The COSMO-SkyMed/RADARSAT-2 Initiative (SOAR-ASI)

Joint Announcement of Opportunity

Publication date:

Closing date:

Earth Observation is a well suited tool to monitor a world that is continuously changing. The corresponding geo-information products support the investigation and understanding of the processes causing and resulting from the change, and furthermore, to support monitoring and mitigation. They also help to explore, manage and better preserve the Earth's natural resources and ecosystems. It is against this background that Canadian (CSA) and Italian (ASI) Space Agencies joint effort to stimulate the scientific utilization of Earth Observation data acquired by their respective national missions, RADARSAT-2 and COSMO-SkyMed, with an announcement of opportunity seeking for basic and applied research, development of algorithms, methods and applications.

The call is limited to principal investigator from organizations duly established in Canada and Italy only and focuses on the synergistic evaluation of both sensors. Bidders with accepted proposal will have access, free of charge, to ASI and CSA images.

The announcement of opportunity will be opened for a limited two-month period to submit a proposal until November 1, 2013. The expected evaluation period is 4 to 6 weeks. The proposals will be peer-reviewed by Earth Observation experts chosen by ASI and CSA. For project requesting RADARSAT-2 products, note that MDA GSI has a right to review the proposals in order to ensure that they are not of a commercial nature.

In order to submit a proposal, you must complete the following form and a confirmation email will be sent to you. A password will be issued to provide you a secured access to the on-line submission website for full proposals.

Registration Form

Request for Proposal PDF document – 600 Kilobytes (KB)

RADARSAT-2 SOAR Loan Agreement PDF document – 273 Kilobytes (KB)

For more information on this initiative, please contact:

SOAR Coordination Office
Canadian Space Agency
6767 Route de l'Aéroport
Saint-Hubert, Quebec J3Y 8Y9
Telephone: 450-926-6749
Fax: 450-926-4613
E-mail: soar-asi@asc-csa.gc.ca

L'initiative COSMO-SkyMed/RADARSAT-2 (SOAR-ASI)

Avis conjoint d'offre de participation

Date de publication :

Date limite :

L'observation de la Terre est un outil qui convient bien à la surveillance d'un monde en constante évolution. Les produits correspondants d'information géographique appuient l'étude et la compréhension des processus qui causent les changements et ceux qui en découlent, et ils facilitent les activités de surveillance et les mesures d'atténuation. Ces produits aident aussi à explorer, à gérer et à mieux préserver les ressources naturelles et les écosystèmes de la Terre. C'est dans ce contexte que les Agences spatiales canadienne (ASC) et italienne (ASI) ont conjugué leurs efforts pour stimuler l'utilisation scientifique des données d'observation de la Terre acquises par leurs missions nationales respectives, RADARSAT-2 et COSMO-SkyMed, avec un avis d'offre de participation visant le développement d'algorithmes, de méthodes et d'applications en recherche fondamentale et appliquée.

L'appel est limité aux chercheurs principaux d'organisations dûment établies au Canada et en Italie seulement et il porte tout particulièrement sur l'évaluation en synergie des deux capteurs. Les soumissionnaires dont la proposition aura été retenue auront accès gratuitement aux images de l'ASI et de ASC.

L'annonce d'opportunité sera ouverte pour la soumission de la proposition durant une période spécifique de deux mois jusqu'au 1er novembre 2013. La période d'évaluation prévue est de 4 à 6 semaines. Les propositions seront examinées par des experts en observation de la Terre choisis par l'ASI et l'ASC. Pour ce qui est des projets nécessitant des produits de RADARSAT-2, soulignons que MDA GSI a un droit de regard sur les propositions afin de s'assurer que ces dernières ne sont pas de nature commerciale.

Pour soumettre une proposition, vous devez remplir le formulaire suivant et par la suite, une confirmation vous sera envoyée par courriel. Un mot de passe vous sera divulgué pour donner un accès sécurisé au site Internet de soumission en ligne des propositions détaillées.

Formulaire d'inscription

Demande de proposition Document PDF – 615 Kilo-octets (Ko)

Accord de prêt RADARSAT-2 SOAR Document PDF – 2,6 Mégaoctets (Mo)

Pour plus d'information sur cette initiative :

Bureau de coordination SOAR
Agence spatiale canadienne
6767, route de l'Aéroport
Saint-Hubert (Québec) J3Y 8Y9
Téléphone : 450-926-6749
Télécopieur : 450-926-4613
Courriel : soar-asi@asc-csa.gc.ca