Space Station Remote Manipulator System

Launch: April 2001

The Space Station Remote Manipulator System (SSRMS), known as Canadarm2, is the first component of the Mobile Servicing System. Although similar to the Shuttle Canadarm, this 17 metre manipulator is somewhat larger and incorporates many advanced features, including the ability to self relocate.

The arm has the capacity to handle large ISS modules and structural elements. It will initially be used to assemble the Station. In the future, it will capture and dock unmanned resupply spacecraft to the ISS and perform routine maintenance tasks.

Canadarm2 will normally move along the Space Station on the Mobile Base System, but it also has the ability to "walk" from place to place by moving from one grapple fixture on the exterior of the structure to the next, like an inchworm.

Canadarm2 is built with Orbital Replaceable Units (ORUs) which are components that can be removed and then replaced by either an astronaut or the Special Purpose Dexterous Manipulator. It is equipped with four television cameras, two mounted on the booms and one near each tip. These cameras feed images to the astronauts operating the arm from the Robotic Workstation inside the Station. An advanced version of the Canadian Space Vision System improves the ability of Canadarm2 operators to keep track of the position, orientation and movement of payloads being grappled.

Télémanipulateur de la Station spatiale (SSRMS)

Lancement : avril 2001

Le Télémanipulateur de la Station spatiale (SSRMS), connu sous le nom de Canadarm2, est la première composante du Système d'entretien mobile. Bien que semblable au Canadarm de la navette, ce manipulateur de 17 mètres de long est un peu plus imposant et comporte de nombreuses caractéristiques de pointe, dont sa capacité de se relocaliser de lui-même.

Le bras est capable de manipuler de gros modules et des éléments structuraux de l'ISS. Il sera initialement utilisé pour assembler les éléments de la Station. Plus tard, il saisira et amarrera des engins spatiaux non habités d'approvisionnement de l'ISS et accomplira des travaux d'entretien courants.

Le Canadarm2 se déplacera normalement le long de la Station spatiale sur sa base mobile, mais il sera également capable de « marcher » d'un endroit à un autre, un peu à la façon d'une chenille arpenteuse, en saisissant l'une après l'autre des bornes électromécaniques installées sur la structure extérieure de la Station.

Le Canadarm2 comporte des unités remplaçables en orbite (ORU), des composantes pouvant être enlevées et remplacées par un astronaute ou par le Manipulateur agile spécialisé. Le bras robotique est équipé de quatre caméras de télévision, deux montées sur les segments et une autre à chacune des extrémités. Ces caméras captent des images à l'intention des astronautes qui commandent le bras depuis le poste de travail robotique à l'intérieur de la Station. Une version récente du Système canadien de vision spatiale améliore la capacité des opérateurs du Canadarm2 de suivre la position, l'orientation et les mouvements des charges utiles qu'ils auront saisies.