NEEMO

NEEMO 1

From October 22 to 28, 2001

Larger image of the Aquarius underwater habitat and laboratory

The Aquarius underwater habitat and laboratory (Credit: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Undersea Research Center at the University of North Carolina Wilmington)

The International Space Station (ISS) can be seen in Canada's night sky and also from most parts of the world. The station provides an opportunity for Canadians to participate in space research. There is a station in "inner space," that is, underwater, called Aquarius, the world's only undersea laboratory dedicated to marine science and education. Aquarius provides an environment remarkably similar to that onboard the station, and is similar in size to the modules of the station. Aquanauts coordinate operations remotely through the mission control centre, located 4.5 km away in Key Largo, and experiments are conducted underwater using spacewalk techniques.

The October 2001 mission in Aquarius includes three National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) astronauts and one astronaut training specialist. On the seven-day mission the project team will live underwater using Aquarius as an analogue for the space environment, that is, working and training under conditions that are surprisingly similar to those in space and having many similar challenges.

The mission rationale is based on the similarity of the Aquarius environment to that aboard the ISS. The Aquarius habitat is similar in size to modules of the station. Aquanauts coordinate operations remotely through the mission control centre in Key Largo. Experiments guided by mission control are conducted underwater using techniques similar to those used for spacewalks.

Aquanauts are isolated from the outside world for the duration of their mission because saturation diving techniques require lengthy decompression before surfacing. Isolation in an extreme environment is important for studies on behaviour and physiology. In particular, the NASA Aquarius experience will be used to help build crew–mission control communication techniques, and leadership and interpersonal skills.

Participants

Back, left to right: Bill Todd, Monica Schultz, Mike Gernhardt (Mike G), Dave Williams, Mike Lopez-Alegria (LA), Mark Reagan - Front, left to right: Jean-Marc Comtois, Karl Shreeves (PADI Instructor) (Credit: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Undersea Research Center at the University of North Carolina Wilmington)

Aquanaut Team:

  • Dave Williams, Canadian Space Agency (CSA) Astronaut
  • Bill Todd, Space Flight Training
  • Mike Gernhardt, NASA Astronaut
  • Mike Lopez-Alegria, NASA Astronaut
  • Mark Hulsbeck, National Undersea Research Center (NURC)
  • Ryan W. Snow, Marine Specialist, NURC

Topside Support Team:

  • Dr. Jean-Marc Comtois, Director of Operational Space Medicine
    CSA
  • Marc Reagan, Station Training Lead
    NASA Johnson Space Center
  • Monika K. Schultz, Engineer
    United Space Alliance

Mission Physician:

  • Rod Hagerman D.O.

Partners

  • NURC
  • UNCW (The University of North Carolina at Wilmington)
  • NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
  • NURP (National Undersea Research Program)

NEEMO 1

Image NEEMO 1

Du 22 au 28 octobre 2001

Image plus grande du Laboratoire et habitat sous-marin Aquarius

Laboratoire et habitat sous-marin Aquarius (Source : NOAA's Undersea Research Center de l'Université de la Caroline du Nord à Wilmington)

La Station spatiale internationale (ISS) est maintenant visible dans le ciel nocturne du Canada et on peut également l'apercevoir de la plupart des endroits sur la planète. L'ISS permet aux Canadiens de participer à certaines recherches, mais il existe aussi une station dans l'espace atmosphérique appelée Aquarius - le seul laboratoire sous-marin au monde - qui est destinée à la recherche et à l'éducation en sciences de la mer. Aquarius offre un environnement remarquablement similaire à celui que l'on trouve à bord de l'ISS. La dimension de l'habitat d'Aquarius est similaire à la dimension des modules de l'ISS. Des « océanautes » coordonnent les activités à distance depuis le centre de contrôle de mission situé à 4,5 km de la station, à Key Largo, et des expériences sont effectuées sous l'eau en utilisant des techniques de sorties extravéhiculaires spatiales, sous la supervision du centre de contrôle de mission.

La mission dans l'habitat Aquarius d'octobre 2001 comportait la participation de trois astronautes de la National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) et d'un spécialiste de l'entraînement des astronautes. Au cours de la mission de sept jours, l'équipe du projet a vécu sous l'eau en utilisant Aquarius comme analogue de l'environnement spatial. L'équipe a donc travaillé et s'est entraînée dans des conditions qui sont comparables à celles que l'on retrouve dans l'espace et qui posent des défis semblables.

Cette mission d'un mois est basée sur le fait qu'Aquarius procure un environnement remarquablement similaire à celui qui règne à bord de l'ISS. Par exemple, l'habitat Aquarius a une taille semblable à celle des modules de la station, les océanautes coordonnent les opérations à distance grâce au centre de contrôle de mission situé 14 kilomètres plus loin, à Key Largo, et les expériences sont réalisées sous l'eau en utilisant les techniques des sorties extravéhiculaires qui sont supervisées par le centre de contrôle de mission.

Les océanautes sont isolés du monde extérieur pour toute la durée de leur mission, car la technique de plongée à saturation exige une longue période de décompression avant de remonter à la surface. L'isolement au milieu d'un environnement hostile est important pour l'étude du comportement et de la physiologie. Entre autres, l'expérience NASA Aquarius a été utilisée pour élaborer des techniques de communication entre l'équipage et le contrôle de mission et pour permettre à chacun de développer des compétences en leadership et en communication interpersonnelle.

Participants

En arrière, de gauche à droite : Bill Todd, Monica Schultz, Mike Gernhardt, Dave Williams, Mike Lopez-Alegria et Mark Reagan. En avant, de gauche à droite : Jean-Marc Comtois et Karl Shreeves (instructeur de la Professional Association of Diving Instructors) (Source : Undersea Research Center at the University of North Carolina Wilmington du National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)

Équipe d'océanautes :

  • Dave Williams, astronaute de l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC)
  • Bill Todd, superviseur de simulation
  • Mike Gernhardt, astronaute de la NASA
  • Mike Lopez-Alegria, astronaute de la NASA
  • Mark Hulsbeck, National Undersea Research Center (NURC)
  • Ryan W. Snow, spécialiste du milieu marin NURC

Équipe de soutien :

  • Dr Jean-Marc Comtois
    Directeur du Programme de médecine spatiale opérationnelle
    ASC
  • Marc Reagan
    Entraînement sur la station Centre spatial Johnson de la
    NASA
  • Monika K. Schultz, ingénieur
    United Space Alliance

Médecin de mission :

  • Rod Hagerman

Partenaires

  • NURC (anglais seulement) National Undersea Research Center
  • UNCW (anglais seulement) University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • NOAA (anglais seulement) National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • NURP (anglais seulement) National Undersea Research Program