Little transistor records radiation levels

 Results

The EVARM project, led by the Thomson Nielsen firm (2002-2003), involved measuring how much radiation astronauts are exposed to during spacewalks. On certain parts of their bodies, astronauts receive radiation doses that are 6 to 25 times higher than those received by workers in the nuclear industry. This project helped improve a radiation detector that is now being used in over 1,000 cancer clinics worldwide. This device better protects medical staff who administer radiation treatments as well as targets and measures radiation doses delivered to tumors.

Measuring radiation: A question of survival

The EVARM experiment measured the radiation delivered to the most sensitive organs: the skin, eyes, bone marrow, and lymphatic organs. Spacesuit shielding influences the quantity and type of radiation absorbed by astronauts. Overexposure may burn the skin, cause cataracts in the lens of the eye and the immediate depletion of blood cells, as well as increase the risk of cancer.

We can compare the internationally recognized limits of radiation exposure for workers and the maximum allowed doses for astronauts.

The table shows that radiation exposure for astronauts to the skin is six times higher, to their eyes, 13 times higher, and to their blood-forming organs, 25 times higher.

In the EVARM experiment, radiation was measured by means of three dosimeters in the form of small badges. These dosimeters, which are actually MOSFETs (metal-oxide semiconductor field effect transistors), were carried in pockets inside the astronaut's spacesuit. Data recorded by these badges were then transferred to a laptop computer and sent to researchers.

American astronaut David Wolf wears the EVARM dosimeter for a spacewalk on October 10, 2002. He is being moved by Canadarm. (Photo: NASA)

American astronaut David Wolf wears the EVARM dosimeter on a spacewalk, October 10, 2002. He is being moved by Canadarm. (Photo: NASA)

Table comparing internationally established annual limits for workers and the doses astronauts are exposed to. (Source: International Commission on Radiological Protection, 1977)

Table comparing internationally established annual limits for workers and the doses astronauts are exposed to. (Source: International Commission on Radiological Protection, 1977)

A badge was placed on the lower left leg in a pocket of the astronaut's liquid cooling garment. Two other badges were placed on the head and near the blood forming organs. (Photo: NASA)

A badge was placed on the lower left leg in a pocket of the astronaut's liquid cooling garment. Two other badges were placed on the torso. (Photo: NASA)

The EVARM equipment had to be compact and light to be brought easily in space, where there is a limited room for storage.

The EVARM equipment had to be compact and light to be carried to space, where there is a limited room for storage.

Improving spacesuits

Measurements taken over a number of spacewalks (EVAs or extravehicular activities) were studied. The analyses took various factors into account: the time and place of the EVA as well as the orbit and altitude of the International Space Station. Another factor to consider was the proximity of the station, which may block radiation and influence the results of the experiment.

Researchers predicted that at certain times, they might be about ten times higher than levels inside the space station. The information gathered is helping to identify which parts of the body are exposed to the highest levels of radiation, in order to improve spacesuit shielding.

A promising technology for cancer treatment

The space industry will not be the only one to benefit from the technology and results of the EVARM experiment. Similar devices are already being used in cancer treatment. They are small enough to be placed on any part of the body during a radiotherapy session, helping doctors to target malignant tumours by providing real-time data on the radiation doses reaching the organs.

The shielding designed for this experiment can also be used to protect people working in areas exposed to high levels of radiation, such as nuclear power plants.

The EVARM Reader is used to read the data gathered by the EVARM badges and download them to the control centre. Inflight, EVARM badges are stowed in the lid of the EVARM Reader.

The EVARM reader

The EVARM reader conveys data gathered by the EVARM badges to the Control Centre. During flight, badges are stowed in the lid.

EVARM

EVARM badges

Date modified:

Un petit transistor qui enregistre les niveaux de rayonnement

 Résultats

Mené par l'entreprise Thomson Nielsen (2002-2003), le projet EVARM a permis de mesurer le rayonnement auquel les astronautes sont exposés lorsqu'ils sortent dans l'espace. Sur certaines parties du corps, ils reçoivent des doses de rayonnement de 6 à 25 fois plus élevées que les travailleurs de l'industrie nucléaire. Ce projet a permis d'améliorer un détecteur de rayonnement maintenant utilisé dans plus de 1 000 centres d'oncologie dans le monde. Cet appareil permet de mieux protéger le personnel chargé des traitements de radiothérapie ainsi que de cibler et mesurer les doses de rayonnement destinées aux tumeurs.

Mesurer le rayonnement : une question de survie

L'expérience EVARM a permis de mesurer les doses de rayonnement auxquelles sont exposés les organes les plus sensibles : la peau, les yeux, la moelle osseuse et les organes lymphatiques. Le blindage de la combinaison spatiale influe directement sur la quantité et la nature du rayonnement que les astronautes reçoivent. Une surexposition peut brûler la peau, causer des cataractes du cristallin, occasionner une diminution du nombre de cellules sanguines et augmenter les risques de cancer de la peau.

Doses limites d'exposition au rayonnement pour les travailleurs et doses maximales autorisées pour les astronautes.

Le tableau montre que les astronautes reçoivent, comparativement aux travailleurs, des doses six fois plus élevées à la peau, treize fois plus élevées aux yeux et vingt-cinq fois plus élevées aux organes hématopoïétiques (là où se forment les globules).

Le rayonnement a été mesuré au moyen de trois dosimètres qui ressemblent à de petits badges. Ces dosimètres, qui sont en fait des transistors nommés MOSFET (transistor à effet de champ métal-oxyde semiconducteur), étaient portés dans des poches sous la combinaison spatiale de l'astronaute. Ils ont servi à enregistrer les données qui ont été transférées à un ordinateur portatif puis aux chercheurs.

(Source : Commission internationale de protection radiologique, 1977)

Comparaison des limites annuelles internationales qui ont été établies pour les travailleurs et celles auxquelles sont exposés les astronautes (Source : Commission internationale de protection radiologique, 1977)

L'astronaute américain David Wolf porte le dosimètre de l'expérience EVARM au cours de sa sortie extravéhiculaire le 10 octobre 2002. L'astronaute est propulsé par le bras robotique Canadarm. (Photo : NASA)

L'astronaute américain David Wolf porte le dosimètre de l'expérience EVARM au cours de sa sortie extravéhiculaire le 10 octobre 2002. L'astronaute est propulsé par le bras robotique Canadarm. (Photo : NASA)

Un badge était placé sur la jambe gauche dans une petite poche du sous-vêtement refroidi par circulation liquide de l'astronaute. Deux autres badges étaient placés sur la tête et près des organes de production sanguine. (Photo : NASA)

Un badge était placé sur la jambe gauche dans une petite poche du sous-vêtement refroidi par circulation liquide de l'astronaute. Deux autres badges étaient placés sur la tête et sur le torse. (Photo : NASA)

L'équipement EVARM devait être compact et léger afin d'être amené aisément dans l'espace, où l'espace de rangement est limité.

L'équipement EVARM devait être compact et léger afin d'être amené aisément dans l'espace, où l'espace de rangement est limité.

Améliorer les combinaisons spatiales

Les mesures enregistrées au cours de multiples activités extravéhiculaires ont été analysées. Ces analyses ont tenu compte de divers facteurs : le moment et l'emplacement de la sortie spatiale ainsi que l'orbite et l'altitude de la Station spatiale internationale. La proximité de celle-ci est aussi un facteur qui a été considéré car la Station peut bloquer le rayonnement et influencer les résultats de l'expérience.

Les chercheurs prévoyaient qu'elles seraient parfois dix fois plus élevées qu'à l'intérieur de la Station spatiale. L'information recueillie contribue à identifier quelles parties du corps humain sont exposées aux niveaux de rayonnement les plus élevés afin d'améliorer le blindage des combinaisons spatiales.

Une technologie utile dans le traitement du cancer

La technologie utilisée dans le cadre de l'expérience EVARM et les résultats obtenus ne serviront pas seulement à l'industrie spatiale. Des dosimètres semblables au MOSFET sont déjà utilisés dans les traitements contre le cancer. Grâce à leur petite taille, ils peuvent être déposés sur n'importe quelle partie du corps pendant une séance de radiothérapie. Ils aident les praticiens à cibler les tumeurs cancéreuses en fournissant des données en temps réel sur les doses de rayonnement qui atteignent les organes.

Les blindages conçus pourront également servir à protéger les personnes qui travaillent dans des zones à haut niveau de rayonnement, telles les installations nucléaires.

The EVARM Reader is used to read the data gathered by the EVARM badges and download them to the control centre. Inflight, EVARM badges are stowed in the lid of the EVARM Reader.

Lecteur EVARM

Le lecteur EVARM sert à lire les données des badges EVARM et à les télécharger vers le centre de contrôle. Pendant le vol, les badges EVARM sont rangés dans le couvercle du lecteur EVARM.

EVARM

Badge EVARM

Date de modification :