The Inspection Boom and the Laser Camera System

The Inspection Boom by MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA): A Critical Canadian Tool that Served the Return to Flight and Beyond

(Credit: MDA)

Following the Columbia shuttle accident in early 2003, the Columbia Accident Investigation Board (CAIB) was formed to mandate improvements to the Shuttle Program. One of the requirements was a way for NASA to inspect the underside of the Shuttle before reentry.

Building on the technology and experience acquired by MDA in building several generations of space-borne manipulators, MDA developed an extension to the Space Shuttle's robotic arm to perform on-orbit inspections of the Shuttle's thermal protection system. The Inspection Boom Assembly's (IBA) main role was the inspection of the Shuttle's thermal protection system.

General information

The Inspection Boom was based on preexisting hardware from the Shuttle arm program and is essentially the same design except that the arm joints were replaced with aluminum transitions, effectively freezing the joints in place. The tip of the boom was designed to accommodate and interface with a suite of sensors to assess the Orbiter's thermal protection system.

Weighing 211 kilograms (excluding sensors), and nearly 15 metres long, the IBA had roughly the same dimensions as the Shuttle's Canadarm. Thus, the IBA fit neatly on the starboard side of the Shuttle, where a holding mechanism was originally designed to support a second arm. Once in orbit, the Shuttle arm and the Space Station's Canadarm2 would pick up the IBA using grapple fixtures.

Description of the IBA

The Transitions

Each subassembly component or joint of the IBA (known as the forward, mid, and aft transitions) were made up of a cylindrical aluminum extrusion that had been machined to a very fine tolerance. These transitions served as the structural support between the two booms, as well as the mechanical interface to the grapple fixtures and the sensor suite.

Booms

Graphite-epoxy booms linked the forward, mid, and aft joints to the upper and lower arm booms. The upper arm boom was about five metres long by a third of a metre in diameter comprising 16 plies of graphite-epoxy (each ply is a millimetre thick) for a total weight of about 22 kilograms. The lower arm boom was about six metres long and a third of a metre in diameter with 11 plies of graphite-epoxy and weighing 22 kilograms. Each boom was protected with a Kevlar cover (the same material used in bulletproof vests) to prevent dents or scratches.

Wiring Harness

Just as the arm booms linked the forward, mid, and aft transitions mechanically, the electrical cables (wiring harness) linked the power systems. The wiring harness routed electrical power, data and video to the sensor suite on the aft joint. This link continued back to the cabin of the Space Shuttle, where astronauts controlled the actions of the Shuttle's robotic arm.

Grapple Fixtures

The IBA design made use of existing grapple fixtures on both the forward and the mid transitions. The forward transition sported a modified Electrical Flight Grapple Fixture as an interface to the Shuttle arm. The mid transition had a Flight Releasable Grapple Fixture as an interface to the Space Station arm.

Closed Circuit Televisions (CCTV)

The IBA had no cameras installed along the boom. The Shuttle arm, however, had one at the elbow joint and one at the wrist joint to monitor clearances. The CCTV cameras were used to aid the astronauts in the positioning of the arm and IBA.

Control System

The movement of the IBA was controlled by the Shuttle arm, which in turn was controlled by the Space Shuttle's general-purpose computer. The hand controllers used by the astronauts told the computer what the astronauts would like the arm to do. Built-in software examined what the astronauts commanded inputs were and calculated which arm joints to move, what direction to move them in and how fast to move them. As the computer issued the commands to each of the joints it also looked at what was happening to each joint every 80 milliseconds. Any changes inputted by the astronauts to the initial trajectory commanded were re-examined and recalculated and updated commands were then sent out to each of the joints. Arm control software parameters were tailored for optimal scanning performance of the IBA operations.

The Shuttle arm control system was continuously monitoring its health, and should a failure have occured, the computer would automatically apply the brakes to all joints and notify the astronaut of a failure condition. The control system also provided a continuous display of joint rates and speeds, which were displayed on monitors located on the flight deck in the orbiter. As with any control system, the computer could be overridden and the joints could be operated individually from the flight deck by the astronaut.

Thermal Protection System

The IBA was entirely covered with a multi-layer insulation thermal blanket system, which provided passive thermal control. This material consisted of alternate layers of Kapton, Dacron scrim cloth and a Beta cloth outer covering. In extremely cold conditions, thermostatically controlled electric heaters (resistance elements) attached to critical electronic hardware were automatically powered on to maintain a stable operating temperature.

(Credit: MDA)

The Inspection Boom
During STS-135, the last shuttle mission, the inspection boom is photographed against a backdrop of cloud, sea and brilliant aurora. July 16, 2011. (Credit: NASA)

Neptec's Laser Camera System

Neptec's Laser Camera System (LCS) was installed on the end of Canadarm's extension boom for the Return to Flight mission in 2005 and all subsequent shuttle missions. It was a wide angle, high-speed, high-precision, laser scanner that was used to inspect hard-to-reach areas on the underside of the Shuttle that could not otherwise  be viewed from the Shuttle. The scanner gave NASA the ability to detect even fine cracks in the thermal tiles that would have proven fatal to the Shuttle during re-entry from orbit.

The LCS used a synchronized scanning technique, patented by the National Research Council of Canada, to generate high precision three-dimensional data. At distances of up to 10 metres, it would create a model of any object accurate to a few millimetres. The LCS was the first three-dimensional laser scanner to be space-qualified. The LCS was developed by Neptec from a scanner that was originally tested in 2001 on Shuttle flight STS-105.

The LCS offered a significant advantage over a traditional video camera because it not only provided full three-dimensional surface information, but it was also immune to the effects of changing lighting conditions. This immunity was very important since the sun rises and sets 16 times a day in low-Earth orbit.  

The LCS's range of space applications also included the ability to track and calculate the position and orientation of objects in space. In this mode, the LCS could be used to guide space robots such as the Canadarm and Canadarm2, or as a sensor to guide spacecraft as they manoeuvred to dock with one another in space.

(Credit: Neptec)

(Credit: Neptec)

La perche d'inspection et le système de caméra laser

Perche d'inspection conçue par MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA) : l'un des outils canadiens essentiels à la reprise des vols... et à plusieurs autres activités!

(Source : MDA)

Après l'accident de la navette Columbia survenu au début de 2003, la commission d'experts chargée de l'enquête (CAIB pour Columbia Accident Investigation Board) a été mise sur pied. Cette dernière a eu comme mandat de formuler des recommandations en vue d'améliorer le programme de la navette. L'une des exigences était de fournir à la NASA une solution lui permettant d'inspecter le ventre de l'orbiteur avant sa rentrée dans l'atmosphère.

Tirant profit de l'expérience technologique acquise dans le cadre de la conception de plusieurs générations de manipulateurs spatioportés, MDA a mis au point une perche d'inspection permettant de prolonger le bras robotique afin d'examiner en orbite le revêtement de protection thermique de la navette. Il s'agit là du rôle principal de la perche.

Généralités

Pour élaborer la perche d'inspection, les ingénieurs se sont servis du matériel existant du programme du télémanipulateur robotique. Sa conception était essentiellement identique à celle du bras robotique de la navette spatiale, à l'exception des articulations. Celles-ci ont, en effet, été remplacées par des manchons de transition en aluminium pour les maintenir solidement en place. La pointe de la perche a été conçue pour accueillir une série de capteurs permettant d'examiner minutieusement le bouclier thermique de l'orbiteur.

La perche, qui pesait 211 kilogrammes (sans les capteurs) et qui mesurait environ 15 mètres de long, avait à peu près les mêmes dimensions que le Canadarm, ce qui permettait de la ranger du côté tribord de la navette dans un mécanisme de retenue destiné, à l'origine, à recevoir un second bras. Une fois en orbite, le bras de la navette et celui de la station spatiale pouvaient saisir la perche à l'aide de préhenseurs-connecteurs.

Description de la perche d'inspection 

Manchons de transition

Chaque articulation ou sous-élément d'assemblage de la perche (manchons de transition avant, intermédiaire et arrière) était constitué d'une extrusion cylindrique en aluminium usinée selon des tolérances extrêmement fines. Ces manchons de transition servaient de support structurel entre les deux segments de la perche ainsi que d'interface mécanique avec les préhenseurs-connecteurs et la série de capteurs.

Segments de la perche

Deux segments en graphite époxyde reliaient les manchons de transition avant, intermédiaire et arrière. Le segment supérieur avait environ 5 mètres de long et 0,3 mètre de diamètre. Il était constitué de 16 couches de graphite époxyde (chaque couche ayant une épaisseur d'un millimètre) et pesait environ 22 kilogrammes. Le segment inférieur avait approximativement 6 mètres de long et 0,3 mètre de diamètre. Il était constitué de 11 couches de graphite époxyde et pesait22 kilogrammes. Chaque segment de la perche était protégé par une couche de Kevlar (matériau utilisé dans les gilets pare-balles) pour éviter les dommages.

Faisceau de câblage

Tout comme les segments de la perche faisaient la liaison mécanique entre les manchons de transition, le faisceau de câblage assurait leur connexion électrique. Le faisceau de câblage fournissait l'énergie électrique à tous les préhenseurs-connecteurs ainsi qu'aux capteurs sur le manchon de transition arrière. La liaison remontait jusqu'à la cabine de la navette, où les astronautes commandaient le bras.

Préhenseurs-connecteurs

La perche faisait appel à des préhenseurs-connecteurs existants sur les manchons de transition avant et intermédiaire. Le manchon de transition avant était équipé d'un préhenseur-connecteur électrique de vol modifié qui servait d'interface avec le bras robotique de la navette. Pour sa part, le manchon de transition intermédiaire était doté d'un préhenseur-connecteur utilisable en vol qui servait d'interface avec le bras de la station spatiale.

Télévision en circuit fermé 

La perche n'était pas équipée de caméras. Le bras de la navette, par contre, en comprenait une à l'articulation du coude et une autre à l'articulation du poignet pour surveiller les dégagements. Ces caméras aidaient les astronautes à positionner le bras et la perche.

Système de commande

Les mouvements de la perche étaient commandés par le bras de la navette, qui était lui-même piloté par l'ordinateur universel de la navette (GPC). Les astronautes dirigeaient le bras en donnant des instructions à l'ordinateur à l'aide de commandes manuelles. Un logiciel intégré analysait ces instructions et décidait des articulations à mettre en œuvre ainsi que de la direction, de la vitesse et de l'angle à adopter. L'ordinateur envoyait les commandes aux articulations et examinait leur comportement toutes les 80 millisecondes. Tout changement apporté par un astronaute à la trajectoire initiale commandée était étudié et de nouvelles commandes actualisées étaient envoyées à chacune des articulations.

Le système de commande du bras de la navette surveillait en continu l'état de ce dernier. En cas de défaillance, l'ordinateur empêchait automatiquement le mouvement de toutes les articulations et avertissait l'astronaute. Le système de commande affichait également en continu le degré de rotation et la vitesse des articulations sur des moniteurs situés dans la cabine de pilotage de la navette. À l'instar de tout autre système de commande, l'ordinateur pouvait être contourné, et l'astronaute pouvait alors commander chaque articulation individuellement depuis la cabine de pilotage.

Système de protection thermique

La perche était entièrement recouverte d'un isolant thermique à plusieurs couches assurant un contrôle thermique passif. Ce matériau consistait en une alternance de couches de Kapton, de canevas de Dacron et de revêtement extérieur bêta. Dans des conditions de froid extrême, des radiateurs électriques à thermostat fixés aux éléments mécaniques et électroniques vitaux pouvaient être activés afin de maintenir une température de fonctionnement stable.

(Source : MDA)

Perche d'inspection Le 16 juillet 2011, au cours de la mission STS-135 qui constituait le dernier vol de la navette, on a photographié la perche d'inspection sur un fond de nuages, de mer et d'aurores éclatantes. (Source : NASA)

Neptec et son système de caméra laser

Le système de caméra laser (LCS) de Neptec était installé à l'extrémité de  la perche d'extension du Canadarm utilisée depuis la reprise des vols de la navette spatiale en 2005. Il s'agissait en fait d'un scanner laser ultrarapide à grand angle et à haute précision servant à  inspecter les zones du ventre de la navette qui ne pouvaient être observées visuellement depuis l'intérieur de l'orbiteur en raison de leur emplacement. Le scanner laser permettait ainsi à la NASA de détecter les moindres fissures susceptibles d'entraîner la destruction de la navette au moment de sa rentrée dans l'atmosphère.

Le LCS faisait appel à une technique de balayage synchronisé, brevetée par le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, qui permet de recueillir des données tridimensionnelles d'une grande précision. Jusqu'à une distance de 10 mètres de sa cible, le scanner était capable de créer, à quelques millimètres près, le modèle de n'importe quel objet. Il s'agissait d'ailleurs de la première caméra 3D à balayage laser spatioqualifiée. Neptec a élaboré cet instrument à partir d'un scanner qui a été testé dans le cadre de la mission STS-105, en 2001.

Le LCS offrait un immense avantage par rapport aux caméras vidéo traditionnelles. Non seulement permettait-il de fournir des données 3D complètes sur la surface observée, mais il était également insensible aux changements de conditions d'éclairage, ce qui s'avérait essentiel puisque la navette et ses occupants subissaient 16 levers et couchers du Soleil par jour en orbite basse terrestre.

Le LCS pouvait également être utilisé pour suivre et déterminer la position et l'orientation d'objets dans l'espace. On pouvait donc se servir du scanner laser pour diriger des systèmes robotiques spatiaux, tels que le Canadarm et le Canadarm2, ou comme capteur pour guider des engins spatiaux dans leurs manœuvres d'amarrage dans l'espace.

(Source : Neptec)

(Source : Neptec)