à différentes caractéristiques d'ASTRO-H, notamment sa capacité de couverture spectroscopique à large bande des rayons X, sa capacité de concentration des rayons X durs et l'incomparable résolution spectrale offerte par son microcalorimètre à rayons X.

Brian McNamara, professeur de physique et d'astronomie à l'Université de Waterloo et président de la chaire de recherche en astrophysique à la même université, utilisera ASTRO-H pour étudier les puissants rejets de trous noirs massifs situés au centre de noyaux galactiques. L'énergie libérée par la matière aspirée dans les trous noirs super massifs aussi denses qu'un milliard de soleils équivaut à l'énergie mécanique libérée par l'explosion de dix milliards de supernovae. Cette énergie provoque le rejet de gaz chimiquement enrichi à des centaines de milliers d'années-lumière dans l'espace. ASTRO-H mesurera la masse et la vitesse du gaz rejeté, permettant ainsi à l'équipe de M. McNamara de déterminer la vitesse de croissance des trous noirs super massifs. Les mesures aideront aussi à comprendre la nature des mystérieux « jets radios » extragalactiques, des torrents de particules s'échappant du centre des galaxies à une vitesse proche de celle de la lumière. ASTRO-H nous permettra d'approfondir nos connaissances en ce qui concerne la rétroaction énergétique des trous noirs super massifs, un domaine dans lequel Brian McNamara est un expert reconnu.