Science and Operational Applications Research - Joint Experiment for Crop Assessment and Monitoring Initiative (SOAR-JECAM)

Joint Announcement of Opportunity (New)

Publication date: October 2011

Closing date: For three years starting on September 1, 2011

Earth observation is a tool that is well suited to monitoring a world that is changing. The resulting geo-information products support the investigation and understanding of the processes causing and resulting from such change. They also help to explore, manage and preserve the Earth's resources as well as to minimize or even eliminate the impacts of anthropogenic and natural disasters.

Against this background, the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) and MDA Geospatial Services Inc. intend to jointly stimulate the scientific utilization of Earth Observation (EO). This announcement focuses specifically on the use of RADARSAT-2 Product for basic and applied R&D activities related to agricultural monitoring.

Joint Experiment for Crop Assessment and Monitoring (JECAM) is an initiative created by the GEO Agriculture Monitoring Community of Practice with the intent to enhance international collaboration around agricultural monitoring towards the development of a "systems of systems" to address issues associated with food security and a sustainable and profitable agricultural sector worldwide.

The goal of the RADARSAT-2 SOAR-JECAM is to develop and demonstrate techniques where RADARSAT-2, either alone or integrated with other data sources, contributes useful information about crop area, condition monitoring and yield estimation, over a wide range of geographies and cropping systems.

The present announcement of opportunity is directed to JECAM Principal Investigators.

Request for ProposalPDF Document – 335 Kilobytes (KB)

For more information on this SOAR-JECAM initiative, please contact:

SOAR Coordination Office
Canadian Space Agency
6767 Route de l'Aéroport
Saint-Hubert, Quebec J3Y 8Y9
Telephone: 450-926-4841
Fax: 450-926-4613
E-mail : soar-jecam@asc-csa.gc.ca

Initiative de recherche sur les applications scientifiques et opérationnelles - (Joint Experiment for Crop Assessment and Monitoring) (SOAR-JECAM)

Avis conjoint d'offre de participation (nouveau)

Date de publication : Octobre 2011

Date limite : Pendant une période de trois ans débutant le 1er septembre 2011

L'observation de la Terre est un outil qui convient parfaitement à la surveillance d'un monde toujours en changement. Les produits d'information géographique appuient l'étude et la compréhension des processus qui causent les changements et qui en découlent. Ils aident également à explorer, à gérer et à protéger les ressources de notre planète ainsi qu'à limiter, voire à éliminer les répercussions des catastrophes anthropiques et naturelles.

C'est dans ce contexte que l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et MDA Geospatial Services Inc. prévoient unir leurs efforts afin de stimuler l'utilisation scientifique de l'observation de la Terre. Le présent avis est axé sur l'utilisation des produits RADARSAT-2 dans le cadre de travaux de R-D fondamentale et appliquée portant sur la surveillance de l'agriculture.

L'initiative JECAM (Joint Experiment for Crop Assessment and Monitoring) a été lancée par la communauté de pratique du GEO en surveillance des activités agricoles dans le but de renforcer la collaboration internationale dans le domaine du développement d'un « système de systèmes » de surveillance de l'agriculture qui permettrait de répondre aux problèmes associés à la sécurité alimentaire ainsi qu'à la durabilité et à la rentabilité du secteur agricole partout dans le monde.

L'objectif de l'initiative SOAR-JECAM est de développer et de faire la démonstration de techniques selon lesquelles RADARSAT-2, seul ou intégré à d'autres sources de données, permet d'obtenir des renseignements utiles au sujet des zones cultivées, de surveiller l'état des cultures et d'estimer le rendement agricole, pour une grande variété d'emplacements géographiques et de systèmes de culture.

Le présent appel d'offres s'adresse aux chercheurs principaux de JECAM.

Demande de proposition Document PDF – 491 Kilo-octects (Ko)

Pour plus d'information sur cette initiative SOAR-JECAM :

Bureau de coordination SOAR
Agence spatiale canadienne
6767, route de l'Aéroport
Saint-Hubert (Québec) J3Y 8Y9
Téléphone : 450-926-4841
Télécopieur : 450-926-4613
Courriel : soar-jecam@asc-csa.gc.ca