Mission STS-077

Banner of the STS-077

Mission Description

Patch STS-77

Patch STS-77
(Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

[D]


Launch

Date: May 19, 1996

Time: 06:30:00 a.m. EST

Site: Kennedy Space Center (KSC)


Landing

Date: May 29, 1996

Time: 7:09:18 a.m. EST

Site: Kennedy Space Center (KSC)


Mission Duration: 10 days 0 h 40 min 10 s

Flight Number: STS-77

Orbiter Vehicle: Endeavour

Payloads:
Commercial Float Zone Furnace (CFZF), Aquatic Research Facility (ARF), Nanocrystal Get Away Special (NANO-GAS)
Atlantic Canada Thin Organic Semiconductors (ACTORS), Spacehab-4, Spartan 207/Inflatable Antenna Experiment (IAE), Technology Experiments Advancing Missions in Space (TEAMS), Brilliant Eyes Ten-Kelvin Sorption Crycooler Experiment (BETSCE), Gas Bridge Assembly (GBA), Get-Away Special Canisters (GAS), Reduced-Fill Tank Pressure Control Experiment (RFTPCE).

May 27 to June 6, 1999

Canadian talent and expertise figured prominently on Shuttle Mission STS-77. Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut Marc Garneau celebrated his second flight into space. As well, Canadian scientific experiments onboard Space Shuttle Endeavour were part of the flight: the Commercial Float Zone Furnace (CFZF), the Aquatic Research Facility (ARF), the Nanocrystal Get Away Special nano crystal "get-away special" (NANO-GAS) and the Atlantic Canada thin organic semiconductor (ACTORS). On orbit, Marc Garneau was responsible for the CFZF.

The Canadarm deployed and retrieved Spartan: a scientific satellite that offered a simple, reusable and relatively low-cost method of collecting valuable scientific data on a wide range of scientific problems. Dr. Garneau maneuvered the Canadarm for the retrieval operations.

Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, who flew on Mission STS-74 only six months prior, was Capsule Communicator (CAPCOM) for STS-77, providing the only direct voice-link between Mission Control and the astronauts in the Space Shuttle.

Mission STS-77 Crew (Credit: NASA)

Mission STS-77 Crew

From left to right.
Daniel W. Bursch, Curtis L. Brown, Mario Runco, Marc Garneau, John H. Casper and Andrew S.W. Thomas.

Mission STS-77

Bannière de la mission STS-77

Description de la mission

Écusson de la mission STS-77

Écusson de la mission STS-77
(Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)

[D]


Lancement

Date : 19 mai 1996

Heure : 6 h 30 min 0 s HNE

Site : Centre spatial Kennedy (KSC)


Atterrissage

Date : 29 mai 1996

Heure : 7 h 09 min 18 s HNE

Site : Centre spatial Kennedy (KSC)


Durée de la mission : 10 jours 40 min 10 s

Numéro de vol : STS-77

Orbiteur : Endeavour

Charges utiles :
Spacehab-4, SPARTAN 207/Inflatable Antenna Experiment (IAE), Technology Experiments, Advancing Missions in Space (TEAMS), Brilliant Eyes Ten-Kelvin Sorption Crycooler Experiment (BETSCE), Gas Bridge Assembly (GBA), Get-Away Special Canisters (GAS), Reduced-Fill Tank Pressure Control Experiment (RFTPCE).

Du 19 au 29 mai 1996

Le talent et les compétences des Canadiens ont été à l'avant-scène de la mission STS-77. L'astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) Marc Garneau en était à son deuxième vol dans l'espace et plusieurs expériences scientifiques canadiennes ont voyagé à bord de la navette spatiale Endeavour : le four commercial à zone flottante (CFZF), l'installation aquatique de recherche (ARF), le Get Away Special sur les nanocristaux Charge utile (NANO-GAS) et Semi-conducteur organique mince du Canada atlantique (ACTORS). Une fois en orbite, Marc Garneau était responsable du CFZF.

Le Canadarm a servi à déployer et à récupérer Spartan : un satellite scientifique qui offrait un moyen simple, réutilisable et peu coûteux de recueillir des données précieuses concernant une vaste gamme de problèmes scientifiques. Marc Garneau a manœuvré le Canadarm afin de récupérer le satellite en orbite.

De plus, l'astronaute canadien Chris Hadfield, dont la participation à la mission STS-74 remontait à moins de six mois, a agi à titre de Capsule Communicator (CAPCOM) pour la mission. C'est lui qui a maintenu le seul contact vocal direct entre le centre de contrôle de mission et les astronautes à bord de la navette spatiale.

L'équipage de la mission STS-77 (Source : NASA)

L'équipage de la mission STS-77

De gauche à droite.
Daniel W. Bursch, Curtis L. Brown, Mario Runco, Marc Garneau, John H. Casper et Andrew S.W. Thomas