Canadian Science Team

The Canadian Space Agency (CSA) is an international partner on NASA's Mars Science Laboratory mission, led by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). Dr. Ralf Gellert of the University of Guelph is the Principal Investigator for APXS (Alpha Particle X-ray Spectrometer). He provided the scientific design based on the Mars Exploration Rover (MER) instrument (developed at the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, in Mainz, Germany) and leads the APXS science team, which includes: the University of New Brunswick, University of Western Ontario, JPL, University of California, San Diego, Cornell University, the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and the Australian National University. MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA) is the prime contractor for APXS.

Meet the APXS Science Team

  • University of Guelph: Ralf Gellert (Principal Investigator for APXS), Nick Boyd, Glynis Perrett, Irina Pradler, Scott Van Bommel, Iain Campbell and Penny King (also with Australian National University)
  • University of New Brunswick: John Spray, Beverley Elliott and Lucy Thompson
  • JPL: Albert Yen and Anthony Scodary
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute: Laurie Leshin
  • Cornell University: Steve Squyres
  • University of California, San Diego: Guenter Lugmair
  • CSA: Victoria Hipkin, Geneviève Marchand and Claude Brunet

The CSA-sponsored Mars Science Laboratory Participating Scientists are

  • Brock University: Mariek Schmidt
  • The University of Western Ontario: John Moores
  • CSA: Richard Léveillé