Mission STS-118

Banner of the STS-118

Mission Description

Patch STS-118

Patch STS-118
(Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

[D]


Launch

Date: August 8, 2007


Landing

Date: August 21, 2007


Flight Number: STS-118

Orbiter Vehicle: Endeavour

From August 8 to 21, 2007

Launched on August 8, 2007, the top priority of mission STS-118 is to deliver and assemble the S5 truss segment to the International Space Station (ISS). The 11 + 3 day mission marks the 22nd shuttle trip to the ISS, and the 20th flight of space shuttle Endeavour.

Canada's contribution is once again crucial. During the mission, astronaut Dave Williams, a veteran of shuttle mission STS-90, will set a Canadian record by spending over 19 h outside the space station during three scheduled spacewalks. In addition, Canadian-made robotics and sensor technologies will help ensure the success of the mission and the safety of the shuttle and crew.

This summer, Canadian innovation and ingenuity will be in the spotlight as the crew of the space shuttle Endeavour launches into space to continue the challenging task of assembling the world's biggest and most ambitious engineering project, the ISS.

Larger image of Space Shuttle Endeavour - STS-113 launch in 2002

Space Shuttle Endeavour – STS-113 launch in 2002. (Credit: NASA)

Launched on August 8, 2007, the top priority of mission STS-118 is to deliver and assemble the S5 truss segment to the ISS. The 11 + 3 day mission marks the 22nd shuttle trip to the ISS, and the 20th flight of space shuttle Endeavour.

Canada's contribution is once again crucial. During the mission, astronaut Dave Williams, a veteran of shuttle mission STS-90, will set a Canadian record by spending over 19 h outside the space station during three scheduled spacewalks. In addition, Canadian-made robotics and sensor technologies will help ensure the success of the mission and the safety of the shuttle and crew.

Joining Canadian Dave Williams on STS-118 will be Commander Scott Kelly (veteran of mission STS-103), Pilot Charles Hobaugh (STS-104), and mission specialists Richard Mastracchio (STS-106), Tracy Caldwell, Benjamin Alvin Drew and Barbara Morgan, NASA's first Educator-Astronaut. As the very first Educator Astronaut, Barbara Morgan will use NASA's "Teacher in Space" program to inspire and engage students by providing a bridge between space exploration and their classrooms.

Building the Station from the ground up

Transport and assembly of vital equipment for the ISS is the most critical part of the STS-118 mission. Tasks for Dave Williams and the crew include delivery and construction of the S5 truss segment, a 3.2 m by 4.5 m aluminium structure at a weight of approximately 5000 lb. (2267.96  kg); the external stowage platform three (ESP3), an external pallet that can securely hold spare parts or Orbital Replacement Units for the station; and, a replacement Control Moment Gyro, an attitude control device used to control the orientation of the station. The crew will also deliver supplies and equipment via the SPACEHAB single cargo module riding in Endeavour's payload bay.

Integrated truss structure

In addition, the crew will also work to assemble the Station-Shuttle Power Transfer System (SSPTS), an upgraded power distribution module that will allow the shuttle to draw power from the ISS power supply. Mission managers for STS-118 could add three more days and an additional spacewalk after the SSPTS is activated and checked out.

Canadian astronaut to participate in three spacewalks

When members of the crew don their spacesuits and prepare to head out into the dark reaches of space, Canadian talent will be front and centre. Astronaut Williams will participate in three of the four planned spacewalks, more than any other Canadian astronaut during a single mission, all while installing vital equipment and moving pieces of hardware around the station. During these spacewalks, it's estimated that Williams will spend about 19.5 h in his spacesuit, floating in the vacuum of space. (Only if the SSPTS works as planned, will Astronaut Williams perform three spacewalks: EVA1, EVA2 and EVA4.)

On flight day four (FD4), he will step out of the station marking Canadian space history as he joins Canadian astronauts Chris Hadfield and Steve MacLean in the limited club of spacewalkers. Although he may be struck by the beauty of the scenery, much work will need to be accomplished. For one, the spacewalkers Dave Williams and Rick Mastracchio will provide visual cues to Charles Hobaugh at the controls of the Canadarm2 as he attempts to lock into place the S5 truss. While cameras are essential for the operation, the astronauts' indications will be critical to properly line up the structures to ensure successful assembly.

Larger image of Dave Williams replacing the Control Moment Gyro.

Dave Williams replacing the Control Moment Gyro during a simulated spacewalk in the Neutral Buoyancy Laboratory (NBL) at the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas. (Credit: NASA)

The second spacewalk scheduled for flight day six (FD6) will be the highlight for Dave Williams. Not only will he be doing a second spacewalk, he will also be riding the Canadarm2 during most of the walk. A Canadian at the end of a Canadian technology masterpiece... a true picture of Canadian success! For this walk, astronaut Williams will work to replace the station's Control Moment Gyro (CMG) 3 (as illustrated in the picture above). Attached to the end of the Canadarm2, he will lift the CMG, similar in size to a washing machine, and move it from the shuttle payload bay to the Z1 truss (located near the center of the Integrated Truss Structure) where it will replace a defective CMG.

Dave Williams will take part in his third spacewalk, setting a Canadian record for the longest time spent outside in space, on flight day ten as he will be part of the mission's fourth spacewalk. Tasks for this walk include installing the support equipment for the Orbiter Boom Sensor System (OBSS) on the S1 truss and mounting new hardware on the station.

In addition to spacewalking, Dave Williams will conduct a Canadian scientific experiment called "Perceptual Motor Deficits in Space" (PMDIS). The experiment, designed to measure astronauts' eye-hand coordination while they are in space, marks the first time a Canadian performs the test in space.

Canadian technology: ensuring the safety and success of the mission

As soon as the Shuttle reaches orbit, Canadian technology comes into action to ensure the safety of the shuttle and its crew. From day one to day three of the mission, MDA's Orbiter Boom Sensor System OBSS—a Canadian-made 15-metre extension of the shuttle's Canadarm—is teamed up with Neptec's Canadian-made laser camera to help the crew examine the shuttle for any sign of damage that could jeopardize the shuttle during re-entry. The OBSS gives the crew the crucial reach they need to inspect the hard-to-see areas of the shuttle, including the thermal tiles on its underside.



Canadian handoff of the P5 truss section during mission STS-116 in December 2006. (Credit: NASA)

Once docked to the station, the Canadarm2 will play a critical role in the assembly operations. The arm will be deployed in three of the four spacewalks to help the astronauts complete a range of complex tasks, including the assembly of the S5 truss segment, transporting Dave Williams for 6.5 h as he replaces the station's Control Moment Gyro 3, and the transfer of the ESP-3. Operations of the Canadarm2 are controlled by operators via a Canadian-built robotic workstation located inside the station's U.S. Laboratory module Destiny.

During this flight, the renowned Canadarm and its next generation arm, the Canadarm2, will work hand-in-hand bringing support to the astronauts in building the ISS. On flight day three, the two robotic devices will execute a "robotic handshake" as the Canadarm picks up the S5 truss segment from the shuttle's payload bay and deftly passes it to the Canadarm2 in preparation for installation. On flight day seven , the same operation using both arms will be repeated to reposition the ESP-3. During this particular manoeuvre, as the Canadarm2 grapples the platform, the arm will provide it power in order to get video feedback from ESP-3 cameras. This will be a first time attempt and will provide new types of images to Charles Hobaugh at the controls of the Canadarm2.

Canadian flight controllers at the Johnson Space Centre in Houston, Texas, and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) headquarters in Longueuil, Quebec, also provide essential support for the space robotics operations. Working closely with the STS-118 crew, the Canadian controllers oversee the robotic activities ensuring that the complex operations of the Canadarm2 go exactly as planned.

Canadian space program continues to grow



Dextre, Special Purpose Dexterous Manipulator (Credit: NASA)

From the very beginning, Canada has played a leading role in the creation of the space station. Mission STS-118 strengthens Canada's growing involvement with the ISS, utilizing Canadian talent and technology on a higher scale than ever before.

In less than a year, Canada's third and final element of its contribution to the ISS, Dextre, a two-arm robot, will be sent, assembled in space and ready to be activated. It will provide an alternative to spacewalking astronauts, considerably reducing the amount of time that they have to venture out of the space station to perform demanding tasks in a hostile environment, and providing more time for them to perform science. Dextre will be flown to space as part of mission STS-123, currently set for launch in 2008.

Mission STS-118 Crew (Credit: NASA)

Mission STS-118 Crew

From left to right.
Richard A. (Rick) Mastracchio, mission specialist; Barbara R. Morgan, mission specialist; Charles O. Hobaugh, pilot; Scott J. Kelly, commander; Tracy E. Caldwell, Canadian Space Agency's Dafydd R. (Dave) Williams, and Alvin Drew Jr., all mission specialists.

Mission STS-118

Bannière de la mission STS-118

Description de la mission

Écusson de la mission STS-118

Écusson de la mission STS-118
(Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)

[D]


Lancement

Date : 08 août 2007


Atterrissage

Date : 21 août 2007


Orbiteur : Endeavour

Numéro de vol : STS-118

Du 8 au 21 août 2007

La mission STS-118, dont le lancement a eu lieu le 8 août 2007, a pour grande priorité de livrer le segment de poutre S5 et de l'installer sur la Station spatiale internationale (ISS). Cette mission de 11 + 3 jours marquera le 22e voyage de la navette à destination de l'ISS et le 20e vol d'Endeavour.

Cette fois-ci encore, la contribution du Canada sera essentielle. En effet, l'astronaute canadien Dave Williams, vétéran de la mission STS-90, établira un record canadien puisqu'il passera plus de 19 h à l'extérieur de la station spatiale au cours de trois sorties prévues. De plus, des éléments robotiques et des capteurs de fabrication canadienne contribueront au succès de la mission ainsi qu'à la sécurité de la navette et de son équipage.

L'innovation et l'ingéniosité canadiennes seront sous les feux de la rampe lorsque l'équipage de la navette spatiale Endeavour se rendra dans l'espace cet été pour y poursuivre les activités complexes d'assemblage du projet technologique le plus vaste et le plus ambitieux au monde, l'ISS.

Image plus grande de la navette spatiale Endeavour

La navette spatiale Endeavour lors de la mission STS-113 en 2002. (Source : NASA)

La mission STS-118, dont le lancement a eu lieu le 8 août 2007, a pour grande priorité de livrer le segment de poutre S5 et de l'installer sur l'ISS. Cette mission de 11 + 3 jours marquera le 22e voyage de la navette à destination de l'ISS et le 20e vol d'Endeavour.

Cette fois-ci encore, la contribution du Canada sera essentielle. En effet, l'astronaute canadien Dave Williams, vétéran de la mission STS-90, établira un record canadien puisqu'il passera plus de 19 h à l'extérieur de la station spatiale au cours de trois sorties prévues. De plus, des éléments robotiques et des capteurs de fabrication canadienne contribueront au succès de la mission ainsi qu'à la sécurité de la navette et de son équipage.

Se joindront au Canadien Dave Williams dans le cadre de la mission STS-118, le commandant Scott Kelly (vétéran de la mission STS-103), le pilote Charles Hobaugh (STS-104) ainsi que les spécialistes de mission Richard Mastracchio (STS-106), Tracy Caldwell, Benjamin Alvin Drew et Barbara Morgan, astronaute éducateur de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration NASA. à titre de toute première astronaute éducatrice, Barbara Morgan mettra à profit le programme Teacher in Space (Enseignant dans l'espace) de la NASA pour inspirer et mobiliser les élèves en faisant le lien entre l'exploration spatiale et leurs salles de classe.

Construire la station de A à Z

Le transport et l'assemblage de matériel indispensable pour l'ISS constituent le volet essentiel de la mission STS-118. Dave Williams et ses coéquipiers seront notamment chargés de livrer et de construire le segment de poutre S5, une structure en aluminium de 3,2 m sur 4,5 m pesant 5000 lb environ (2267,96 kg), la plateforme de rangement externe trois ESP-3, une palette extérieure pouvant loger des pièces de rechange ou des unités remplaçables en orbite, ainsi qu'un CMG de remplacement, un dispositif de contrôle d'attitude servant à maintenir l'orientation de la station. L'équipage livrera également des fournitures et du matériel à l'aide du module cargo simple SPACEHAB qui se déplace dans la soute d'Endeavour.

Poutre intégrée

De plus, l'équipage travaillera à l'assemblage du système de transfert d'électricité station-navette (SSPTS), un module de distribution électrique amélioré qui une fois branché, permettra à la navette de puiser dans l'alimentation électrique de l'ISS. Les gestionnaires de la mission STS-118 décideront alors d'ajouter trois jours à la mission et une sortie spatiale.

Participation de l'astronaute canadien à trois sorties dans l'espace

Le talent canadien sera porté à l'avant-plan lorsque les membres de l'équipage enfileront leur combinaison et se prépareront à affronter l'obscurité de l'espace. L'astronaute Williams participera à trois sorties sur les quatre prévues, soit plus que le nombre de sorties effectuées par tout autre Canadien au cours d'une seule mission. Il installera de l'équipement essentiel et déplacera des éléments autour de la station. On estime que Dave Williams passera ainsi près de 19,5 h dans sa combinaison à flotter dans le vide spatial. (La quatrième sortie spatiale ne se tiendra que si le SSPTS fonctionne et que la mission est prolongée de trois jours. Ainsi, l'astronaute Williams participerait aux sorties 1, 2 et 4.)

Le quatrième jour de vol JV4, il marquera l'histoire spatiale canadienne lorsqu'il mettra le pied hors de la station et rejoindra les astronautes canadiens Chris Hadfield et Steve MacLean dans le club restreint des marcheurs de l'espace. Il sera sans doute frappé par la beauté du décor, mais il aura beaucoup de travail sur la planche. Pour commencer, Dave Williams et Rick Mastracchio fourniront des repères visuels à Charles Hobaugh qui, aux commandes du Canadarm2, tentera de verrouiller la poutre S5 en place. Même si les caméras sont essentielles pour cette opération, les indications des astronautes seront indispensables pour assurer le bon alignement des structures et la réussite de l'assemblage.

Image plus grande de Dave Williams remplaçant l'actionneur gyroscopique.

Dave Williams remplace l'CMG au cours d'une sortie spatiale simulée dans la piscine d'entraînement (NBL) au centre spatial Johnson à Houston, au Texas. (Source : NASA)

La deuxième sortie, prévue le sixième jour de vol JV6, sera un grand moment pour Dave Williams. Non seulement sortira-t-il pour la deuxième fois dans l'espace, mais il chevauchera aussi le Canadarm2 durant presque toute la sortie. Un Canadien à la pointe du chef-d'œuvre technologique du Canada... voilà une belle illustration de la réussite canadienne! Au cours de cette sortie, l'astronaute Williams remplacera l'actionneur gyroscopique (CMG) trois (illustré dans l'image ci-dessous) de la station. Fixé à l'extrémité du Canadarm2, il soulèvera le CMG, qui a la taille d'une machine à laver, et l'amènera de la soute de la navette jusqu'à la poutre Z1 (située près du centre de la poutre intégrée) où il remplacera un CMG défectueux.

Lorsque, le dixième jour de vol, Dave Williams sortira de la station pour la troisième fois, il participera à la quatrième sortie extravéhiculaire de la mission et établira le record canadien du temps passé à l'extérieur dans l'espace. Les tâches prévues consisteront à installer le matériel de soutien destiné à la perche d'inspection Orbiter Boom Sensor System (OBSS) sur la poutre S1 et à monter du nouveau matériel sur la station.

Outre ses activités extravéhiculaires, Dave Williams mènera l'expérience canadienne Perceptual Motor Deficits in Space (PMDIS) sur les déficits de perception et de motricité dans l'espace, qui sert à mesurer la coordination œil-main des astronautes en orbite. Ce sera la première fois qu'un astronaute canadien fait l'expérience PMDIS dans l'espace.

La technologie canadienne assure la sécurité et le succès de la mission

Dès que la navette arrive en orbite, la technologie canadienne est mise à contribution pour assurer la sécurité de la navette et de son équipage. Du premier au troisième jours de la mission, la perche d'inspection OBSS de MDA – une rallonge canadienne de 15 m pour le Canadarm de la navette – est jumelée à la caméra laser canadienne de Neptec pour aider l'équipage à examiner si la navette n'a pas subi de dommages susceptibles de compromettre sa rentrée dans l'atmosphère à son retour. La perche donne à l'équipage la portée nécessaire pour inspecter les zones de la navette difficiles à atteindre, notamment les tuiles du bouclier thermique en sa partie inférieure.



« Poignée de mains robotiques » lors du transfert du segment P5 de la poutrelle de la station lors de la mission STS-116 en décembre 2006. (Source : NASA)

Une fois la navette amarrée à la station, le Canadarm2 jouera un rôle essentiel dans les opérations d'assemblage. Le bras sera déployé au cours de trois sorties sur les quatre prévues. Il aidera les astronautes à effectuer toute une série de tâches complexes, notamment l'assemblage de la poutre S5. Il transportera Dave Williams pendant 6,5 h lorsque celui-ci remplacera le CMG trois. Il transférera aussi la plateforme ESP-3. Le Canadarm2 est commandé par des opérateurs depuis un poste de travail robotique canadien situé à l'intérieur de la station, dans le module laboratoire américain Destiny.

Au cours de cette mission, le réputé Canadarm et le Canadarm2, travailleront de pair pour appuyer les astronautes dans la construction de la station spatiale. Le troisième jour de vol, on assistera à une « poignée de mains robotiques » lorsque le Canadarm saisira le segment de poutre S5 dans la soute de la navette pour le remettre avec dextérité au Canadarm2 en vue de son installation. Le septième jour de vol, on répétera la même opération avec les deux bras pour repositionner la plateforme ESP-3. Pendant cette manœuvre particulière, le Canadarm2 agrippera la plateforme et l'alimentera en électricité afin que l'on puisse obtenir des images vidéo captées par les caméras ESP-3. Ce sera la toute première tentative de ce genre qui devrait permettre de fournir de nouveaux types d'images à Charles Hobaugh aux commandes du Canadarm2.

Les contrôleurs de vol canadiens au centre spatial Johnson à Houston, au Texas, et au siège social de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) à Longueuil, au Québec, assurent également un soutien essentiel à ces opérations. En étroite collaboration avec l'équipage STS-118, ils supervisent les activités robotiques et veillent à ce que les opérations complexes du Canadarm2 se déroulent exactement comme prévu.

Le Programme spatial canadien continue à grandir



Dextre, manipulateur agile spécialisé (Source : NASA)

Le Canada a joué dès le début un rôle déterminant dans la construction de la station spatiale. La mission STS-118 vient renforcer la participation croissante du Canada à l'ISS en exploitant les technologies et les talents canadiens à une échelle plus vaste que jamais auparavant.

Dans moins d'un an, le troisième et dernier élément de la contribution du Canada à la ISS , Dextre – un robot à deux bras – sera envoyé dans l'espace, y sera assemblé et sera prêt à être activé. Il offrira une alternative aux sorties des astronautes. Il permettra en effet de réduire considérablement le temps que ceux-ci devront passer à l'extérieur de la station pour effectuer des tâches exigeantes dans un milieu hostile, leur laissant ainsi la possibilité de se consacrer plus longuement à des activités scientifiques. Dextre sera envoyé dans l'espace au cours de la mission STS-123, actuellement prévue pour 2008.

Image plus grande de l'équipage de la Mission STS-118 (Source : NASA)

L'équipage de la mission STS-118

De gauche à droite : Richard Mastracchio, spécialiste de mission, Barbara Morgan, astronaute éducatrice, Charles Hobaugh, pilote, Scott Kelly, commandant, Tracy Caldwell, spécialiste de mission, Dave Williams, spécialiste de mission et Benjamin Alvin Drew Jr., spécialiste de mission.