Mission STS-41-G

Banner of the STS-41-G

Mission Description

Patch STS-41-G

Patch STS-41-G
(Credit: Canadian Space Agency)

[D]


Launch

Date: October 5, 1984

Time: 7:03 a.m. EDT

Site: Kennedy Space Center (KSC)


Landing

Date: October 13, 1984

Time: 12:26 p.m. EDT

Site: Kennedy Space Center (KSC)


Mission Duration: 8 days 5 h 23 min 33 s

Flight Number: STS-41-G

Orbiter Vehicle: Challenger

Payloads:
Earth Radiation Budget Satellite (ERBS) Getaway Specials - 6 (GAS), compagnie cinématographique canadienne (IMAX), appareil photo grand format (LFC), Orbital Refueling System (ORS), Office of Space and Terrestrial Applications (Palette OSTA-3).

From October 5 to 13, 1984

Marc Garneau conducted 10 experiments in three main categories: space technology, space science and life sciences. The space technology experiments involve two areas: important development tests for the NRCC Space Vision System experiment to be flown on a mission in early 1986 and tests to determine the effect of exposure to space on different advanced composite materials.

Each experiment were to be conducted on specific days of the mission. Besides conducting the experiments, Garneau did his share of housekeeping duties such as making meals and stowing and unstowing equipment. He also helped in any job that "needed three hands" such as taking notes for others and arranging for others to do the same for him.

The space science studies deal with the physical characteristics of thespace environment and of the earth's upper atmosphere. The life sciences component includes several experiments on human adaptation to space flight as preparation for the more detailed investigations on a mission in mid-1986.

Personal hygiene also took its share of time - hand-washing takes twice as long in space as it does on Earth and shaving with an electric shaver, up to three times longer. Even sleeping is different in a space environment. In order to get his eight hours of sleep each mission day, he had to attach himself to some spot in the mid-deck with Velcro to keep from floating freely.

Garneau used a combination of filling out check lists and spoke into a tape recorder to record the conditions under which the experiments are performed and their results.

All the equipment he needed for the 10 experiments fitted into one locker about half the size of a legal size filing cabinet drawer.

Mission STS-41-G Crew (Credit: NASA)

Mission STS-41-G Crew

(Seated left to right) Jon A. McBride, pilot; mission specialists Sally K. Ride, Kathryn D. Sullivan, and David C. Leestma. Standing in the rear, left to right, are payload specialists Paul D. Scully-Power and Marc Garneau with crew commander Robert L. Crippen in the middle.

Mission STS-41-G

Bannière de la mission STS-41-G

Description de la mission

Écusson de la mission STS-41-G

Écusson de la mission STS-41-G
(Source : Agence spatiale canadienne)

[D]


Lancement

Date : 5 octobre 1984

Heure : 7 h 3 min HAE

Site : Centre spatial Kennedy (KSC)


Atterrissage

Date : 13 octobre 1984

Heure : 12 h 26 min HAE

Site : Centre spatial Kennedy (KSC)


Durée de la mission : 8 jours 5 h 23 min 33 s

Numéro de vol : STS-41-G

Orbiteur : Challenger

Charges utiles :
Earth Radiation Budget Satellite (ERBS), Getaway Specials - 6 (GAS), compagnie cinématographique canadienne (IMAX), appareil photo grand format (LFC), Orbital Refueling System (ORS), Office of Space and Terrestrial Applications, Palette (OSTA-3).

Du 5 au 13 octobre 1984

Marc Garneau a procédé à dix expériences dans trois domaines principaux, soit la technologie spatiale, les sciences spatiales et les sciences de la vie. Les expériences relatives à la technologie spatiale touchaient deux domaines, à savoir : d'importants essais de mise au point de l'expérience relative au système de vision spatiale du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, qui a été utilisé lors d'une mission au début de 1986, et des essais pour déterminer les effets de l'exposition à l'environnement spatial de divers matériaux composites de pointe.

Un jour spécifique de la mission avait été réservé pour chaque expérience. En plus des expériences prévues, Marc Garneau a participé à la préparation des repas, à la mise en batterie et à la remise en place de l'équipement. Il a également apporté son aide pour tous les travaux exigeant « trois mains », comme prendre des notes pour ses coéquipiers. Il devait aussi trouver parmi ceux-ci quelqu'un qui acceptait de faire la même chose pour lui.

L'hygiène personnelle a également occupé une partie de l'horaire puisque se laver les mains dans l'espace est deux fois plus long que sur Terre et se raser l'est trois fois plus. Même dormir est différent dans un environnement spatial, car les astronautes doivent s'attacher à quelques points de la cabine avec des bandes velcro pour éviter de flotter en apesanteur.

Des listes de contrôle et un magnétophone ont été utilisés pour consigner les conditions dans lesquelles les expériences ont été exécutées ainsi que leurs résultats.

Tout l'équipement dont Marc Garneau a eu besoin pour effectuer les dix expériences se rangeait dans un seul et unique coffre ayant environ la moitié des dimensions d'un tiroir de classeur de documents grand format.

L'équipage de la mission STS-41-G (Source : NASA)

L'équipage de la mission STS-41-G

(Assis de gauche à droite) Jon A. McBride, pilote; spécialistes de mission Sally K. Ride, Kathryn D. Sullivan, et David C. Leestma. (Debout, de gauche à droite) spécialistes de charges utiles : Paul D. Scully-Power et Marc Garneau avec le commadant Robert L. Crippen au centre.