Science and Operational Applications Research - Education International (SOAR-EI) Initiative

Joint Announcement of Opportunity

Publication date: December 1, 2012

Closing date: March 1, 2013

Earth observation satellites provide an ideal platform to monitor our changing world. The resulting geo-information products generated by these tools, support studies to better understand the processes causing these changes and their results. Within this context, the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) and MDA Geospatial Services Inc. (MDA GSI) are joining forces to stimulate the scientific use of the Earth Observation RADARSAT-2 satellite. The SOAR Education International initiative is seeking proposals mainly for basic and applied research toward application development using the new modes offered by RADARSAT-2.

The SOAR-EI initiative is intended for researchers from the International education community (principal investigator). The principal investigator, together with his/her team, must demonstrate within the proposal that it has an interest and skills to transform RADARSAT-2 data into useful product information.

The announcement of opportunity will be opened for a limited three-month period to submit a proposal until March 1, 2013. The expected evaluation period is 4 to 6 weeks. Projects submitted will be evaluated by Earth Observation scientists from the Government of Canada and MDA GSI.

Request for Proposal (PDF document)

For more information on this initiative, please contact:

SOAR Coordination Office
Canadian Space Agency
6767 Route de l'Aéroport
Saint-Hubert, Quebec J3Y 8Y9
Telephone: 450-926-6749
Fax: 450-926-4613
E-mail : soar-ei@asc-csa.gc.ca

Initiative de recherche sur les applications scientifiques et opérationnelles - Éducation International (SOAR-EI)

Avis conjoint d'offre de participation

Date de publication : 1er décembre 2012

Date limite : 1er mars 2013

Les satellites d'observation de la Terre offrent une plate forme idéale à la surveillance d'un monde en perpétuel changement. Les produits d'information géographique générés par ces outils appuient les études visant la compréhension des processus qui causent ces changements et des résultats qui en découlent. C'est dans ce contexte que l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et MDA Geospatial Services Inc. (MDA-GSI) unissent leurs efforts afin de stimuler l'utilisation scientifique du satellite d'observation de la Terre RADARSAT-2. L'initiative SOAR-Éducation International, sollicite des propositions visant principalement la recherche fondamentale et appliquée vers un développement d'application utilisant les nouveaux modes qu'offre RADARSAT-2.

L'initiative SOAR-EI s'adresse aux chercheurs du milieu de l'enseignement à l'international (chercheur principal). Le chercheur principal, conjointement avec son équipe de travail, doit démontrer dans la proposition qu'il a un intérêt et les compétences pour transformer des données RADARSAT-2 en un produit d'information utile.

L'annonce d'opportunité sera ouverte pour la soumission de la proposition durant une période spécifique de trois mois jusqu'au 1er mars 2013. La période d'évaluation prévue est de 4 à 6 semaines. Les projets soumis seront évalués par des scientifiques en observation de la Terre formé de membres du gouvernement du Canada et MDA-GSI.

Demande de proposition (document PDF)

Pour plus d'information sur cette initiative :

Bureau de coordination SOAR
Agence spatiale canadienne
6767, route de l'Aéroport
Saint-Hubert (Québec) J3Y 8Y9
Téléphone : 450-926-6749
Télécopieur : 450-926-4613
Courriel : soar-ei@asc-csa.gc.ca